We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Market Street

Ranked #52 of 174 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many of Manchester's shops and fine restaurants are located on or near this major thoroughfare.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,045 reviews
692 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,802 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Crowded, full of people trying to beg, sell you rubbish or get you to sign some petition or the like.
Usual high street stores with a sprinkle of aggravation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    102
    105
    34
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Main Retail Vein”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Not much I can say about Market Street. It's often busy and lined with shops. There we go!

It feels better than Picadilly Gardens and has some great shops along it like Urban Outfitters, H&M, Zara, Barclays etc. I think (Personally) that following the re-development of manchester after 1996, that Market Street has been the least changed in terms of feel. I don't remember it changed that much from before, except towards M&S/Deansgate end. It's had some staple and interesting characters over the years. Human Statues, buskers, singers, wannabe stars. The one thing I do notice about Market street is the lack of litter compared to Picadilly Gardens.

There are benches to sit on and take a few minutes rest and the foodcourt at the middle where you can get some affordable quick bites to eat.

I hope they never decide to change Market Street at all and just leave it for what it is.

The only downside for me are the so called vendors of cheap and worthless items. Standing around and pushing their tack into peoples faces. Salesmen/Saleswomen are an annoyance and although some are collecting for charity it's abrupt and I don't want to be hastled when it can be stressful enough (especially at Christmas).
I've seen a marked increase in homeless or beggars on Market street and this is in keeping with the overall theme for the city centre of manchester - a sign of the times perhaps?

Saturdays and even week days Market Street can be very busy. I would even go as far as saying overcrowded at times and because I live in manchester I choose to go there at later or earlier times just to avoid the crowds and onslaught of people moving up market st when I'm trying to get down it (like navigating a whitewater rapid!).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best avoided”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I'm new to Manchester, but obviously I know where Market Street is, and it's too crowded most days, and people try to stop you to sign things, and if you don't like signing things you dodge out of the way, and anyway it's cooler to use backstreets.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyshaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bonus points if you can avoid the salesmen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Iv lived in Manchester for 20 yrs so Im just giving my general experience of the place, rather than one specific time.

This street is COVERED in men selling tacky rubbish on trollies. Also lots of preachers, street performers and con artists trying to get you to pre pay for 'salon experiences' etc......
Got to say some of the musicians there are pretty good!
So if you can move past all of the skanks blocking the street and hold your nose from the odd stench then you'll find a big array of high street shops.
There is access to the food court (head up the huge escalator)!
tips: avoid weekends

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ally1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Watch out for the trams!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Liked: pedestrian friendly Market Street. Plenty of stores and nice atmosphere.
Disliked: dodging the trams :) & the rain.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Street also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Market Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing