We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 23:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Royal Exchange Theatre
from US$5.89
More Info
from US$22.86
More Info
from US$71.72
More Info
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
791
250
28
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
791
250
28
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front row lovely building last night production actors play stage tickets staging audience interval bar props fab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2019

We paid our first visit to the Royal Exchange yesterday and were blown away. What an extraordinary building, in the vast and impressive setting of the former Manchester cotton exchange - looks almost like a futuristic spacecraft or huge metal sculpture that's just landed amidst the tall pink Corinthian columns of the Exchange itself. It helped that we saw a stunning performance too - the stage version of Mel Brooks' The Producers, a high-energy passionate spectacle of delight and song, and gorgeously irreverent, with amazing dancing and costumes and some unforgettable songs. Lovely venue too with lots of bars and cafes round the auditorium itself, so few queues. We most certainly need to come back.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

I watched Death of a Salesmen here and was impressed by the in the round theatre style. The building is very breathtaking and I would like to come back to the cafe and bar. The show itself was very good and reasonable priced. An ideal place to see more intimate performances.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank rebeccalw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Love this theatre. We have been many times. This time to see "The Producers". Wondered how that would work in the round...the answer is brilliantly well. Due to the size of the theatre and its circular nature you are right in the action. Definitely a place to visit. There are lots of other activities to find out about other than what's on in the theatre itself.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank RRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Saw The Producers here. Managed to get last minute tickets that were released after the banquette tickets. Circular seating round the stage so everyone can see. It is possible to get tickets for same night for £10 if you go in person at 0930 (you can call at 1000 which I did, but they had all gone). Well worth queuing for if you have the time and really want to see what’s playing.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Charlieblinkert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Intimate feeling theatre space. The Royal Exchange is a beautiful building and it’s great that it’s used to provide high quality theatre in the North. There is a cafe and bar. The website is easy to use.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews