We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O...m...g”
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Ranked #99 of 2,329 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Epic food, amazing cocktails, great music and super friendly helpful staff. All in all a brilliant experience. Not the cheapest place I've ever eaten, but then how often do you eat a meal surounded by rock memorabilia?! Def worth a visit!

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review Emma H.

We think it's so cool when somebody expresses such love for what we do, reviews like yours make our day!!

You Rock!
Ben
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

979 - 983 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I really enjoyed my meal here in the Hard Rock. The staff are so friendly and welcoming...& make the meal extra enjoyable. Food came in a 'reasonable' amount of time and tasted really lovely. Overall, it's definitely a place all families, friends, couples can enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for the great review Grace M, we hope to see you again soon!

Next time you come by ask one of the team about Hard Rock Rewards, our free loyalty program, there are loads of cool benefits like jumping the queue and exclusive events……Rock Star treatment all the way!

Rock On!
Ben
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Like Hard Rock Leeds and Birmingham its time to call it a day and shut it down.

Since our last trip in 2012 which was not fault free we have been a few times since and watched as its gone down hill, I think because I have been coming to Hard Rock,s across the world since 1979 I kept giving Manchester a 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc etc chance, hoping that a miracle would happen, but since Chris left its a sinking ship.

We tried again and ate there, wished we had not wasted our money or part of our night.

Greeted by staff who clearly did not want to be there, long miserable faces not a smile to be seen.

I made a simple request for when we were seated, near a tv please so we could at least watch the bands, I was told by the server you can see one from every seat, I am not sure what planet they were on but three tv,s in the main dinning area you cannot see one from every seat, they have far less than when they opened.

The upstairs is never open, as the staff don't want to wear themselves out walking up the stairs.

The service is just appalling at the tables, you could never get a servers attention as they were more concerned about singing happy birthday to people, it happened 5 times while there taking servers away from their job, if you want this ridiculous spectacle go to Mac Donalds .

The food was horrendous, the worse I have ever eaten not just in Hard Rock but anywhere. Dry overcooked tasteless food . no care no love anymore in the food here.

We could not wait to leave but try and get a server to bring a bill (or even take an order or get extra drinks) Ourselfs and the three tables around us tried on many occasions to get the servers attention without much success, there was a table of Japanese who kept putting their hands up to try and get attention as they are too polite to make a fuss, they didn't manage it.

When he eventually came he left the bill and wondered off to sing happy birthday again, we got fed up of waiting and left to the bar to see if we could pay there. The server took ten minutes to notice we were not at the table and we could have just left without paying, he spotted us at the bar and because the barman had a card machine in his hand he presumed that we were paying him and smiled and walked off, in fact the barman was serving someone else, so again we could have walked out without paying, but its not in us to do that, despite the food not being worth it.

The barman after we explained the poor service was very apologetic and said he hoped it had not put us off, but sadly its been a long slow burn here and although we gave it one last shot, Hard Rock Manchester is now dead to us.

Don't waste your money there are plenty of other places to eat in Manchester that give a damn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mitch2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Mitch2nd

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Hard Rock Cafe Manchester, it's not such a great read, which is a real shame as we do receive mostly 4 and 5 star reviews.

I'm sorry you feel so disappointed with our offering - I can assure you all of our team are passionate about what we do, a lot of love and care goes into our product and its delivery.

You didn't mention if you spoke to the manager on duty in your review - From our perspective it's key we get face to face feedback, it means issues can be resolved there and then as opposed to wielding a keyboard.....nobody enters this industry to be sat at a computer for several hours a day. Plus we want you to leave our cafe happy and satisfied in your experience.

We love to celebrate special occasions and it's great that our guests want to spend their birthday with us, so why not sing 'Happy Birthday'? Birthday shout outs have been a long standing tradition with Hard Rock Cafe's around the world, but I must say I've never seen it in a McDonalds, the staff are all stuck behind the counter.

It sounds like you didn't have the experience we look to provide each and every guest that arrives at our door, we got it wrong, but we are only human after all. Please contact me if you wish to discuss your visit any further.

Love All - Serve All
Ben Greig
Assistant General Manager
manchester_agm@hardrock.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Love the Hard Rock Restaurants! We have a thing that we visit them where ever we are in the world to eat and buy a T-shirt to add to our collection, as we have t shirts from many places. Went to the Hard Rock Restaurant, Manchester after our day out at the Granada Tours seeing the Coronation Street Tour. We got there about 6 pm and the place was empty, so had a couple of cocktails at the bar and reserved our table as we were a party of seven. The staff were very helpful and pleasant especially Leroy our waiter, he was great! We had potatoe skins and nachos to share and then had various burgers, fahitas, chicken and pasta dishes were all good. The cocktails and bottle of pinot were good and we had a great night. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 510christinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for such a good review 510christinew, it's awesome to read ones like yours, I will pass your comments back to Leroy.

Next time you pop by make sure you ask the team to sign you up to Hard Rock Rewards, our free loyalty program - you can jump the queue, get special members only offers.....Rock star treatment all the way!

Rock On!
Ben Greig
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Shop needs to be bigger, only one person servicing so service very slow. Needs more staff and a bigger shop

Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for the review Fiona H, I'm sorry if your shopping experience wasn't what you had hoped for, please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss your visit any further.

Take Time to be Kind
Ben Greig
Assistant General Manager
manchester_agm@hardrock.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing