We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cocktails”
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Ranked #107 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Cocktails”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The cocktails look like science experiments - served in test tubes and jam jars. They are pretty pricey but then again you get what you pay for! You will not be disappointed. Lovely atmosphere - great food and outdoor seating!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    463
    161
    67
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

If you want to be wowed with some cocktails then come here. We had the Long Island ice tea and lavender daiquiri. Nice to sit outside and watch the world go by with a nice view. The place was bustling when we went so it's obviously a good location

Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My fav cocktail bar”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Best Manhatten Iced tea I've ever had. Set in the fabulous Spinningfields area of Manchester, really great atmosphere in this area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gailb772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Theatre in a glass”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great place for a drink and to try something different. Really chilled atmosphere although always quite a wait, but well worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RussellGStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

O dear, what has gone wrong? My favourite bar in Manchester has gone downhill rapidly, as fast as those cyclists yesterday. Only 1 member of bar staff + a queue of customers wanting speciality cocktails=a very very long wait. So long that our friends decided not to bother and we headed over to Brown's. Been here numerous times so I know a cocktail doesn't appear by magic, and part of the fun was watching the staff produce these yummy creations, but we ended up feeling sorry for the woman behind the bar who was rushed off her feet. Such a shame.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jrpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing