We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strange ways”
Review of REM Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
REM Hotel
Ranked #99 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 30 May 2011

i had the pleasure of staying here before , as all hotels were fully booked and thought it was ok untill i go into the room . Think i should of gone to strange ways for the night for sure prison would be much nicer place to stay . and you get your own toilet aswell .
very dirty also the bathroom i had to share was awfull aswell. I do not understand both gay hotels in manchester this place and the new union are just a disgrace

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank danielnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

I have stayed before and the place was terrible. It has been bought over and the new owners have cleaned the place up , refurbished it and it is now brilliant. for the location it is well worth the money and the rooms are spotless

beds are all new with comfy covers etc. even the noice from the bar downstairs is not thatr bad! lerts face it your booking this hotel to be close to nightlife!!!

breakfast are out of this world!!!

welcome back rem - the scene has been missing you!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verityfarseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

it should be on rogue traders if that was your bedroom at home you wouldnt stay in it a disgrace everything unclean dont stay here you would get a disease

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twathead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I really felt that paying £50 for this room was a total waste of money. Who do you think you are? It's an insult to charge for such a disgusting room. AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank josephscanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Nothing speacial at all, booked this hotel last minute as were going to a concert at the MEN in Manchester. We stayed mid week.

The location of the hotel is above a pub so you check in there and go up to your room.

The rooms are old and in need of renovation, the safe did not work. The beds were on their last legs.

It was very basic and just a place to rest our heads for the travel the next day. The bedding and towels were clean but over starched so were a little rough.

The bathroom is shared so you have to come out of your room to use the toilet and shower however you have a basin sink in your room with tea making facilities.

The location of the hotel is great as there were plenty of bars and clubs in the area.

It wasn't so bad that I would never go there again if I had to but it would not be a first choice.

The breakfast the next day was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAMember11122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I stayed at this flea pit for a night , I was supposed to stay for three but it was so bad I could not possible put myself through another 2 nights. The room was disgusting, supposed to be superior ( would hate to see the standard rooms) disgusting dirty shared toilet and bathroom,pubic hairs in the bedding. faulty wiring and no window. Bet the inmates in Strangeways have better conditions.
The breakfast was pure slops a plate of economy tinned tomatoes with the cheapest of bacon and sausages not properly defosted.Tea and Coffee facilities were disgusting, chipped cups and saucers and tea stained spoons.
I complained at the check in which is in the main bar down stairs and was told by some untidy rude barman that if I didnt like it get out and that with having paid in full I would not get a refund. I asked to see the owner and when I spoke to him (an old man in his 70s with grey hair and moustache) I was told that no refund was possible.
I got a room at the Ibis hotel less than a 100 yards from this horrific hovel for less money and clean beds and comfort.
This dirty place should be closed down.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Our room so dirty and dingy with a tiny window that could not open with frosted glass which was less than a foot from a brick wall. Staff were not exactly friendly, the smell of cheap chip fat made breakfast an occassion to be missed. the landing and stairs were filthy. But the most disguisting thing was the shared toilets, which were filthy and nasty and no where on their website did they say you have to share a toilet. When you book on line you are charged for your entire stay in advance, which makes getting your moey back difficult. Our room was so disguisting we could not stay in it so had to book another hotel. I suggest you avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubble81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#67 of 121 in Manchester
772 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#94 of 121 in Manchester
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Union Hotel
New Union Hotel
#82 of 121 in Manchester
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to REM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about REM Hotel

Address: 33 Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3LZ, England (Formerly The Rembrandt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £47 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — REM Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under brand new ownership, the REM Hotel has been completely modernized and renovated.Not to be mistaking with Lowry Annexe hotel which was formally owned by the previous owner and no longer operates. We can now offer 6 modern double rooms (2 with showers) in the heart of the Gay Village in Central Manchester. The hotel is open to all. Prices quoted are per room and include a full English breakfast and free wifi. The venue also includes 2 bars. The REM Bar is situated on the ground floor and is aimed at the gay men's market. Dark, modern, cruisy with a friendly team. On the first floor we also offer our lounge and showbar which is open to all with regular karaoke, live shows and a party atmosphere. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your REM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Rembrandt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing