We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience!”
Review of REM Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
REM Hotel
Ranked #95 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a good experience!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

First of all we arrived and had NO idea to how to get into the actual hotel so had to call. To check in we had to treck from one end of the men only bar to the other which was very embarrasing! Were taken to the room through a very dark and dingy staircase which did not smell fresh! Up to the room and to be honest the room was ok. Nice decor and comfy bed however when paying £75 per night and booking an en suite room - surely it's not unreasonable to expect your own toilet!!! instead the room had a corner shower and a basin both of which were badly fitted and leaked! there was a big gap that had not been completed under the shower and we had a little visitor come from it (baby cockroach!) When we braved using the shower on the first night we were disgusted to find fecal matter on the shower head!!! The shared toilet had pubic hair on the floor which was very off putting!
As previously mentioned, we were also in room 6, there is a window however this only opens very slightly and you can't see out of it and we too were kept awake by the very loud boiler!!

There is one positive - the man who makes your breakfast in the morning was absolutely lovely! Very friendly and helpful and good breakfast too (dispite the fact that it is served in the showbar the morning after the night before!) Apart from him, we never saw one member of staff from the hotel the whole weekend!

To be very honest, I'd sleep in my car before I'd stay there again, it is more of the standard of a basic hostel than a hotel and certainly not worth what they charge despite the location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    16
    21
    59
See reviews for
3
56
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the REM hotel on a wednesday night as we were going to the arena and out on canal street afterwards, if you want a hotel on canal street the location is amazing, literally on the street above REM (men only gay bar). Our room was small but nice with really comfy bed and shower but shared toilet between 6 rooms put us off a bit!if you book this hotel you should expect a lot of noise, we came back to hotel at about 1 but noise outside went on until 5am (and this was on a Wednesday!!)also we were next door to the boiler room in bedroom 6 and the noise was horrendous, really loud noise from the boiler kept us awake all night. Breakfast was ok, I found it a bit weird that the bedrooms had a code to get in rather than a key, this felt a bit unsafe to me. All in all would only recommend this hotel if you are going out on the lash for a big night and not planning on getting much sleep!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachAndJill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My very positive review was for the Rembrandt Hotel in LONDON!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOJVirginiaBeach_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

i had the pleasure of staying here before , as all hotels were fully booked and thought it was ok untill i go into the room . Think i should of gone to strange ways for the night for sure prison would be much nicer place to stay . and you get your own toilet aswell .
very dirty also the bathroom i had to share was awfull aswell. I do not understand both gay hotels in manchester this place and the new union are just a disgrace

Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank danielnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I have stayed before and the place was terrible. It has been bought over and the new owners have cleaned the place up , refurbished it and it is now brilliant. for the location it is well worth the money and the rooms are spotless

beds are all new with comfy covers etc. even the noice from the bar downstairs is not thatr bad! lerts face it your booking this hotel to be close to nightlife!!!

breakfast are out of this world!!!

welcome back rem - the scene has been missing you!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verityfarseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

it should be on rogue traders if that was your bedroom at home you wouldnt stay in it a disgrace everything unclean dont stay here you would get a disease

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twathead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephscanlon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I really felt that paying £50 for this room was a total waste of money. Who do you think you are? It's an insult to charge for such a disgusting room. AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josephscanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 118 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Union Hotel
New Union Hotel
#76 of 118 in Manchester
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#82 of 118 in Manchester
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to REM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about REM Hotel

Property: REM Hotel
Address: 33 Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3LZ, England (Formerly The Rembrandt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — REM Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under brand new ownership, the REM Hotel has been completely modernized and renovated.Not to be mistaking with Lowry Annexe hotel which was formally owned by the previous owner and no longer operates. We can now offer 6 modern double rooms (2 with showers) in the heart of the Gay Village in Central Manchester. The hotel is open to all. Prices quoted are per room and include a full English breakfast and free wifi. The venue also includes 2 bars. The REM Bar is situated on the ground floor and is aimed at the gay men's market. Dark, modern, cruisy with a friendly team. On the first floor we also offer our lounge and showbar which is open to all with regular karaoke, live shows and a party atmosphere. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your REM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Rembrandt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing