We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's strange that all the good reviews for this hotel come from people who live in Manachester!”
Review of REM Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
REM Hotel
Ranked #95 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Dittisham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's strange that all the good reviews for this hotel come from people who live in Manachester!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

No signage to where the hotel entrance is.
Doorman made me get my booking form out on the street before he would let me in.
Hotel rooms were dirty, decor had seen better days, wallpaper hanging off, dirty tea and coffee tray and lights that didn't work.
Filthy carpet upstairs outside the bedrooms.
Showers were grubby and very dated and the shower was hanging off the wall.

I really don't think that the other people who have reviewed this hotel saying it is fantastic have ever stayed here, the hotel is above a 'caberet' bar and the dreadful kareoke style singing went on until 2am, it was that loud it shook the room.

I did know where the REM Bar was but knowhere on the booking form on booking.com did it say that the caberet room was beneath and very very loud music went on until 2am.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RugbyMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    16
    20
    59
See reviews for
3
55
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here in this hotel. It has mixed reviews, as does every hotel, But I think people that stay here are expecting the Hilton! People KNOW its above a bar on Canal Street where all the bars and clubs are, so why moan that you could hear music downstairs until 1am!? This is a great little hotel, the location is fantastic, you are literally on the door step of Canal Street. All rooms have a shared bathroom, but there are 2 bathrooms for 6 rooms, this has never proven to be a problem the times I've stayed here. There is a free breakfast in the morning included in the price, which ranges from full english, to cereals, toast coffee and teas. I personally cannot find a fault with this hotel, the beds are really comfy and the decor is really modern. Out of the 6 rooms, only 2 have en-suite showers, but ALL rooms have a wash basin and tea coffee facilities. I am going to stay here again and would really recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlington, Chorley
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

What an experience - On arrival I was a little concerned that we were the only people staying in the hotel but check in went OK. We booked a 'superior room' superior in the sense it had a shower in it but no toilet. Looking at the room it liked as it had been refurbished it last couple of years as the fixtures and fittings were quite decent but not well maintained. I wouldn't say the room was filthy but it certainly wasn't clean, basic tea and coffee were provided as you would expect but no remote control for the TV and no glasses for rinsing etc. The carpet was disgusting and frayed near shower area. The communal toilet also have showers both had mold on the shows curtains and although the toilets themselves were clean, the rest of the area wasn't, the landing area looks very tired and could do with some money spending on it.

The hotel is at the top of the bulding, the REM bar is on the ground floor and the show bar is on the first, although on the hotels website it said it was open until 1, both were locked up by 12. Location is good right in the heart of Canal Street so don't go expecting an early night.

Breakfast was served in the show bar area, the orange juice and toast were nice, as for the rest - grease is the word. Yes its cheap and I wasn't expecting the Ritz but it needs TLC and I wouldn't stay there again - go to the Mercure or IBIS near by!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbolapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We always stay at the Rem when having a night out in Manchester's gay village, it's cheaper than a taxi back home which can be expensive in the early hours of the morning especially at the weekend.

The hotel is bang in the centre of the village which is a great location, admittedly, it can be quite noisy but as we are having a night out ourselves we don't mind it. The rooms are well equiped with everything you need, flatscreen t.v., tea and coffee making facilities ect. Breakfast is between 8.30 and 10am and one of the few hotels in the area which still serves a full English breakfast included in the price.

If it's a quiet retreat your after look elsewhere but as a base for a short stay in Manchester's city centre close to all the city has to offer the Rem's hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanwhyte77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed here Fri 29th June 2012..my first time staying here, And I was a bit wary at staying here after reading the negative reviews. I arrived into the bar and the bar guy was really helpful and explained things as I was new! The room itself was mordern, and very clean. It is true though that all the rooms do not have a toilet...BUT..BUT....there are 2 bathrooms on the landing, clean and presentable with a toilet and shower cubicle in each. My room had a shower, room 6....there are only 6 rooms, and all rooms that Fri night were all booked, I thought there would be a problem with toilets, but that really wasnt the case. No fighting for either of the shower rooms, whenever I used the toilets, they were always available. This really for me was not a major issue to be honest. This is a great little hotel above the Rem Bar for an overnight stay or even a weekend, I really would recommend this hotel to anyone. Breakfast is included in the price, the guy who was serving breakfasts was really efficient and a pleasure. Breakfast was actually alright, juices, tea/coffee, toasts, wide selection of cereals, full english also an option. I honestly cannot find a major fault with this hotel. The bed was really really comfortable. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a luxury room, there are 2 out of the 6. Those 2 have showers in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

stay here in easter good basiuc hotel in the heart of the city just a fiuve minute walk from the train station we were in town to see a show so it was ideal just a few notes none of the rooms have toilets so you have to share and only one of the rooms had a shower the rest have to share it can be a bit full on when you have people getting ready for a night out .
its in the heart of the gay district full of pubs and clubs great if you are a hen party the area is full of youngsters going from pub to pub not nice if you have come for a quiet weekend just a word the rem has two bars downstairs that go on until 1 am so if you are in your room you can still hear the music so go toi the bar and join the fun .
this is a basic hotel if you are coming for a night out or two not much wardrobe space just a rail on the wall with coathangers so if you are going round town getting in in the early hours this hotel is for you the breakfast was good and the staff very friendly we will stay there again when we have a show to see

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortbreaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at the REM hotel on a wednesday night as we were going to the arena and out on canal street afterwards, if you want a hotel on canal street the location is amazing, literally on the street above REM (men only gay bar). Our room was small but nice with really comfy bed and shower but shared toilet between 6 rooms put us off a bit!if you book this hotel you should expect a lot of noise, we came back to hotel at about 1 but noise outside went on until 5am (and this was on a Wednesday!!)also we were next door to the boiler room in bedroom 6 and the noise was horrendous, really loud noise from the boiler kept us awake all night. Breakfast was ok, I found it a bit weird that the bedrooms had a code to get in rather than a key, this felt a bit unsafe to me. All in all would only recommend this hotel if you are going out on the lash for a big night and not planning on getting much sleep!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachAndJill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 117 in Manchester
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Union Hotel
New Union Hotel
#76 of 117 in Manchester
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 117 in Manchester
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to REM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about REM Hotel

Property: REM Hotel
Address: 33 Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3LZ, England (Formerly The Rembrandt Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — REM Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under brand new ownership, the REM Hotel has been completely modernized and renovated.Not to be mistaking with Lowry Annexe hotel which was formally owned by the previous owner and no longer operates. We can now offer 6 modern double rooms (2 with showers) in the heart of the Gay Village in Central Manchester. The hotel is open to all. Prices quoted are per room and include a full English breakfast and free wifi. The venue also includes 2 bars. The REM Bar is situated on the ground floor and is aimed at the gay men's market. Dark, modern, cruisy with a friendly team. On the first floor we also offer our lounge and showbar which is open to all with regular karaoke, live shows and a party atmosphere. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your REM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Rembrandt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing