We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manchester Pride 2012.”
Review of New Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Union Hotel
Ranked #78 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 8 September 2012

For the 4th or 5th year in a row, we have stayed at the New Union Hotel & Show Bar for the 'Big Weekend / Grand Finale of Manchester's Gay Pride. We have had a different room every year and I can say that all of their rooms are outstanding! They are all en-suite rooms with tea / coffee making facilities, TV's with Sky channels. Their rooms have all been re-modelled & re-decorated to give this 12 room hotel a fresh new outlook, complete with new wood flooring. The rooms are cleaned every day & towels renewed. Hair-dryers & Irons are also available on request.

All the staff that we have met over the years are all very friendly, very helpful and all do their utmost to help you.

The bar downstairs has a typical 'local feel' and has a warm, friendly atmosphere. There are always different things going on during the week, including Karaoke.

During Pride weekend it can get very noisy, but nothing a good old pair of earplugs can't solve & the free wifi was a nice surprise.


For me the New Union is a 'Home away from Home' and there is Nowhere else I would want to stay, for any occasion.

The New Union is only a short walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station and is also on several bus routes. It takes only ten minutes to walk into the centre of Manchester for anyone wishing to go mad with the credit cards!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia-Turner-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for New Union Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed over fri, sat & sun for pride weekend and everytime we stay here we have such a good time! It's always friendly, clean and we couldn't have been staying in a better location for pride. The mangers are always friendly and helpful...the manageress Adele is also very cute!!! :) We normally stay at the premier inn over pride but we will def be coming back here next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent this past Saturday and Sunday night at the hotel, which was in a great location for the village and access to the city - everything we needed was within walking distance including the Ethiad stadium for the concert we went to (about 25-30 minute walk along a well lit route).

Admittedly the hotel/bar clearly state on their website that the rooms are above the bar/disco area so it will be noisy - we can confirm that this is true!!! However, as long as you know to expect this then you can't moan about it! (Saturday was til about 4am and Sunday til about 2.30am)... So take some ear plugs if you think you might not cope!

We stayed in room 10, which was spacious and clean. The window faces out towards the back of the hotel but the noise does carry from the main street, again it can't be helped due to the location but a consideration if you are a light sleeper. The bathroom had been newly renovated and the power shower was lovely and hot, so no complaints there! There was a small tv in the room, kettle and supplies and these were refreshed during our stay.

The only thing that niggled us a bit was the communication before we arrived. We booked via booking.com and no deposit is required (it wouldn't have been an issue to pay a deposit, in fact I was surprised we didn't have to). A few weeks before we were due I had a call from one member of staff asking us to confirm our booking as they had lost money due to previous no shows. I offered to pay a deposit on the phone so they would be satisfied but I was told it wasn't necessary. Then a few days before we arrived I had a bit of a stroppy voicemail (from another member of staff) telling me that because I hadn't paid a deposit I needed to call them immediately or they would release my room!! Anyway, a quick phone call sorted the issue but was a bit miffed at the lack of communication between staff & if this is an issue it needs to be resolved when customers book.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

this hotel is in the centre of Manchester,we thought it would be noisy as the bar below is open till 3am,we heard nothing.bathroom very basic and dark and apart from stained duvet covers the room was spacious and tidy.staff were very friendly.This hotel is ideal for stag or hen dos.do not consider it for a romantic weekend away.no parking is avaliable and it costs £20 on NCP .would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happychappy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here for just one night for a girlie night out with a friend, so literally just needed somewhere to sleep. The room was clean and tidy,Staff polite and friendly at check in. Bathroom was very very small! Actually had to leave the loo door open when using as felt claustrophobic! ha ha! didn't have breakfast as wanted to have a walk around Manchester before travelling home. The bedding/linen etc was all fresh and clean.
The bar downstairs was quite good, we made instant friends with a group of friends who knew the best local bars and offered for us to come along with them! Ended up having a fab night! the location of the hotel is probably the best bit, within walking distance of night life and the price for central Manchester is about as cheap as you are going to get!If you want a quite night then do not stay down here, as the bar downstairs was VERY noisy when we returned that night. We didn't mind though as I knew beforehand that there was a bar downstairs and I didn't have a problem dropping off.
Will use this hotel again next time I am in Manchester.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the past weekend with three friends. The location is great so I can’t complain about that. It’s very central and convenient to get to pretty much anywhere so it’s perfect on that basis.

But if I’m honest, I don’t think we’ll be staying there again. The room was basic which was fine because we just needed a base for the weekend – however the room was freezing. The radiator wouldn’t work properly and when it did work, it was in the early hours of the morning. The temperature valves from the radiator were missing so the heat couldn’t be increased or decreased.

The windows are very thin so you can hear literally every noise outside – it sounded like the people outside were actually in our room. We expected some noise with the location but not as much as we heard – though an argument on Friday night between two men, did make for entertainment!

The room door was incredibly hard to lock, we had to nearly snap the key in the door to get it to turn and lock which did make us worry slightly security wise. And the room was very dark – only one light was working which made things difficult when trying to get ready to go out.

Our stay was made a slight nightmare by the noisy idiots in the room next to us who thought it was appropriate to bang on the walls shouting “WAKE UP” at around 4.30 in the morning, throwing things at the walls (including what sounded like glasses and cups and at some points, it sounded like they were throwing themselves at the wall). All this added to one of them coughing so obnoxiously loud that sounded like they had been possessed by the devil – was the final nail in the coffin for us to decide that it wasn’t worth the money we paid.

I have to say that the staff were very nice and helpful though – there are no complaints with them what so ever. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at the union hotel for my 21st birthday weekend and loved it! Firstly, the location is perfect, and the price for the location is exceptionally cheap. The room was perfectly clean and tidy with easy, secure 24 hour access. The staff at the hotel, are the loveliest most attentive people I've ever met! Anything we needed, they helped with straight away and would check we had everything we needed. Will definitely be going back here, loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#63 of 120 in Manchester
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.6 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Union Hotel

Address: 111 Princess Street, Manchester M1 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £41 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the New Union, you can benefit from: * Great value rooms from 40 pounds * 24-hour access key fob * Privacy: en-suite bathroom in every room * FREE Internet access via Wi-Fi * Convenient location near: o Gay village, Chinatown, shops & Palace theater o Piccadilly & Oxford Rd train stations o Chorlton St coach station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Union Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing