We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful... Never again... Disgrace”
Review of New Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Union Hotel
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful... Never again... Disgrace”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I didn’t actually stay at the hotel but I did visit the pub. This is listed as a specifically gay friendly hotel which would make sense due to being in the heart of Canal Street, Manchester. We started out night at the pub and had our first few drinks in the pub section to the left. There is a night club to the right with a DJ and dance floor etc. Once we moved into there, we noticed they had poles. My 2 friends had a quick go, just for a bit of fun. The drag queen who was working as a DJ turned the must off and told them they weren’t all that and they should stop. They thought it was just banter as you would expect and continued. My partner was actually told a second time to get off the pole and it wasn’t a suggestion. This was also followed by rude comments about ‘putting her trotters’ away. The drag queen continued to joke to other guests and make rude, offensive and derogatory comments towards us.

I did email a complaint to the bar/hotel twice but no response. Overall, the place was awful. Rude and abusive staff. Judging my some of the reviews about the rooms, and other people also mentioning issues with the management, I certainly would waste no time revisiting.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. There are a few really nice ones in the same area. Not as cheap but you get wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alicelonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    49
    40
    14
    34
See reviews for
6
57
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My friend & I came to Manchester for a seventies concert & chose this hotel to stay in because of it's location to Piccadilly station & the concert venue. On arrival we were given such a friendly welcome by the owner we immediately felt relaxed. We spent the afternoon sat outside next to the canal, where we met more friendly locals, who even arranged our taxi for the evening. After a brilliant concert we arrived back at the Union & were once again greeted like old friends. The place was heaving & the party in full swing. When we eventually retired to our room we fell asleep almost immediately in our extremely comfy bed. The pub was still open but the noise was fine, no louder than my hubby with footie on the telly! We didn't have to leave Manchester until late afternoon the next day & we weren't hassled at all about checking out on time & left our cases safely with the staff in the morning while we enjoyed the rest of the day. We will definitely be back, the owner, staff & the locals are the most welcoming, friendly people you could wish to meet. The room was super clean & comfy & the staff catered for our every need. My lovely friend has just finished 9 months of gruelling chemotherapy & radiotherapy & this was just the tonic she needed. Thank you all for making our stay so pleasant & fun.
So If you want a friendly welcome in a basic but clean & comfy hotel with a fab boozy night life, this is the place for you.
Wish we'd booked for the whole weekend!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Winniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Was down with boyfriend and friends for weekend rooms were large and clean. Fresh towels every day and rooms cleaned every day. Staff friendly and helpful.
Rooms above bar but more noise from outside than there but still wasnt bad.
Central for Canal Street and city centre only 10 min walk.
Would highly recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you're heading to Manchester for a weekend of fun and frolics this is definitely a great place to rest your head.

Maintenance could use a bit of TLC (scratches on the walls, a lick of paint here and there) but the place was very clean and very comfortable. Staff were great. Very friendly, funny and went out of their way to help you out. Room we stayed in (Room 4) had a slight damp smell in the air, but nothing too drastic. Only other thing I would maybe say that was missing was perhaps a coat hook or two and maybe a small shelf in the en suite shower room, and a small chest of drawers for the bedroom space. No other issues besides.

In reading other reviews it seemed that noise from the club/pub downstairs was a bit of an issue, but to be honest myself and my friends took little notice of this as we were down there joining in the fun for most of the evening. Venue was light, clean, great atmosphere and wonderful staff. And of course, entry was free to residents.

This is probably where the New Union comes into it's own. If you are visiting for a party weekend then it's ideal, if you're looking for a good nights rest then it may be advisable to look elsewhere as it's right in the heart of the action.

Truly wonderful experience was had, will definitely be looking to stay again soon.

Room Tip: If you can stand the noise of the party outside then anywhere would do, but if you do want to get so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

To be true....i did not know where i was going! I arrived at night...so the club underneath the hotel was in full splendor...and loudness!
The great thing is that, when in the room, the noise is just far, and you can enjoy all the facilities!
The room was very big, en suite bathroom, and the bed was extracomfortable. Wifi is free, the hotel is in the gay quarter, at walking distance from the train and coach station and the centre. Truly good location indeed! The bathroom is quite tiny, but it's a great deal hotel, so it's more than expected!
The staff...truly nice and helpful! My requested were all satisfied, promptly and very nicely.
Maybe not the best place if you're habit to live in the middle of the country or your kids wake up even for a fly zzzz....but for all the others, it's a great deal indeed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Orlando14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A group of 4 girls we stayed here in December 2013 for a 21st birthday it was perfect for what we needed! The staff here were so friendly and were there to cater for anything we needed.

Downsides were the rooms were really small and the bathroom door practically opened up on to a bed. The lighting in there was very poor! We could hardly wee what we were doing as we tried to get ready and there were not enough power points. The location of the hotel is in the middle of the GAY part of Manchester which we didn't care about. All in all a good experience and i would stay here again. I wouldn't stay with my family as the bar below is wayyyyy too noisy for having a good nights sleep. Luckily we was only here for the night life so this hotel suited us just fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiannasp-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anyalya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner had a late flight back to manchester so we looked on line and spotted the union . We landed at manchester airport at 2am and had to catch a train to piccadilly we arrived out side the union and rang on the bell no one come so we knocked again no answer we the tried to ring them up answer phone .. my partner is very unwell and we did not need the stress . Up to now we have had no refund .. we ended up having to pay 129.00 to stay in another hotel !!! There customer service is rubbish its suppost to be a hotel so staff should be there 24.7 please beawre if u have a late flight dont book with them .. I would not recommend them either they rip people off ... I will be taking them to court if they do not pay !!! Please look somewere else b4 u book here

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank wesleigh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newunion, Owner at New Union Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Wesleigh

We are sorry that you did not have a satisfactory experience.

It states on our Late Rooms profile that we do not allow check-in after 10pm. This is because we close early on Mondays, however all other days, guests can check-in until the venue closes (2am Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday / 3.30am Friday / 4am Saturday).

If we had been made aware that you wanted to check-in after this time, we would have advised you to stay elsewhere.

However, your booking through Late Rooms stated that you were arriving at 12am. As the venue does not shut until 2am on Tuesday night/Wednesday morning this would not have been a problem.

Kindest Regards

Adele Ramsbottom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#60 of 118 in Manchester
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Union Hotel

Property: New Union Hotel
Address: 111 Princess Street, Manchester M1 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the New Union, you can benefit from: * Great value rooms from 40 pounds * 24-hour access key fob * Privacy: en-suite bathroom in every room * FREE Internet access via Wi-Fi * Convenient location near: o Gay village, Chinatown, shops & Palace theater o Piccadilly & Oxford Rd train stations o Chorlton St coach station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Union Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing