We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, excellent service, tip in cash” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rouge - Manchester Spinningfields - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Rouge - Manchester Spinningfields
Price range: US$31 - US$44
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, excellent service, tip in cash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My fiance and I have just returned from this cosy little restaurant which we stumbled upon by chance as we were wandering around Deansgate in the glorious sunshine.
I went for the fillet steak which was cooked perfectly, whilst he went for the rib eye steak, again cooked as requested. We shared the dauphinoise potatoes and the spinach sides (when I say shared, I mean I ate most of the divine potatoes)! which really complimented our meal.
We only had soft drinks and water, however the wine list looked good, and the waiter whom served us was absolutely lovely, we had a great laugh with him and nothing was too much trouble, however I'm a little dismayed to hear that our tip we left on card does not 100% go to him, so we left cash as well so he got this.
All in a all, a great find, and we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HsacNipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always return here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Food and staff always nice here - like the fact that everytime I have been the food menu has different options.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great when it came”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

After ordering must have waited at least half an hour for the starters to arrive. One of the meals ordered was no longer available so an alternative picked. All of the food was good and tasty and the staff friendly. Just need to pick up on the time to get served. If you have the time I would recommend it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

A group of five of us booked in to Café Rouge for dinner after a show at the Opera House. We arrived a little early (5pm) but they allowed us to take our table anyway. The waiter was very prompt and friendly. There were a lot of nice options on the menu but the waiter informed us that two of the main courses was not available, neither was one of the draft lagers. Having taken our order, he then returned to tell us that two of our choices also weren't available. When we then ordered a dessert wine, we were told that the wine was available but not chilled. The food that we did have was very good but the evening was marred by the disappointment of the lack of choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for people watching, and food too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Took a while to arrive, but we weren't in a hurry and the quality of the food was well worth the wait. Recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bikerdave117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Manchester Spinningfields also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing