We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of genius” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1847 Manchester

1847 Manchester
Ranked #121 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$37
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Entrance on Booth Street
Transit: Tram Stops: Mosley St or St Peters Square
Description: Manchester city centres only Vegetarian restaurant, open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner. Our kitchen is headed by Roman Labat with menus inspired by British classics with a twist. Head Chef Sam Morgan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of genius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the qualities of genius is to juxtapose the unexpected successfully. That's what happens with some of the weird and wacky combinations at Bistro 1847. The food quality is really excellent with each dish full of complementary and contrasting flavours. For instance: crispy potato & old Winchester dumpling, lovage, toffee apple, mead reduction, celery & chickweed. I mean ... toffee apple! Yes it sounds ridiculous but it just works somehow. The beer battered halloumi is superb: crisp dry batter over moist light textured cheese. With David Bann's place in Edinburgh, this is in the top flight of veggie cuisine at very reasonable prices. The wine list is thoughtful but is sadly lacking a dessert wine. Service is relaxed and cheerful, but also attentive. I've had some lovely lunchtimes in this place and count myself fortunate to live near Manchester.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    249
    109
    74
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“1847”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

As an omnivore I was slightly worried about how satisfying this experience would be. However, the service was excellent; the two Dans were courteous and patient and very understanding of the concerns of a non-vegetarian. The party I was with decided to choose a variety of dishes to share and I was not disappointed. The haloumi was fantastic. The dishes were beautifully presented and incredibly tasty. The puddings are to die for! A fantastic experience - if only there was an 1847 closer to Brighton. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Visited here again recently one lunchtime to find out that the place has had a makeover with a regigged bar, layout and menu

Thankfully this has not impacted on the quality. I took advantage of the new lunchtime menu and had generous portions of the beetroot salad. I also had the chocolate desert which was exquisite!

Despite the changes this is still the number destination for veggies in Manchester!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Drake_Sheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“quality veggie food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

we have been to the Birmingham 1847 and were in Manchester so thought that we would give this a go.
first of all the atmosphere in this restaurant is better than in Birmingham
the menu has a range of dishes which can be ordered as either half or full portions
(sides and mains)
we ordered the Haloumi (which comes with chips as a main) and it was very good, we ordered three other half portions to share, although they were all very well cooked and presented
they werent to my pallet and to be honest I preferred the food in the Birmingham restaurant

certainly worth a visit though

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegetarian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I live near London but my mother lives in Greater Manchester. When I visit her, this is our favourite eaterie. Delicious food, generous portions and plenty of choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pMacDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1847 Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 1847 Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing