We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location for the city”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Have stayed here twice in the last year and enjoyed staying here both times. The staff at the hotel are friendly and welcoming. For a hotel in a converted industrial building right in the city it has a really nice relaxed feel. I particularly enjoyed breakfasting with the river views through the window.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outonthehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    599
    231
    80
    59
See reviews for
194
789
57
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed and upgraded to a Junior Suite for £50 extra on the Friday night. The suite was comfortable with a living and dining space and I would say worth the extra if you've got kids or are staying a while.

The "river view" was disappointing and was more industrial waste than river!

Staff were all very nice particularly the gentleman who saw us to our table at breakfast.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style but not as nice as the other Marriott breakfasts I've had.

The hotel is great if you want to be close to shops, nightlife etc but you want quiet at night.

We would stay again but don't consider this hotel to be a luxury break.

There was a mix up with the bill when we checked out but this was politely sorted out.

A nice hotel that just needs a few tweaks to bring it up a class.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLuKittyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

It didn't start very well from the moment I checked in. The bill was supposed to have been charged back to the company but the hotel told me they hadn't received confirmation. They then asked for a credit card and despite the room rate being only £80.50 I noticed the machine said £130.50 - I was advised it was standard practice to add £50 "in case you have room service or to cover anything from the bar". I have never heard anything so absurd! You then find if you want Internet access - there's a charge for that - if you want room service despite paying an inflated price they then charge you £3 for the privilege. I haven't a clue when the room was used last - there is a film of dust on almost everything you touch. If this is 4 star you can forget it. Marriott is certainly NOT the chain it used to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penniecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The Victoria and Albert Marriott is a very good business hotel. the rooms are comfortable, the hotel has some old world character but is also modern. all conveniences a business person would want. the restaurant was very very good...very surprising. the staff is helpful.

recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theberardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

What a great hotel we had just a perfect stay, the location is brilliant, close to the centre of Manchester great for shopping.

The staff were great over are whole stay they couldn't do enough for us.

Thanks to all at the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHAmbleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I am a platinum status traveler with Marriott. I stay 100 nights a year at various hotels. This Marriott is average at best. Poor customer service. Small dark rooms. Noisy. Food at the restaurant is bad. Very dissapointing Marriott property.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank tpberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The hotel in itself is lovely - my husband, daughter and I attended a wedding breakfast and reception here and stayed the night. A very clean, well - organised hotel with polite and helpful staff, we were expecting great things. During the wedding breakfast, my daughter was left without food for most of the meal as the pre - ordered chicken nuggets weren't ready so, the large amount of children there were left restless, impatient and hungry. The staff dealt with it well and were very apologetic however, and it is hard to be annoyed at such lovely people who were indeed blameless. As expected, this hotel was very pricey: drinks from the bar were ridiculously so. As we hadn't booked directly with the hotel (we used laterooms), breakfast was not included and had to be paid for separately. It was a lovely breakfast but, very expensive and we weren't told beforehand that this was the case. The room itself was lovely; very clean, bright and roomy with everything you'd expect and more. We are due to be going back in October for another family party but, it is doubtful we will be staying as the room prices we have been quoted are just under £200! Although I would recommend the hotel, I would warn of the prices and unexpected costs!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torworwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,958 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Marriott, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing