We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Welcoming - a great combination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quirky and Welcoming - a great combination”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The three things that
I particularly like about this hotel, having stayed here three times now, are the staff, the location by the canal and the quirky rooms which owe their design to the fact that the hotel was originally a warehouse. The room was spacious and had a large metal post in it, which added character if also a slight hazard for the unwary!

Breakfast is a very good spread of the usual fresh fruit, cereal and hot selection, all very high quality, and the bonus of looking over the canal, watching cormorants and a lone kingfisher...

The staff are welcoming and helpful, and whilst parking is at a premium, there is a valet service. I plan to stay here again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    592
    227
    79
    59
See reviews for
191
776
57
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

From the moment you arrive & the concierge takes your car to park it for you, you are just wowed by the look of the hotel, the wonderful grand reception area and the professional staff.

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and would certainly return, we were graced with beautiful sunny weather and the outside decking area for drinks was fantastic. The bar staff were attentive and remembered your drinks order without asking.

We tried the bar food and again all four of us were happy with our meals, the breakfast was excellent and the restaurant/ breakfast area was very nicely done with soft seating and good decoration.

We found the location of the hotel to be very good with an short stroll into the main town area with lots of choice of shops, bars & restaurants.

Our only complaints would be with the rooms, our room had a broken iron which was replaced instantly once reported we also reported the room safe note working and the air conditioning not blowing cold but neither of them were fixed during our stay which meant terrible sleep due to the room being so so hot.

Parking for your car will cost £14 per night but you are in a central location.

I hope this helps you with choosing this hotel and I hope the sun is shinning when you visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefunkymonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

we stayed here and the first night my daughter had a fruit shoot my daughter said it tastes like apple it was 6 months out of date the next night the food was ok but they run out of ice cream my daughter had a pizza ham and cheese it was great the next night she had the same pizza put they had run out of ham and they put spicy beef on my daughter is 3 years old when i said she won't eat it they said just pick it off the pizza i said she would still taste it they changed it the next night i was gob spacked when the duty manger told the next table when they complained about a boy runnig around the duty manger said children should be put on a dog lead and dogs should be allowed

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig41StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I've stayed in this hotel a few times and it's been reliably good. It's within walking distance of Manchester City Centre and a short taxi journey from Piccadilly. The rooms are a good size, with all the mod cons you'd expect. Brekkie is a buffet affair, with plenty of choice. The staff have always been friendly and efficient, given that I've seen a few guests being abusive I think they do a very good job.

I've not had any noise complaints until my last visit where I was assigned an adjoining room. The couple sharing the other room weren't particualarly noisy but I could hear them in their bathroom way too clearly, if you know what I mean. Basically the hotel is very busy over the weekend, with weddings and sports fixtures. Personally I'd risk staying in the hotel again but would make sure to avoid an adjoining room in future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

just got back from a 1 nights stay at this hotel, first impression of the room was dark and cramped, a small window not letting much light in !. The room had an inter connecting door for people who need rooms together, we decided to go to bed at 11.30pm, this when the noise from next door began !. The family with small children decided to invite all the other kids from their party to their room to run around , shouting, playing hide and seek an dchasing each other , the noise was terrible with the paper thin walls as every sound could be heard. We rang down to reception to complain and they said they would phone the room !! . after another half an hour we had to ring reception again ! This time the staff went to the room and told them the noise wad not acceptable. It was after midnight when the noise finished, but you could hear people in the rooms above and in the corridoor. after a very restless night we headed down for breakfast , we were shocked to see the same families letting their kids play hide and seek in the dining room, running back and forth, the staff seemed oblivious to this.
Come on Marriot this is not good enough !!, and to the families with disruptive kids have a bit of respect to other guests staying here, also the £14 parking charge is very steep!
We think we will give this hotel a miss the next time in Manchester.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyholsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Hotel is placed close to the river/channel. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from centre. Rooms are nice and big, with nice furniture and with all necessities. Internet is charged on top of the room rate. Room cleaning was perfect.
Restaurant is serving typical English food, nothing fancy so to say. You should rather go to some of the good restaurants nearby. However the servant was really trying to do his best.
Even though the hotel was crowded with staff, the service was really bad. It seemed like they did not know what the others were doing.
This hotel is perfect for the business traveller staying one night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henke_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I just love the luxury and the treat of a stay in a Marriott and the excellent service and the Victoria and Albert did not disappoint. We also really liked the building.
All staff were very hospitable and helpful and the service in the restaurant was excellent even though they were very busy with a wedding. The food was delicious and we were able to take advantage of a special good value offer for an evening meal for two. The
location is very good - in a quiet area within walking distance of the city centre and the trams.
The bed was really comfortable, but unfortunately, sleep quality was spoit by a very noisy air conditioner fan or motor outside our window during the night which it was hard to blot out.
The only other negative was breakfast, where the choice was quite disappointing. I also chose a bagel which turned out to be quite unpleasant and hard to chew.
Overall though, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one without the air con motors outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,878 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing