We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

we styaed june 10th-12th 2011 for a weekend. after spending a long time trying to find a nice place to stay i noticed the Weekend deal on marrioot's website (only place to see these rates I think), £250 for the weekend incluidng a meal one night and the buffet breakfast. to my surpirse the meal was lovely! great attempt at fine dining and couldnt fault it, apart from being too full to enjoy my pudding. After this being one of those hotels where you seem to get either "best" or "worst ever" I upgraded our room using my reward points to give us a better chance of success. I think this worked as that basically puts you on the top floor so less chance of noise I guess. Room was usual marriott and very comfy bed and bedding. I took earplugs after all the reviews about noise, but didnt need them. Staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast was lovely both mornings, not sure what people complain about! Perhaps it's down to luck and perhaps the number of staff on. no compliants here. Can recommend based on my upgraded room and also the all-in weekend rate beat or compared to most others cheaper hotels in Manchester for £250 all-in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raven798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

I regularly stay at Marriott Hotels, but report that this hotel was very disappointing!

My room had a dreadful smell, and therefore I had to open the windows all day to ensure the room was fresh for the evening.

In addition to the poor standard of room, the breakfast quality was poor.

Having stayed at lots of Marriott hotels I wrote to the Management , however, sadly there response to my feedback was unsympathetic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedford1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here saturday 11 jun, we have booked in here before and so decided to do again.
I booked 3 rooms for myself and wife,mum and sister. The location is excellent, as my wife wanted to go and check where Take That were staying. They were across the road which was very handy. The service couldnt be faulted, breakfast was excellent value they had a deal on 15.00 for 2 full breakfasts.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I attended the hotel for two days in June 2011 for a business meeting for 14 delegates. I should have stayed there as well, but, due to a mysterious change in reservations, my booking was transferred (without my knowledge) to the nearby (8 minute walk) Marriott Renaissance instead of the V&A. The Boardroom used onthe first day was rather claustrophobic, with no windows at all, even internal ones. On the second day we moved to a much better meeting room, of similar size, and with a glass internal wall.

Refreshments during the day were first class; the bacon butties went down very well, as did the "home made" cookies and other snacks. The lunch buffet on each day was well above the usual standard for conference fare in such hotels.

Service from all the staff we encountered was first class; the V&A is certainly wiorth looking in to for a meeting /conference venue in Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends for our Take That weekend. Lovely hotel. Rooms were lovely. You can open the windows to get fresh air! Slightly out of town centre so not too noisy. Beds were so comfy - great night's sleep. Staff were lovely, very helpful and courteous. 2 minutes walk from Spinningfields for plenty of bars and restaurants. 5 minutes walk into town centre. Opposite the Granada TV studios. Breakfast was fab. Would definately stay again. Thanks Marriott.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The three things that
I particularly like about this hotel, having stayed here three times now, are the staff, the location by the canal and the quirky rooms which owe their design to the fact that the hotel was originally a warehouse. The room was spacious and had a large metal post in it, which added character if also a slight hazard for the unwary!

Breakfast is a very good spread of the usual fresh fruit, cereal and hot selection, all very high quality, and the bonus of looking over the canal, watching cormorants and a lone kingfisher...

The staff are welcoming and helpful, and whilst parking is at a premium, there is a valet service. I plan to stay here again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

From the moment you arrive & the concierge takes your car to park it for you, you are just wowed by the look of the hotel, the wonderful grand reception area and the professional staff.

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and would certainly return, we were graced with beautiful sunny weather and the outside decking area for drinks was fantastic. The bar staff were attentive and remembered your drinks order without asking.

We tried the bar food and again all four of us were happy with our meals, the breakfast was excellent and the restaurant/ breakfast area was very nicely done with soft seating and good decoration.

We found the location of the hotel to be very good with an short stroll into the main town area with lots of choice of shops, bars & restaurants.

Our only complaints would be with the rooms, our room had a broken iron which was replaced instantly once reported we also reported the room safe note working and the air conditioning not blowing cold but neither of them were fixed during our stay which meant terrible sleep due to the room being so so hot.

Parking for your car will cost £14 per night but you are in a central location.

I hope this helps you with choosing this hotel and I hope the sun is shinning when you visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefunkymonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £78 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing