We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent a weekend in the Manchester Marriott V&A. It is a nice hotel, the good thing is that it lacks the typical big chain hotel feeling as it’s built into an old warehouse and the old structures like the wooden beams and the brick walls are visible throughout the building. But this also means that the ceiling is quite low and the windows in the room small. Apart from that the rooms offer standard Marriott comfort (which is very good), but are not very large. When you have a room with a door to an adjacent room you can hear every little noise from there-do avoid those rooms if you are a light sleeper.

The breakfast was ok but nothing special, the coffee was bad. We didn’t try the restaurant for dinner. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
There seem to be a lot of weddings in the hotel, there was one on both evenings when we stayed so we had some nice entertainment when we were at the good bar for a goodnight drink.

The hotel is located a bit out of the center, it’s a 15 min walk to Piccadilly Gardens. But shopping and dining can also be found nearby in the Spinningfields area. The MOSI, which is well worth a visit, is very close by.

The only really negative point was that my Marriott Gold status was not honoured (except for the internet access where the computer made the descision…), I had to pay for breakfast (no lounge), the newspaper (first time in my life with Marriott as far as I can remember) and of course got no room upgrade.

We got a cheap weekend rate so overall it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with doors to adjacent rooms - noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooookch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

As an American traveling to Europe for the first time, this business trip was combined into a pleasure trip as well and included an 8 day stay at this hotel. Spouses (husbands in this case) and conference presenters thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The hotel was very quick to address concerns. The hotel is located in a beautiful part of the city very close to everything! We walked everywhere, but when a bus was necessary, the bus stop is right at the hotel. The amenities were incredible and everything was very clean and quiet even though it is a very active hotel. The quaint cottage look and feel of the rooms was appropriate and as a traveler, very much appreciated. The cost was comparable to other hotels in the area but this hotel had a more inviting feel.

Room Tip: Perhaps call rather than book on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Just returned from a week's stay here whilst working in Mmanchester. It was my first stay here and I only wish that I had used it earlier. The decor is lovely, the staff cannot do enough for you and the food is delicious. Breakfasts were a pleasure - sitting overlooking the wildlife on the rive,r and sometimes even energetic rowers. The rooms vary but mine was at the front and although not as massive as at some hotels I've stayed at in this city, it was clean, welcoming and comfortable. The outside areas are great (when/if it's good weather) and although it's a popular venue for events, the noise is not aggravating, or at least it wasn't on the second floor.
I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I only stayed in this hotel because of a private training. The trainer selected this hotel's business center to teach me (only 6 m2 with 2 chairs!) It was a terrible day because of hotel's small lounge, business center, asking money for each coffe along the 9 hours training. The rooms was comfortable but very silent area and far away city center by walking. I was alone and first time for me in MAnchester and scared about coming back hotel after ciry center visit by wqalking. Close for not asking taxi but far with desolate streets for a dinner at restaurant. The breakfast lounge's windows are very close the river but it was not a good view for me with black and dirty river water while having breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AYFERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

we styaed june 10th-12th 2011 for a weekend. after spending a long time trying to find a nice place to stay i noticed the Weekend deal on marrioot's website (only place to see these rates I think), £250 for the weekend incluidng a meal one night and the buffet breakfast. to my surpirse the meal was lovely! great attempt at fine dining and couldnt fault it, apart from being too full to enjoy my pudding. After this being one of those hotels where you seem to get either "best" or "worst ever" I upgraded our room using my reward points to give us a better chance of success. I think this worked as that basically puts you on the top floor so less chance of noise I guess. Room was usual marriott and very comfy bed and bedding. I took earplugs after all the reviews about noise, but didnt need them. Staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast was lovely both mornings, not sure what people complain about! Perhaps it's down to luck and perhaps the number of staff on. no compliants here. Can recommend based on my upgraded room and also the all-in weekend rate beat or compared to most others cheaper hotels in Manchester for £250 all-in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raven798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I regularly stay at Marriott Hotels, but report that this hotel was very disappointing!

My room had a dreadful smell, and therefore I had to open the windows all day to ensure the room was fresh for the evening.

In addition to the poor standard of room, the breakfast quality was poor.

Having stayed at lots of Marriott hotels I wrote to the Management , however, sadly there response to my feedback was unsympathetic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedford1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here saturday 11 jun, we have booked in here before and so decided to do again.
I booked 3 rooms for myself and wife,mum and sister. The location is excellent, as my wife wanted to go and check where Take That were staying. They were across the road which was very handy. The service couldnt be faulted, breakfast was excellent value they had a deal on 15.00 for 2 full breakfasts.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,800 reviews
0.9 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 120 in Manchester
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £82 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing