We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but don't use your car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here while attending a concert at MEN arena, easy walking to city centre and MEN. The hotel is made up of 2 old docks, Victoria and Albert, hence the name. Our room was actually in the next building connected via a long corridor and due to building regulations not like the normal Marriott, large and a little quaint. Light switches all in the wrong place. Car was valet parked in a warehouse next door so there was no quick get away. When we needed the car had to summon staff as no bell boys waiting. Didn't stay for dinner or breakfast, walked into town for both.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HbsLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed here for a 40th Birthday Party, double room with Breakfast cost £110.00 the room was furnished to a very high standard, the car park was small and cost £14.00 if you wanted to use it which I thought was expensive, next was a NCP car park which cost £7.00 for the night "still expensive but a cheaper option, the bar was enormous and service was good, bar prices were expectantly high but not over the top as in all Marriott Hotels, Breakfast was good, buffet style help yourself to as much as you want, all in all a top hotel nice staff and plenty of room

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Check in smooth and efficient. Hotel very nicely decorated and walkable to Deansgate for shopping. £14 to park car overnight (standard for hotel parking in Manchester). I thought the £100 room rate for a Friday night including a bottle of prosecco was good value..... not so after being woken up early morning and realising we were given a room over the goods delivery entrance. It was literally as noisy as a building site, no joke. So much clattering and banging i was fuming. So much for a good night's sleep and relaxing night away. One of the towels in the room was also filthy which doesn't fill you with confidence, if what you see if mucky, what else behind the scenes is mucky? Anyways, we get to breakfast and the Australian rugby team has beaten us to it, not much left and not replenished (although surroundings by river nice!). Overall this hotel is style over substance and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Just had a fantastic dinner from the full a la carte menu plus a glass of fizz each because it's my birthday yet the room rate is £50 less than b&b and the service was very good indeed. Special note of thanks to Andrew for making us feel so relaxed and looking after us all evening.

Love the way the building has been so tastefully restored and perfect location just off city centre and short walk from the free bus service.

Now in the regular huge king marriott bed and off to sleep. Hope breakfast is as good as dinner. Very good hotel indeed so far.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryDryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights mid week. £169 per night for 1st 2 nights and £229 for 3rd night as there was a champions league game on in Manchester. These prices were room only. Lovely hotel. Every comfort. Very clean with great staff. Breakfast was an extra £17.50 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beau118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stopped at the Marriot in November with one of my friends, she was up on business!! Very nice hotel, decor was lovely in the lobby and all the way through the hotel there was lovely wooden beams!! Beds so comfy!!! Very clean!!! We ordered food to our room which was lovely!! The bar is expensive but then again most hotel bars are these days!!! It was a lovely night!!! Would stop again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Good location, close to city centre, and a character conversion that makes good use of the building's original features . Ask for a canal view, unless you really want to see Granada studio warehouses and container storage.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zim999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £61 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing