We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff, location and character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, staff, location and character”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very simply, this is a fantastic hotel in all ways....location, rooms, cleanliness, value...
Top points are valet parking and the character of the hotel. My wife and I really enjoyed it and will most definitely be back. With a bit of special individual treatment it would get 5 out of 5, perhaps next time. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTMWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    599
    231
    80
    59
See reviews for
194
789
57
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I`ve stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions, and this is why we returned. The staff are friendly,efficient and welcoming.When they say "if there is anything you require, just ask" they actually sound like they mean it. I`d read a few reports about the heating. Our room had an extra heater and the air con was on maximum ready for our arrival. The hotel has obviously listened. Minor problems with our stay; first, I should have asked for a canal view. None of the views are impressive, as the area is quite commercial, but we overlooked an old storage shed. Secondly, our room was in the "new" build and not the original refurbished area, and was the smallest room we have encountered, so this was a little disappointing. Some of the rooms are very spacious. Lastly, I didn`t check my final invoice properly, and was charged extra for two breakfast`s that should have been included in the room rate. I e-mailed my details the next day, and received an apology and a refund within hours. To end on a good note, the room service was very good and the food delicious, the quality and choice at the self serve breakfast was some of the best I`ve had the pleasure to face. When we stay in Manchester again, I am certain this will be the hotel of our choice.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room closer to the lifts, then you won`t end up in the "new" build, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenP1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Warm welcome and helpful staff. Valet parked the car behind the main building. Room was spacious, clean and warm. Breakfast was Ok. All in all the V&A was fine, a handy location and a safe bet. Only glitch was the last guest's hairy brush left on the dressing table, yuck.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premierneige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

What a lovely looking place. Excellent conversion with many original features. I did stay there in a cold week but, whereas the public areas and corridors were warm, my room was perishing. The draught from the window area and the exposed brick walls was awful, the only good news was that I spotted a plug in radiator down the corridor and dragged it into my room. Conference facilities were very nice. Smashing breakfast. Evening food very pricey for what it was but the bar area was comfy and laid back. Parts were five star but the chilly room was definitely no star!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the outside walls... Probably warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Great Britain
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The converted warehouses that form the hotel have been extensively and expensively transformed into a building that offers modern comforts in a historic setting. My check in was swift, and my car valet parked; guests are not able to park their own cars, which may be a problem if many separate car journeys are made during a stay. For such guests, outside car parking for about 15 cars is available at the front of the hotel.

Rooms are spacious and well furnished; my only criticism would be the low level of lighting that was available. A small bedside table light on one side of the double bed was all that could be used to read in bed; this was disappointing.

Breakfast was the usual buffet, of a high standard. In the evening I had the Promotional menu, which consisted of 3 courses plus a glass of wine (or in my case a glass of orange juice) for £20; 2 courses cost £15. There were 3 choices per course.

The Victoria and Albert is a15 minute walk to the Arndale Centre, and faces the River Irwell.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here with my other half for a night to celebrate my birthday. The Room (a bit small compared with many others i have stayed at) was cosy and well furnished. The bathroom was bright and clean and we had a tv to watch. In room Tea/coffee facilities - we only got two coffee sachets each which I thought was a bit stingy. The Bed was incredibly comfy , However I did not get much sleep due to noise. We went out into manchester city centre then returned later stopping at the nice bar/lounge downstairs. Then went to bed quietly at about 1.30am then from about 3 am there was lots of banging and again at 5 til 6 it was not good. I assumed this was other guests returning and being noisy as every room door which closed or wardrobe closing could be heard, It Is not very soundproof.The Breakfast was nice and we got a good view of the river while we ate. However the coffee pot we got only had enough for one small cup each. On arrival at reception I was told that the room I had paid for did not include breakfast , then I showed my printed receipt and she checked again and said sorry my mistake it is on there. This also happened on checkout when the £ 50 incidentals they had took at check in was going to be refunded less the breakfast. I then had to point out once again that our Breakfast was included in the rate. I dont think marriott call any of their rooms standard our room was deluxe but i dont think it was particularly deluxe. All the staff who served us in the bar and at breakfast etc were pleasant. If they had a refurb to soundproof all the rooms then i would probably return as its not a bad hotel its just too noisy and for what i paid for the room It ruined the experience. I didnt really wanted to give it 3 stars but i thought 4 was too much and if there was a 3.5 option I would have chose this.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there is one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed for one night between Christmas and New Year using free reward points. Have stayed before and happy to see that the good standard continues. The hotel is converted from old warehouses and this gives it character.
Our room was large and overlooked the river. Staff are nice and the bar serves a particularly good and reasonably priced vodka martini.
Marriott beds have got to be the most comfortable of any of the chains. Looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is made up of two connected warehouses and the one furthest down the corridors from recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faddywaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,958 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing