We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a work conference - excellent staff, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, characterful rooms with low beams and exposed brickwork, great breakfast and dining room... the list of positives goes on. The rooms were really lovely and charming although the low ceilings made having a shower a slight challenge (and I'm only 5 ft 6)! Not perfect - the room was a bit draughty and noise insulation not good - could hear next door's TV and hairdryer; I sleep with ear plugs at night so can't comment on any noise at night - but all in all a lovely hotel which I'd heartily recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    579
    214
    76
    57
See reviews for
186
752
57
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a surprise ro find this little gem....previously we have stayed at Radisson in the city centre nd been very disappointed.... Not so here! Great staff, very attentive, rooms full of character a great place to stay x

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed her with family for a weekend break. Numerous positives : Level of Customer service was second to none. Hotel is smaller than most giving a "family feel", Hotel has been symatheically renovated with exposed brickwork, timber ceilings & iron work exposed to offer a glimpse of the hotels previous life. Bar area is spacious with river views. Large good quality beds allow for a decent nights sleep. Hotel being approx 5 minutes walk to the shopping areas. All in all excellent.

Room Tip: 1) Ask for a room facing the river, you get a decent view & avoid any road noise. 2) Hotel is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here again due to a work function end of November. We got a much better room than during our previous stay and I did manage to get to sleep this time in the really comfy bed. I was awakened very very early hours by the sound of traffic reversing outside and then other guests one by one waking and flushing lavatories, closing wardrobe doors and room doors which can be annoying.
On the whole the hotel areas ie the function rooms, bar and the breakfast area are welcoming and the whole hotel is decorated nicely, the only problem is the lack of soundproofing and for me a 4 star hotel should really have an onsite pool and leisure facilities. I know you can use the Bannatynes in Manchester but its not exactly next door.
Again i wish their was a 3.5 I could use as 3 seems a bit low but 4 seems too high.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business meeting followed by a meal in restaurant and overnight. Excellent service and staff, really good location just 5 mins walk from the city centre. Good price. I've stayed in a number of Manchester city centre hotels and this is the best by far. Would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uinted Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here for one night after a night out in Manchester. The building is quite interesting, a converted warehouse and our room was a bit more characterful than some hotels. The staff were fine and we had a good night's sleep.
It is a short walk from the centre but this does mean you are not in the noisy main area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I wanted somewhere a bit special to take my wife for a meal on her seventieth birthday. I booked a table and mentioned the occasion.

On arrival we had a drink in the lounge bar with the head waiter wishing my wife a happy birthday, on being shown to our table there was a birthday card from all the staff wishing her a happy birthday. We had an excellent meal and the final touch was her dessert which came with three lit candles and happy birthday piped in chocolate on the plate.

These little touches made it a very memorable night. We had a nice table overlooking the river, all the staff were extremely friendly and made a good night great. We shall certainly recommend the V&A to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterM3039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing