We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Good quiet location 5 mins walk from main shopping areas of Selfridges, Arndale etc. 20 min walk to piccadilly station. Spacious rooms, very quaint style as converted mill. Breakfast excellent choice. Staff were very pleasant and eager to help. Was recommended by friends and I will do the same - excellent choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

This should be a great hotel. on a quite street next to the river.. everything when staying in a hotel can be great but if you have rubbish beds dont expect a good review. our room 222 we were up all night and ended up leaving early. a park bench would of been more nicer.also the bathroom was dirty in particular the bath,, you dont want to think who stayed there the night before. and i also second the point about wifi, it isnt a luxury anymore,. you can get it anywhere for free. asda/tesco/mcdonalds/costa all do wifi for FREE

Room Tip: its £35 on checkinn to upgrade this may get you a better bed and some sleep
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iisneddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

A great lobby and valet parking dont make a great hotel. The room was too noisy and the bathroom was quite shabby.

At the rate being charged this is unacceptable.

Also, my biggest hotel hate! £16 for wifi for 24 hrs. I can get free wifi at McDonald's for the price of a coffee but not in a £130 a night hotel. Shame on you Marriott.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Overall Excellent stay at this Marriott.

Despite the mixed reviews I gave it a try.

Its an old building but absolutely beautiful and clean.
Extremely helpful and friendly staff throughout.

Room was an executive suite, although quite small for a suite it was clean, warm and QUIET.
Bed was the best I have slept in for a loong time!
Internet fast and easy.
There were some review of a low ceiling, well its low but unless you are over 2.5 meters tall you will be ok and it actually has a charm to it, beams running across..

Lobby Bar/Lounge is huge and cozy mixed types of seating from bar chairs to sofas.

The Area is what it is, its downtown Manchester, 2minute walk to middle of Deansgate..Bars and restaurant all over the place, shopping and groceries all within a few minutes walk.

Top notch Hotel in great location!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stebbimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I came here for a business course. I was very impressed with the food. In the first break we were served a bagel buffet which included bagels, cream cheese, smoked salmon, pastrami. Lunch we were seated in the main dining room and had a lovely view of the cannal outside and boats going past. I had the club sandwhich and profitaroles. Everyone enjoyed their food. Later in the final break we were served fruit, brownies and shots of smoothies.

The toilets really need updating, they still have pull handles! The would not flush properly which for the hotel is poor. The actual room the course was held in could not keep to a tepid tempreture. It was either hot or cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank natstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very poor value for money. I would have expected more from a Marriot. The toilet flush didn't work. The room was incredibly noisy due to a machine noise going off at 5am.
The food in the hotel was a rip off - 35 quid for breakfast and the lunch was very expensive at 35 quid for two meals.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel was originally two warehouses on the canal. Original features have been maintained - red brick walls, wooden beamed ceilings and pillars featured in our bedroom made it an original experience. The hotel rooms are impeccably furnished and decorated with comfortable beds, first class quality linen and plenty of pillows. The breakfast on the enclosed balcony on the hotel was excellent while we watched rowing teams burning calories on the canal. The hotel reception staff were delightful and couldn't have been more helpful. We took up the free membership of the Bannatynes health club - also worth a visit - a pool in the basement of an early 20th century building next to the opera house with original features and an art deco glass roof. All walking distance from Manchester City Centre. Great place to stay and relax. Recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 119 in Manchester
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £78 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing