We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Had afternoon cream tea for a birthday treat at a cost of £60 for two. Very disappointing tiny cakes and finger sandwiches definitely wouldn't recommend to anybody for what we paid, came away feeling ripped off and still hungry, even had to ask for the champagne which was included in the price.
This is meant to be four star hotel and visually surroundings are good but the high teas don't reflect this, massive room for improvement.
Do not choose this on red letter day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustysnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    592
    227
    79
    59
See reviews for
191
776
57
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I arrived at the hotel 3 hours or so before check in. The concierge came to assist me, and I explained that I had never been to Manchester before and was here to explore for the day by myself while my boyfriend attended a work event. He was SO helpful, gave me a map, explained what was in all the different areas and suggested places that I might like to visit. Without his help I don't think I would have managed to see as much as I did!

The hotel is beautiful and stylish. The rooms are small but cosy, I loved the wooden ceilings! I would like to stay here again next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa8232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

I am not a fan of the Marriott chain but stay in them on business. I find the uniformity and the bland beige walls, red carpets, faux library bookcases to be depressing.

This marriot is in a great building but the character has been distilled out in an attempt to Marriott it. Frankly I don't know why Marriott just didn't buy a modern box hotel which suits their characterless design principles

Anyway on the plus side . It's a Marriott. Clean comfortable well maintained well equipped. Downsides. The Marriott white tiled bathroom with the musty damp smelling shower curtain and measly toiletries. Which is the usual for a Marriott.

Main rip off is the £15 a night charge for Internet access. Incredible in 2013 where most hotels have free wifi. However Deans gate is a five mins walk away and has Starbucks Nero etc where wifi is free for the price of a coffee.

There are better located and value hotels in Manchester at this star rating if you look on the web And remember that £15 a night additional charge in the Marriott for the wifi

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Never had any problems here. I think parts of the building are the remains of a canal-side mill. Great that it’s kept some of the character. The check-in staff are always friendly and helpful. Every time I’ve stayed I always get asked if I’d like to upgrade for £35. Apparently that gets you 24 hour internet access and a breakfast (never tried breakfast here). My room was on the first floor overlooking the canal. Spotless and spacious room with an extremely comfortable bed. I’ve never yet had a bad room here, but I do think it’s a little pricey compared to other hotels of a similar standard in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Good quiet location 5 mins walk from main shopping areas of Selfridges, Arndale etc. 20 min walk to piccadilly station. Spacious rooms, very quaint style as converted mill. Breakfast excellent choice. Staff were very pleasant and eager to help. Was recommended by friends and I will do the same - excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This should be a great hotel. on a quite street next to the river.. everything when staying in a hotel can be great but if you have rubbish beds dont expect a good review. our room 222 we were up all night and ended up leaving early. a park bench would of been more nicer.also the bathroom was dirty in particular the bath,, you dont want to think who stayed there the night before. and i also second the point about wifi, it isnt a luxury anymore,. you can get it anywhere for free. asda/tesco/mcdonalds/costa all do wifi for FREE

Room Tip: its £35 on checkinn to upgrade this may get you a better bed and some sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iisneddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

A great lobby and valet parking dont make a great hotel. The room was too noisy and the bathroom was quite shabby.

At the rate being charged this is unacceptable.

Also, my biggest hotel hate! £16 for wifi for 24 hrs. I can get free wifi at McDonald's for the price of a coffee but not in a £130 a night hotel. Shame on you Marriott.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,874 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing