We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

As a Marriott Member and having been a guest here with my wife and friends many times over 20 years I expected a better room. (Paid £159 !!!) for a small room (no mini bar but didn't want one - the cupboard was an empty void) especially as the hotel was nowhere near full. Woke and opened the curtains to find a painter's face looking in at me who was standing on the scaffolding (we were on the 4th floor), could have been embarrassing. Breakfast average. One of only 2 slow lifts was not working.
Staff excellent, location to centre of Manchester and Opera House Theatre excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    572
    213
    75
    56
See reviews for
183
735
55
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I have been down Deansgate that side of Manchester before and never come across this hotel until I booked it through a 3rd party website and realised where it was. The hotel is a old warehouse converted into a lovely hotel. The reception is realy classy yet with a modern twist and our room 325 was lovely it was a deluxe room and it was definatly well worth the rate we paid. It was my birthday too so they left a birthday card in the room for me, which I thought was a lovely little gesture. The room had a kingsize bed and a sofa and a chair so it was really big. There was one thing that I didnt like which the hotel couldnt help but the ceilings are really really low. Im 6ft 2 tall and I couldnt have a shower without having to bend my head. Would stay there again happily

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidd1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Manchester Marriott in many ways differs from your typical hotel of this chain. It is located in a repurposed mid-19th century warehouse. This gives it a special charm, which I always like. E.g. the wooden beams supporting the structure are visible in the ceiling of many public spaces. Also, the hotel restaurant (for breakfast and other meals) is much cosier than you typically expect in a Marriott. The down-side of this is the ceilings are somewhat low. Nevertheless, the interior of the room was otherwise what you expect from this hotel group.
The hotel is located within walking distance from the technology museum.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Free Wifi use in the public areas, but for a fee only in guestrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We know manchester so like to avoid the hotels right in the centre. This hotel is in a great location, quietly away from the hustle. It is next to Spinningfields, which has a range of restaurants and bars. You can pick the free metro shuttle bus up here too. It is also next to Mosi and just a short walk from Deansgate. The hotel itself was really nice, very polite and helpful staff. Easy check in and valet parking of our car. Car parking is £16 per overnight stay, but you can go beyond the 24 hours. Breakfast seemed quite pricey so we went to Spinningfields instead. Rooms were clean and well presented, ours was quite large in comparison to some that we peaked in. I would definitely stay here again. We booked through the Priceline bidding website and got a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeeinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel has got to be one of the best. It was an old warehouse and many of the features of that have been left. The room was lovely spacious clean, bed was comfy. The food was good and breakfast was one of the best we have had. Would stay again wasn't cheap but it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Recently stayed on a Friday night. Lovely hotel, reception staff courteous and welcoming, concierge friendly and helpful and room spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great location being near to many bars and a short walk to deansgate. Breakfast was excellent with staff being very attentive. A minor complaint was dealt with very well with their customer services being excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmyHLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Having tried numerous hotels in manchester over the years, this is the best.
excellent value, the staff are polite and courtious and cannot do enough for you.
interior decor is spot on and the original features in the rooms with exposed brick work are fantastic.
its just far away from the crowds but near enough to the clubs bars and entertainments.
Breakfast is of a high standard and personal requests can be catered for.
valet parking is secure
highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krusty_spritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields area, and Palace Theatre. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Superbreak UK, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing