We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No swimming pool on site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just a but misleading when you walk down to Reception in your swimming costume and a towel wrapped around you to be told that the 'pool is down the road'.
Apart from that excellent hotel, 2 double beds on our room, air con thankfully worked on the hottest day of the year! Yes there were scaffolders outside but they have a job to do and I was up early for breakfast when they started.
Helpful, cheery staff, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast staff were extremely busy but coped.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank HelenBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Ms. Barker,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in Manchester.
I am delighted that overall you loved the hotel and particularly pleased that you felt that the staff were cheery, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Apologies, if it wasnt made clear at the booking stage that whilst we do have excellent leisure facilities these are not onsite, they are a couple of hundred metres away at the fabulously equipped Bannatynes.
Thank you again for your kind words, we very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I travel to Manchester regularly and was booked into the Marriott V & A by my PA. I definitely will not being returning, nor will I advise colleagues to stay there. On arrival I was given a room with scaffolding at the window and workmen 'banging and crashing' outside. I complained and was re-roomed to the other side of the hotel to an alleged 'executive' room. On a day when the outside temperature was 32 degrees, the room did not have a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, or even bottled water. Ice for the ice-bucket was impossible to obtain. The breakfast was indifferent (cold eggs, under-cooked tomatoes), the waiting staff unhelpful, (when I asked for a slice of toast I was told, " . . . oh you have to make it yourself love. The machines over there . . "). The décor in the dining area was shabby. The Reception / Concierge staff had little local knowledge when asked simple questions about the location of a large local business. Overall, not a good experience for a one-night price of £100 !

Room Tip: Frankly, I would look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidG472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear DavidG472013,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with some feedback following your stay with us last month.
I am so sorry to hear that your experiences were memorable for all the wrong reasons. We pride ourselves particularly on our team's hospitality and warmth so its disappointing to hear that they demonstrated little knowledge of the local area and that the service at breakfast was indifferent.
Please feel free to contact me directly, so we can discuss these comments in more detail and investigate your experience fully.
Yours sincerely,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

i am a Retired Conference and Events Manager and know a great deal about Hotels and Service, I Know this property very well and which ever company as operated it, as always produced the very best in Hospitality Service, During my stay on Friday 27th July, I Received 5 star service from the moment i stepped out of the car, to be greeted by Babychen who is in my opinion just the best Concierge Person you could wish to have, very polite and is very helpful and always with a smile, on check in was swift and quick by Donna, who seems to have been at that hotel for ever, The room as always are Luxurious as you would expect with the Marriott sleep well package, just wish i could afford to have the same bedding and pillows at home, Food and Service in the Bar was second to none as usual by Kevin, he always found at least a minute to chat at the bar, Breakfast the following morning was absolutely fantastic, service by Acter was first class, i mentioned in passing that i was about to have a long drive to Edinburgh, where by they offered me a coffee to go, which was a great finishing touch to what was a great stay, Many Thanks to all, just wish i could have stayed longer, Best Hotel in Manchester, Keep up the good work

Room Tip: I Got room 234 which was a suite, a bit of luck i think, but all rooms at this property are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imccaffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for just one night a couple of weekends ago. The booking was direct through Marriott and we recieved a good deal with full breakfast included.
Check in was very good and quick. The lady on reception was pleasant and efficient.
The hotel is a restored warehouse and retains many original features including natural wood cielings and beams.
Overall a very nice place to stay.
We had a first floor one bed Suite which was spacious and clean with a lovely comfortable king bed. However I think judging by our suite, room refurbishment is urgently needed.
Location is good with the ITV studios across the road from the hotel.
All the staff were helpfull and friendly and we woud stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingDutchman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Although having a little freshening up of this ancient canal-side warehouse, lavishly and lovingly restored hotel (such as paint and caulk), we found it with modern amenities, yet well preserved original beams and heavy steel girders. I loved the ceilings in the bedrooms, with natural wood beams, and planking above. This Marriott has some of the friendliest and knowledgeable staff we have encountered. Very good breakfast, excellent meats and eggs. High quality coffee. I liked everything about this Marriott, including the excellent location for walking to museums, library, shopping/movies and clubs. Many fine restaurant choices within a mile. Good access to Manchester's free downtown shuttle, don't need to eat at the Hotel beyond the breakfast meal. Thank you Victoria and Albert.

Room Tip: The brick walls are very thick, windows well sealed, so noise was not a problem, we slept very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here many years ago on business when it was simply the Victoria and Albert and had all the nostalgia of rooms named after Granada TV shows. All that's gone and what's left is standard Marriott fare - good but not outstanding. It's a pleasant enough place to stay and close enough to Deansgate to be ok for all that central Manchester has to offer.
The trouble is it falls between upscale - wouldn't stay here for a special occasion; but then is almost too expensive to be economical for a weekend night with theatre. That said we stayed there because it was the cheapest amongst the better hotels.
So what was wrong with room 431 - well it seems to have the water tanks running close by because for a large part of the night there was the constant sound of running water - could well have been the whole night because eventually after a sleepless few hours I eventually fell asleep.
Add to the fact that the 2nd room we booked for our party hadn't been fully emptied by housekeeping and it took us three attempts to get reception to confirm it had been cleared and we were left underwhelmed.
For preference if price was closer we would always choose the Abode or Malmaison.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Located in an old factory - and retaining some of those design features- the Marriott Victoria & Albert is probably one of my hotels in the entire chain. The staff is super friendly and helpful, and you're within walking distance of great shopping and attractions. Cabs are not always plentiful, but the concierge will waste no time arranging one for you.

I've stayed at this property twice now and have no desire to stay anywhere else in Manchester. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,797 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing