We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #25 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is the first review I have ever written, but feel so upset that I felt I ought to alert future visitors of the level of service they might encounter at his hotel.

My wife & I booked a night in this hotel as we were going to a concert in Manchester. We were attracted to a "feel good Friday" deal which offered a stay on a Friday night including a pizza and a bottle of wine in your room and breakfast the next day for just £99. This was more than we would usually pay but as it was a special occasion we decided to go for what we thought was a quality hotel.

Our problems started at check in which was conducted in a cold and unhelpful manner. We were told if we wanted our pizza & wine in our room there was now an extra charge, but this wouldn't be the case it we had it in the restaurant. So we went to the restaurant which was less than half full, but were shooed out into the bar as "the restaurant is full". We asked two members of staff if we could have our "pizza and wine" but neither seemed to know what we were talking about. One told us to sit down and they would ask a supervisor. Some time later she returned to us holding a half bottle of wine in each hand asking if we wanted red or white. A bit taken aback we said red. We were left for a while, until the "supervisor" appeared and said there wasn't a menu so what did we want in our pizza. Again taken aback, my wife asked for ham and mushroom and I said tuna and peppers. The supervisor then told us we only got one pizza - we would have to share it between us. My wife asked if we could have all the ingredients on the one pizza and was told yes. I asked if we were getting just a half bottle of wine but was told that the wines we had been shown were a mistake and we would get a full bottle. This was delivered but was totally different to the half bottle we had been shown earlier. What was even more worrying was that it had been opened before being brought to us and the cork was not brought with it. I was quite concerned by this, but no wanting to cause a scene I let it go. We waited about another quarter of an hour then the supervisor returned to tell us that the chef had used all the peppers in his pasta and anyway he didn't think it was appropriate to use them in pizzas. So we changed the order from peppers to onion. Some time later the pizza eventually appeared, but by then we were so upset that it was not the enjoyable experience we had been so looking forward to.

We then went up to our room which was not what we had been promised. The "feel good Friday" package guaranteed a king sized or two double beds, but our room only had a double bed - indeed it would have been impossible to fit 2 beds into the room as it was so small. The promised bath robes were not in the room and the bath was covered in dirty scratches.

We decided to just write off the experience and were able to enjoy our visit to Manchester and our concert.

However when we checked out came the final insult The gentleman at reception asked the usual question about whether we had enjoyed our stay and I replied that it had been disappointing He replied with such sincerity that I should tell him about it that I briefly hold him what had gone wrong. Unfortunately his only response was to say if I had issues, then they should be addressed in the customer satisfaction email the company would send me. I guess I should have made more of an issue of it, but frankly I just wanted to get out of the place and there was a queue behind us due to the lack of staff on reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cm6twl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear cm6twl,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete an online review following your recent stay at our hotel.
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing and that there were a number of things which were not as you would have expected. I have discussed these comments in detail with the relevant teams and they will in turn work to ensure that we ensure that we learn from these things and look to maintain the standards for which we are generally regarded.
Thank you again for bringing these comments to our attention.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    594
    228
    79
    59
See reviews for
191
777
57
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and had included in the price 9 days parking for our car and private transfers to and from manchester airport we found the hotel to be very good value our room was spacious and pleasantly decorated the transfer to the airport was very easy and on our return we were collected promptly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Alinas6,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review following your recent stay with us here at the Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, here in the heart of Manchester.
Delighted to hear that you found our location and facilities ideal as a transfer hotel for when you are away on business or pleasure and using Manchester Airport and that you felt that the package was excellent value and that your car was ready promptly for collection when you returned.
We very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just spend a night at the Victoria and Albert. I must say I was pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was considering it was a Marriott chain.It is a converted warehouse so has some real character. Room was a good size with excellent King bed, as usual I sleep better in a Marriott beds than I do at home !!

The bar area is really nice and the bar staff very friendly. Sunday breakfast was a calm ordered affair, which is not always the case in busy hotels at weekends

I stay in lots of hotels on business and felt this deserved the 4* rating.

I stayed using my Marriott points and received a complementary breakfast as I am a Platinum member.

Would highly recommend if you want a hotel close to the hustle and bustle of Castlefield in a quiet waterside location

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarringtonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Warrington Traveller,
Delighted to hear that you loved the converted warehouse look of our hotel, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert - certainly is a unique hotel. It was originally 2 warehouses from the mid 1800's - one called Victoria and one called Albert, over the next century they housed many different and varied items from the textile era and industrial revolution before they were lovingly converted into a hotel.
You are quite correct that we are situated just on the edge of the hustle and bustle of Castlefield and close to Manchester's premier business and leisure district - Spinningfields, yet our waterside location is a tranquil and peaceful haven.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide such lovely feedback and we very much look foward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst attending a conference at Old Trafford.

The Victoria & Albert is well worth commenting on.
I would say that the hotel offers that option between private hotel and larger corporate choice.
The staff were friendly and eager to help.

The decor and surroundings are pleasing and help for a relaxing stay. WiFi is free in reception and there are plenty of places to sit and relax.

My room was clean and had all the usual things you need - ironing board, iron, tea and coffee etc. The air con actually worked too!

Valet parking due to lack of space so be prepared to pay a little.

Only had breakfast which was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danziger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear DanzigerII,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, here in the heart of Manchester.
Delighted to hear that you felt the hotel was an ideal place either for business or pleasure.
We very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break on their two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night. On arrival the reception was friendly and efficient and the staff attitudes continued throughout our stay. Even though we arrived early, we were quickly allocated a third floor room overlooking the river. The hotel is in a converted wharehouse so the ceilings seem a little low and there are still the iron roof supports all down the corridor and also one in our room. However the design of the room was pleasing, the iron column a feature and the room nicely decorated, well furnished and comfortable. Dinner on the first night - three courses from the standard menu but you pay extra for premium dishes - was good but we did find it strange that we had to pay extra for vegetables with the main course.
The hotel is very well placed for all the central Manchester attractions - especially the Opera House and Science and Industry Museum. A good hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear James M,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, here in the heart of Manchester.
I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be friendly and efficient and our location ideal for the museums and theatre district.
We very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Manchester and our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This has been my stop over hotel before heading back home. Nice hotel with an earthy feel, not typical of the chain feel.

Good bar/restaurant with a decent menu selection.

Rooms are cozy, bathrooms could use a bit of tidying up.

Staff was very helpful and prompt with requests.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear kleedaddy,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide the online community with a review following your recent stay with us here at the Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, located on the banks of the River Irwell in the heart of Manchester.
You are quite correct, we have all the pluses of being part of the Marriott hotel chain with their fabulously comfortable beds - for which they are rightly renonwned and yet unique enough to feel more like a boutique hotel, with locally sourced and produce and menus.
Its great to hear that you found the staff very helpful and attentive throughout your stay.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon when next in the UK.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed 1 night sunday 13th oct, paid £69 bb, checked in staight away hotel staff very helpfull and pleasent. Room had king size bed very comfy and clean.
Had late night food which was good but just not a big choice as the ovens had been tured off but it was 10.30pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Rachel T,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, here in the heart of Manchester.
Its lovely to hear that you found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant and loved your room with its king size bed and found it to be excellent value for money.
We very much hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind words.
Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing