We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a want to be 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Staff are great the old part is not for the modern traveler who wants to have his mobile or laptop plugged in near the bed and the shower room is so small you have to shave side ways.
The modern part is good although the plumbing is poor with cold water and little pressure most of the time.
The breakfast is poor although the service is quick, in the evening the meals are very good although almost every night two meals will of sold out !
A new general manager has started and he seems to want to put things right, I will stay there again as after 3 weeks on and off I got to know everyone and felt welcomed every time I booked in. Try to get rooms 120 to 150 they seem to be the best

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etheringtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed at the Victoria and Albert Marriott hotel for one night last Sunday (15th December) whilst on an overnight shopping trip to Manchester. Arrived early at the hotel from the train to see if we could leave our cases there whilst we went out shopping, receptionist was very friendly and checked to see if our room was available, which it was, so we went up and left the cases there. The room was gorgeous!! two three quarter beds with beautiful bedding and four lovely feather pillows each, loads of room, a lovely wooden beamed ceiling and nice decoration, and a beautiful clean, bright bathroom. The reception area was lovely, with a huge decorated Christmas tree and very comfortable furniture scattered around, very warm and a good atmosphere. We had a drink in the bar that evening, which was very friendly and laid back and the staff were very nice indeed. All in all, a lovely warm, comfortable experience. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as it was very pricey and we don't eat much, so can't comment on the food. There was an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe as well as a safe, tea and coffe making facilities and nice toiletries.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stivvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Had our Christmas party here last week and the food and service were terrible.

We had a drinks reception at 7.00 and were kept standing around until 8.30. Didnt get any food for ages and then the soup was cold and horrible. The mains and sweet were no better. Veg was raw, chicken bland and boring, veg option soggy and disgusting looking. Didnt even get the mince pies we should have got with coffee. Staff were rude and didnt know what they were doing. Far few staff for number of people and way too many people for the room - frankly a fire hazard.

Tiny bar with rude staff. All in all a disgrace to Marriotts.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank km2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband & I stayed here for one night this Sunday on a special deal I found through Marriot Rewards. It was the first time we had stayed here but had been recommended by our son who has stayed here on numerous occasions. He told us it was his & his wifes favourite hotel. Well it is ours now as well. The staff were so helpfull , the room was lovely & very clean. The only down side was there was no mini bar in the room just an empty cupboard where the fridge should have been. We had a snack in our room & breakfast the next morning & the food was very good. The location of the hotel was great as we like the side of the city where it is. We could easily walk to deansgate & Springfield & plenty of bars & restaurants. We would certainly stay here again especially if we could get a good deal again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I work at Media City from time to time and prefer this hotel to staying there. Service was quick at check-in, and is clean and airy with an atrium-style reception. Newspapers and wake up calls are offered, but there is a wake-up option on the in-room television and The Times and The Independent are available most of the day in reception and in the breakfast areas. The hotel is a converted warehouse, with stylish wooden beam ceilings. I was given a king size bedroom on the 2nd floor, with plenty of space, and a good size bathroom. The beds there are great for a good night's sleep - some of the best of any hotels I have visited. The only downside is that weekends often involve functions (weddings, anniversaries, business functions, etc) in the function rooms on the ground floor which can generate noise until about 1am.

The breakfast is exceptional - it is a buffet with full English, continental, fresh sliced fruit, yoghurt, pastries, toast machine, ham and cheese, etc. They also offer poached eggs, Eggs Benedict and other dishes. The best tables are up by the window overlooking the River Irwell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited Manchester for the Christmas markets and the hotel was in a great location within walking distance to all of the areas we wanted to visit.
Staff were very friendly and professional and service was excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
We ordered room service and the food was really nice and reasonably priced.
I would recommend and visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

we stayed here last weekend for my mums birthday, beautiful reception area to greet you with lots of Christmas decorations and very friendly staff. the rooms were lovely we had 4 and each one different in a unique way. the bed was so comfy and the room very clean. we were on the Sunday evening special and for the money we got breakfast and a three course evening meal, which was lovely and plenty of it. we all really enjoyed our stay and its a definite that we will certainly stay there again. great location too.

Room Tip: room 443 good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosh0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £63 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing