We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff lovely eager to please. Rooms in need of update!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary (of being together) and overall we enjoyed our stay.
We arrived early so our room wasn't ready but the reception staff were friendly and warm and directed us to the concierge where we could leave our bags and explore the city. The concierge (I can't remember his name but his badge said he was from India) was really friendly and helpful, providing us with a city map.

CHECK IN/ ROOM
We returned and was checked in my the lovely reception staff. Our room was a junior suite and had a lovely big bed and a separate sitting room. The original beams of the building were a nice touch. Certain areas were in need of modernising and the sofa had marks and stains which were off putting. The bathroom had a worrying noise coming from it which was quite loud. It wasn't a massive issue but after the maintenance guy took a look we were offered a different room, which turned out to be an upgrade! The same member of staff that checked us in took us to the room and couldn't apologise enough. She said that because it was a special occasion her manager had agreed to upgrade us. We really appreciated this as we wanted to try this room type. It was a duplex suite with an upstairs bedroom and toilet and a downstairs living room and bathroom. The room was stylish but if i had paid full whack would have been slightly disappointing (only 1 tv remote for 2 tv's, upstairs shower was old and didn't work, no dressing gowns, thin walls). Plus, in both rooms there were no mini bar and a very sparse tea/coffee selection.

FOOD
We ordered room service which we was really pleased with. Good quality, tasty and good value (3 courses £20 each + £3 tray charge).
Breakfast- Seemed very disorganised but don't know if that's because it was new years day. Buffet style breakfast. Bread was stale and there were a lot of people so things run out quickly but the hot breakfast and fruit selection was lovely. Another picky note, took a very long time for our hot drink order to be taken and we didn't receive any milk or sugar.

LOCATION
Good location on the canal. About 15-20 minute to main shopping area.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly although a little disorganised in places. Rooms need updating in areas but the lobby was very modern and welcoming. Thanks for sorting out our first room issue! This was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

How can the kitchen run out of gnocchi so early in the evening when the receptionist said they only had twenty rooms occupied?

The only thing on the room service menu that sounds tasty. Obviously the other nineteen guests think the same.......

I dread to think how the kitchen copes with a. Normal level of hotel occupancy!!


  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a wonderful night at this NYE masquerade ball, all the hotel staff did a tremendous job and were always very helpful and accomadating, food was good, entertainment excellent, could'nt fault it. My wife and I went with friends and joined 2 other couples on the table, everyone had a great time. Lets hope we can get there again this year (2014).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We decided to go again after spending NYE there 4 years ago & wondered if it could be as good. In all honesty it was even better but that could have been the company. As a couple we were put on a table with 4 other couples& it was great fun from start to finish! The food was pretty good, just minor gripe from other couples that they were supposed to pre order veggie option .. Not mentioned on booking details, so they waited ages & it was also disappointing . However we had smoked salmon & it was good. The service was excellent, band really good & dance floor full ALL night . Our room was usual Marriott standard,couldn't fault it. Breakfast was excellent, I requested eggs Benedict (as seen on TA review) and it was no trouble at all . Not much in way of muesli that day but I made up for it with fruit, yoghurt & gorgeous wholemeal croissant. Would we go again? Resounding yes! Great to see everyone dressed up too, even those of us who didn't wear masquerade masks

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JanB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just return home having share a wonderful NYE - Masquerade Ball with friends, a warm welcome at reception from staff who were eager to please, our room (226) which over looked the canal was spacious with nice decor, excellent. we met at 7.30 for pre drinks before being shown to our table for the evening festivities, the meal was excellent and beautifully presented with the staff being very friendly, attentive and eager to please throughout the night, we were entertained all evening with a DJ interspersed with a live group, both providing good mix of music. carriages were at 1.00 with bacon butties for those still feeling peckish, drinks were still availble in residents bar at least until we fell out of it at around 2.30ish. excellent full english breakfast or something lighter was served in the restaurant and available from 8.00 - 12.00, perfect timings considering the previous evening festivities. Congratulations to all the staff of M-V&A for making our evening and stay a most memorable one - Happy New Year

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here weekend before Christmas (22 Dec) with my husband and teenage daughter.
I found a great £79 deal, a bed breakfast package that included breakfast for the 3 of us and a sharing slate of cheese and wine in the room.
The rooms are enormous and have exposed original brickwork and ceiling beams. Usual Marriott comfort with huge feather mattress toppers and pillow menus. Also had a very nice bathroom and a large seating area
We requested our Albert Slate but it took over an hour to arrive. A call to reception prompted the delivery of the Albert Cheese slate with two glasses of red wine and also by way of an apology for the delay, an additional complimentary Victoria champagne slate with strawberries and chocolate and two glasses of champagne.
Shortly after two further glasses of champagne arrived along with two birthday cards to celebrate my husbands belated birthday! The staff were very eager to please!!!
Breakfast was served overlooking the canal in a very pleasant restaurant.
Complimentary access offered in Banatynes gym in the town centre.
Easy access into town and secure valet parking made this hotel a great choice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed overnight recently and because I booked in advance got a twin room (with 2 double beds) for £69. The hotel is ideally placed for accessing the city centre as you can walk into the centre in around 10 minutes, or if you are visiting local attractions such as MOSI that is literally around the corner. There is parking, which we didn't use (£16 per night), but if you are arriving by train alight at Deansgate station and it's around a 7 minute walk from there. We didn't eat there - £16 for a breakfast seemed steep - but there are plenty cafes/restaurants/bakeries nearby if you fancy that instead. If you need a newsagent there are several nearby too. The room itself was spacious, with the standard desk, easy chair, iron, ironing board and - most importantly for me - a window that opened. As usual it was on a catch, but it meant that we could get fresh air in the room. The bathroom was clean and had usual facilities and was spacious enough to move around in comfortably. The shower controller button looked a bit dated, but the shower itself was powerful and hot so don't be put off by it. Everywhere was clean and we had the usual tea making facilities. There are no plug sockets next to the bed, but there are two on the wall opposite, above the desk so you could work there with your laptop if it needed to be charged up. Unlike lots of hotels, the curtains closed fully which meant that it made for a totally dark room but there was a digital clock on the TV which I covered up with the menu so I couldn't see it. The bedding was lovely, a (what I presume to be) feather quilt, as it was very light, and 4 plumptious pillows per bed. We didn't eat or drink there so can't comment on that, but it was a comfortable stay in a great location and we would definitely book again. It's not on a main road so there's not continually passing traffic which can be a bind in city hotels. A good pub to eat in which is near is The Oxnoble Manchester - you can stay there too but I've no idea what's that like. I can recommend the food though! There are also several good pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheezoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,797 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Prestigia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing