We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night and were impressed with the quality of this hotel. Every member of staff we spoke to were professional and courteous. As with all Marriott's, the staff are what makes the brand.
The rooms were well decorated and I really liked the exposed brick walls and ceiling beams. They were well furnished, however lacking a plug socket by the bed to charge my phone at night. The only real downside to the rooms was the bathroom that needed a bit of a renovation. several stains and marks all around.
The hotel is a bit of a walk from the main areas of Manchester but close to spinningfields and Deansgate if you like the nightlife and museums.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blizaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed the one night when in Manchester for weekend - arrived about 10 am not expecting to check in but thought we could leave our bag but very helpful receptionist checked and rooms were available so checked us in. Lovely big room and very clean and tidy. Not far to walk to town centre or the Bridge water Hall where we were going in the evening. Good rate for room but did not include breakfast and thought it expensive so went elsewhere. Had a fantastic evening meal in restaurant at night and reasonably priced. Would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dakes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a couple to discover Manchester.
The hotel staff were polite and the hotel is very clean and good location to town.
The hotel charges £16 a night for valet parking but we parked in the NCP open air just next to the hotel for £8 for 24 hrs.
We didn't eat here or have a drink so cannot comment on that.
Our room was on the top floor and you can here the extractor fans going so if you are a light sleeper you may want to check where your room is.
The shower/bathroom was clean, but the shower curtain was a bit moldy.
The room was very clean and comfy with lovely old beams in the roof.
The bed was a little soft for me and they had duck feather pillows (also very soft) so if you have allergies get them changed.
Would go back again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bug-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Got to be short and sweet as went for Christmas market 2 weeks ago so after all the beer don't remember much.

Great hotel, breakfast was lovely and the restaurant was nice and plush.

Got a great rate wouldn't spend too much in the room as don't think you would stay in the hotel that much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

No idea why but I assumed this was going to be another hotel let down. Probably because I always seem to luck out in hotels but anyway, this was nothing short of perfect. First impressions were brilliant, looks beautiful from outside and in. The staff are polite and seemingly always smiling so no complaints there. The room was bigger than I expected and had some of the retained character from whatever building it was before. Bed was comfortable but I found myself waking up quite often with a bit of a sweat on, the room wasn't overly warm so I can only guess there's something on the bed that stops it 'breathing' but either way, that was a minor gripe.
Restaurant was spot on, looked gorgeous and the food wasn't a let down. Top tip - Try the gnocchi, its delicious!!

All in all I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Just FYI, hotel doesn't have its own car park but there is one yards away from the front reception at a cost of £10 (if I remember correctly) for the night. The payment machine takes cards as well which is handy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chockyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a real surprise to me. I go to Manchester for nights out and stay over at least four or five times a year so don't know how we missed this hotel. A friend booked it and it was perfect, good spot, nice staff and really great room. Will be definitely visiting again with my husband.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary (of being together) and overall we enjoyed our stay.
We arrived early so our room wasn't ready but the reception staff were friendly and warm and directed us to the concierge where we could leave our bags and explore the city. The concierge (I can't remember his name but his badge said he was from India) was really friendly and helpful, providing us with a city map.

CHECK IN/ ROOM
We returned and was checked in my the lovely reception staff. Our room was a junior suite and had a lovely big bed and a separate sitting room. The original beams of the building were a nice touch. Certain areas were in need of modernising and the sofa had marks and stains which were off putting. The bathroom had a worrying noise coming from it which was quite loud. It wasn't a massive issue but after the maintenance guy took a look we were offered a different room, which turned out to be an upgrade! The same member of staff that checked us in took us to the room and couldn't apologise enough. She said that because it was a special occasion her manager had agreed to upgrade us. We really appreciated this as we wanted to try this room type. It was a duplex suite with an upstairs bedroom and toilet and a downstairs living room and bathroom. The room was stylish but if i had paid full whack would have been slightly disappointing (only 1 tv remote for 2 tv's, upstairs shower was old and didn't work, no dressing gowns, thin walls). Plus, in both rooms there were no mini bar and a very sparse tea/coffee selection.

FOOD
We ordered room service which we was really pleased with. Good quality, tasty and good value (3 courses £20 each + £3 tray charge).
Breakfast- Seemed very disorganised but don't know if that's because it was new years day. Buffet style breakfast. Bread was stale and there were a lot of people so things run out quickly but the hot breakfast and fruit selection was lovely. Another picky note, took a very long time for our hot drink order to be taken and we didn't receive any milk or sugar.

LOCATION
Good location on the canal. About 15-20 minute to main shopping area.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly although a little disorganised in places. Rooms need updating in areas but the lobby was very modern and welcoming. Thanks for sorting out our first room issue! This was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £79 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing