We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Felt at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed at the Marriot for three nights.
Once your in the room you dont think that your in a corporate hotel.
The beds are the best, lots of pillows, nice linens etc. make you sleep perfectly.
The location is also great.
Nothing to complain about the service.
Only thing is, that you have to be aware of the room you are staying in, some might be quite noisy.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luis7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    579
    214
    76
    57
See reviews for
186
752
57
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Stayed for one night at this hotel whilst attending a conference.

The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk from Deansgate, and is located on the banks of the river. The hotel appears to have been converted, very successfully, from old warehouses.

All of the staff, from check-in to restaurant, were very friendly and efficient. My room was furnished to a high standard and was very well equipped. The public areas were also of a high standard.

Breakfast was buffet service with a wide choice of freshly prepared food and excellent service.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Top class hotel , nice frontage reception etc , appears to be converted from an old red brick building on a canal , smart rooms with original wooden beams , standard bathrooms , good bar restaurant (recommend the meat pie ) , its situated next door to Granada studios , a 15 min walk to bars in Deansgate and a £7 taxi ride from Manchester station which is not ideal but that aside its a top class hotel .

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick48dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Had a weekend break at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. I would like to give you a few pointers though - first thing I would say is if you book by the Marriot Web Site and look at the 360 room tour - the room in the tour is not representative of the all the standard rooms in the hotel. For example the rooms on the 3rd floor have low doors so if you're around 6ft you more or less have to duck to get in - also the room in the tour is obviously the biggest, so you might not get allocated the same. If you get the chance, as we did, you really need a room on the 4th floor on the river side of the hotel.

Now on the second day of our stay there was a problem with the television signal and nothing was been received, plus the minbar locked out. I brought this to the attention of the desk and the response was fantasitic - this is a true reflection of the over all service in the place. We were invited down to the bar and offered complimentary drinks at the bar, whilst our bags were moved to our new room and the keys delivered as we enjoyed the drinks. Whilst I am on the subjecty of the bar - Granada studios are just across the road and number of cast members and local 'stars' used the bar whilst we were in the hotel.

The staff are so attentive in every area, an example of this is following the problem with the room the duty manager spoke to me and arranged for breakfast to be delivered to our room. I realise this review may sound a bit hot and cold - that is not the aim as this is a great hotel and the rooms, staff and service first class. You can rest assured even if you have the slightest problem it will be met with a professional and immediate response. Every area of the hotel is spotlessly clean and every staff member is attentive without being over bearing, luggage, drinks, meals and all other goods are swiftly and discreetly delivered, I really cannot speak highly enough of the staff and service. You hardly need lift a finger and if you want a relaxing time in comfotable surroundings look no further.

If you are planning to visit the restaurants and bars of Manchester - you should - then the main areas are only a short walk away head for Deansgate turn left and you are amongst a varied selection of bars and eateries. Excellent hotel, wonderful staff and great location, bar bill and parking might be a bit steep but well worth a stay, and paying that little extra.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortablle and plush decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel, from the moment you arrive and are greeted by the Concierge who park your car it is a good experience. Spacious Rooms, nice furnishings, clean and pleasant staff all add up to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We booked this hotel on the strength of it being number one in Manchester according to the reviews on here. Yet again (as with other Marriot hotels I have stayed in) I was left feeling it was nothing special and didn't justify it's number one rating. Having said that, it was still a good hotel but I am sure there are better in a big city like Manchester.

Anyway, we arrived early at 11am and the desk clerk told us it would be about a 30 minute wait for a room. Then what appeared to be a wedding party arrived and we were forgotten about. It was over an hour before we were given a room.

We were given a large room with 2 double beds on the 3rd floor, overlooking a storage yard. Whilst the room was spotlessly clean and well decorated, the small windows and low dark wood ceilings made it feel somewhat dark and depressing. The bed was very comfortable with lovely cool cotton sheets. There was a minibar and tea and coffee making facilities in the room- although only 1 pack of 2 biscuits was provided for a room capable of sleeping 4 people. The hotel advertises satellite TV but this is at an extra charge above the limted selection of digital terrestrial channels. Internet acces was a rip off at £15 for 24 hours.

The bathroom was again spotlessly clean but the ceing was VERY low. I am 5ft11, and my head was touching the ceiling when standing in the shower. Anybody over 6ft would probably find this quite inconvenient, especially as the shower head is below eye level and points at your chest! Toiletries were provided and refreshed both days of our stay.

Breakfast was generally excellent- serve yourself buffet of full cooked english breakfast, danish pastries, cereals, fruit and cold meats etc. However, on both mornings we had to wait for a table, then we had to wait for glasses to be bought for the orange juice, and wait so long for tea, coffee and toast to arrive that we had already finished our bacon and eggs!

Both nights of our stay there appeared to be wedding receptions on in the hotel. We could hear the music from the disco even on the 3rd floor. There were also children running up and down the corridors which spoilt our stay somewhat.

Overall this is a pleasant hotel but they could do witha bigger breakfast room and more staff when the hotel is full as they can't cope at teh present levels. Would I stay here again? Probably not as I am sure there are other places worth trying (eg the spectacular looking Hilton).

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, good location
  • Disliked — Poor service at breakfast, noisy wedding party.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hove-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

This is my second stay in a short period at this hotel and both were top notch. I was welcomed upon arrival and check in was effortless. The hotel has an 'old world charm, it looks like a converted granary or similar (it's next to the canal so probably unloaded into barges). It's quite unusual to get this sort of interior and such a personal touch from staff in chain hotels - Well done Marriott!

The rooms are spacious and have wood beamed ceilings and exposed brick walls - all adding to the charm. The rooms are also very quiet. Service in the restraunts is also good as was the food quality. This place is hard to fault really - I would definately recommend it.

  • Liked — Old world charm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing