We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal position for a City visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ideal position for a City visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here 12th to 13th June with friends in order to visit the ITV studios (Corrie backstage tour) and shopping.
Booked woiith Bookings.com and recieved upgrade to include parking & breakfast on arrival, very welcom!
The present road works and road closures due to ITV's World Cup extravaganza do cause a little difficulty in finding the place but you just need to follow the diversion signs all the way.
The hotel is in the best position for everything as the studios are 2 minutes walk and Deansgate and the Arndale centre are also just minutes away therefore we had our car parked at a very reasonable rate and forgot about it until we checked out.
Impressive hotel in converted warehouse with many original features retained which added to the charm of the Hotel.
We had a very comfortable spacious room with excellent facilities.
We also caused a little problem when we checked in and wanted to use a debit card but I must admit it was sorted out straight away and we were allowed to charge food etc to our room after a phone call from the restaurant to the reception.
There was also a wedding on at the time of our arrival on Friday but this did not cause any problems apart from the restaurant being empty except from the 4 of us and 1 other couple, however the service was a little slow considering the amount of customers but the waitress was very pleasant and we all agreed the food was very good , we had the lamb, good portion size and very tasty. Starters and deserts all were very good too.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of the usual cold and excellent cooked choices.
We found all of the staff to be very helpful and could not do enough especially the Concierge who at 5 pm on Saturday painstakingly tried to get a table for 4 at a restaurant for 7.30 pm that evening and eventually managed to get us in to San Carlo that was simply excellent and obviously THE place to eat in town, so a big thankyou to him.
In all a very comfortable stay in a surprisingly well run Marriott City Hotel.
We would not hesitate to return here or recommend a stay here, as long as these standards are maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevjen-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    572
    213
    75
    56
See reviews for
183
735
55
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I took my mum down for her 70th birthday. Decided to get a nice hotel to stay in and as we arrived we were very pleased.
Polite and very helpful staff.
Upgraded to a king size bed as it was a special birthday.
We were really tired when we checked in, if i hadnt been i would have returned to reception.
Jugs were on the floor outside the room door and when i walked around it was clear the room had not been finished. Not hoovered and bathroom floor had lots of hair and a broken mirror. The bed was clean and had been changed but the rest of the room let it down. No hairdrier as stated online.

In general this is a lovely hotel and we were probably just unlucky that day. Can not fault the staff at all as they were fantastic!

I will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinee2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for several nights whilst on a trip up to Manchester for soccer aid. All i can say is this has to be one of the worse Marriot hotels I have ever stayed in. The receptionist were not very polite to us especially when they found out we had no credit card and wanted to pay everything on debit card or with cash during our stay, it was almost as if we were treated as second class.
Our room was nothing special and the bathroom still had cream cleaner in the bath and hair on our fresh towels. On the Saturday night we were kept up until 3am by a wedding/private function going on of which we were not made aware of on arrival.
The food was poor for a four star hotel my duck pastrami was grey and old and my girlfriends asparagus and poached duck egg was tiny for what we paid. Her lancashire hotpot was stone cold despite waiting about 40 minutes for it and the potatoes on top of it were still raw. Dessert was nothing to rave about and i was especially dissapointed with the cheese board which might as well have been cheddar, stilton and brie.
My biggest irk from the trip has to be being charged £16.95 per person for breakfast which was neither worth the money or very hot nor tasty.
The only plus side for the whole trip was the two waitresses Amber and Lissy who were both polite and friendly and always willing to help with anything we wanted. Safe to say we will not be coming back again!

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjaminCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Manchester, General Manager at Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Benjamin CS,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete an online review following your recent visit to our hotel.What a shame that you didnt take the opportunity to discuss any of these concerns with us during your stay, so we could have acted upon these and resolved any issues as and when they arrived.
Really surprised to hear your comments regarding your room, as they have all just been refurbished to a really high standard and the feedback we have received so far has been excellent.
Delighted to hear that you felt Amber and Lissy looked after you well.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just had a one night stay while attending a function in Manchester.
Difficult to find the place due to current road works but got there in the end.
No parking spaces out front but there was a wedding on at the time, no worries as the hotel offers secure overnight valet parking for a reasonable fee.
Welcome and reception were good and within seconds we were on our way to our room.
The place is a converted ware house and thankfully they have kept a lot of the original features, from wooden beams, cast iron columns etc.
The room was spacious, clean and well furnished.
We were only on the second floor so our view was quite poor.
The bathroom was good, light and with quality fittings.
The bed was very comfortable indeed.
The AC was working well and easily controlled.
We ordered room service as we were in a hurry and it arrived promptly with a £5 try charge!
However the food was good quality and value.
We didn’t have breakfast as time was pressing but checking out was fast and straight forward.
By the time I’d signed the bill, the chap had brought my car round.
Really impressed, all staff were polite and courteous.

So will be staying here again, much prefer this to the Hilton on Deansgate which has now descended to the level of a travel lodge.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rangestormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

after a one night stay here we thought it was a great hotel . check-in was faultless, receptionist was so helpful, polite and pleasant.
hotel is very cosy and comfortable, and within great reach of town (10 min walk)
if there would be one minus point it would be that the shower head is too low in the bathroom to wash your hair so you have to kneel down in the bath ! but feel this is probably the nature of the design of the hotel with the low beams and ceilings
would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had stopped in this hotel several times when it was a Le Meridian, so expected excellent service was expected and I've got to say it did not disappoint. We arrived a few hours early for check in, the receptionist was very friendly and told us to call an hour later to see if our rooms were ready and leaving our luggage offered us straight away without asking. All the rooms were ready by 3pm a good hour before official check in. All the staff smile and say hello, when you walk past them. The deluxe rooms are large and beautifully decorated. I was a bit disappointed that the references to Granada tv programmes had gone. Beds were comfy and towels nice and fluffy. The bar area is a very high standard, if you are feeling naughty and want a snack their chips are scrumptious. The only downside is our room 245 was above where the staff meet outside on their breaks & 2 members of staff at 1am were having a loud conversation. We didn't have the windows open and could still heard every word. I did call down to Concierge and it did stop. We had a fabulous stay and will definitely be back, I would like to sample their afternoon tea. Also we had the fabulous hotel for £69 a room, which on a busy weekend in Manchester was great value and cheaper then the budget hotels in the same city.

Room Tip: Don't have any rooms that overlook the goods inward as this is were the staff take their breaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipple1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked on to the Coronation Street tour and decided to make a night of it and booked the Victoria and Albert. The hotel is a stones throw from the tour - so an ideal place to stay,

The hotel check in was swift and friendly and we were delighted when we were upgraded as it had been a while since we had a night away - so this was a lovely treat.

The room was lovely and comfy but I know this may seem petty but it was a shame water wasn't now included in the room.

We went to the bar and had a couple of drinks and the service was initially not good - for the first round of drinks a member of the bar staff wasn't sure about my wine (a glass of White Zindefal Rose - he was looking in the white wine fridge) and he didn't know to pull a pint of lager, he just walked off leaving it half lager and half froth a colleague came along and sorted the problems out swiftly.The service for the rest of the evening was excellent.

We had breakfast in our room and it was excellent with more than enough food and it was hot.

Checkout again was quick, smooth and friendly even though the reception area was very busy.

We really loved our stay and I have just re-booked to come back in September as we are going to Manchester House.

One tip for the parking would be to park in the NCP car park next door to the hotel as it is only £8 for 24 hours

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields area, and Palace Theatre. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing