We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel and location. Newly refurbished and well worth a visit. Excellent service and convenient for all of central manchester restaurants, shopping and business. Quiet location by canal. Friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,907 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I Worked here for 10 Years, before i retired as Conference and Banqueting Manager, So when I proposed to my Fiancee, I Knew exactly where we were going have our Wedding Reception, and the V & A was just the place, Great Food, Great Wine, Great Service, Excellent Facilities and Grounds for Pictures, Amongst my guest were many hoteliers, so i knew things just had to be right and the Hotel did me proud, and the Champagne and Rose petals in our Room was just the icing on the cake, fantastic touch to what was just the best day ever, we did not want it to end, Every single member of the Hotel team are very professional, This Hotel will always hold a special place in my heart forever, Well done guys and we look forward to attending your New Years Eve Gala Dinner Dance, Oh and I Love the Refurbished Bedrooms, Keep up the Good work, Nice to see the New Management Team are keeping the Hotel in Great Shape, Loved it

Room Tip: All Rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank imccaffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great hotel, our room was beautiful upgraded to a junior suite worth every penny the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in very relaxing. Hotel had a great atmosphere. Breakfast there was alot of choice and very tasty. Will stay here again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KATT2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I treated my mum to a break on the cobbles of Coronation Street, and also a night at the Marriot hotel. From the moment we arrived until the time we departed nothing was too much for the staff. We visited the bar on the night we arrived, and ordered the special off that was offer. My mum felt very special and the lovely comfortable beds we had were amazing. Great rooms with lovely view as well as good decor, the following morning we had a great cooked breakfast and then visited Coronation Street. I would certainly use the hotel again if I were to be staying in Manchester again, 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We had 317 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahburridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night with my husband. This is our favourite hotel in Manchester. Its location is great - quiet area so no outside noise yet 5 minutes walk from town. Comfy beds & well appointed bedroom & bathroom. Great breakfasts & friendly efficient service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rothwell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the V&A for our 10th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The reception area is stunning and the corridors with their low ceilings and exposed beams have been refurbished beautifully - while maintaining the features of the old building.
The standard double room was small but well appointed - again with the exposed beams and brickwork of the original building.
The hotel's location is excellent for Manchester city centre - It is definitely the closest hotel to the Coronation Street tour and it ideal for Spinningfields, The Opera House, Deansgate, Castlefield and therefore for shopping and nightlife.
The staff were fantastic and extremely professional.
The bar comfortable and not overly expensive.
If I have any criticisms (and they are few) parking is expensive; the exposed beams in the rooms naturally collect dust and were quite dusty and the air-con wasn't great.
Would any of the above stop me staying here again - definitely not.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Timbooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Second time I've stayed here for a night - happy to stay there again. It's a longish (1.3 miles) walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station but quite a good way to see parts of the city. A friendly welcome on checking-in always helps. I'd booked a large two-room suite with a good-sized bathroom on floor 4. The bed didn't seem like the normal US Marriott which is quite firm - this one was a bit more giving. Very quiet - the room looked out over a rather uninspiring river scene and a building works. Good breakfast with a reasonable amount of choice included in the deal. The hotel is a short walk from the Museum of Science and Industry and just round the corner from the Coronation Street Tour! There are several restaurants within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#16 Family Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £66 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing