We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marriot manchester august 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“marriot manchester august 2009”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

great location and staff very friendly and helpful, reception area smart but room old fashioned, bed very comfy and big, trouser press didnt work, room clean but felt it very basic for the price it was no nicer than much cheaper hotels i have stayed in. The corridors were the same. Breakfast very expensive so we went to a nearby cafe which was lovely for a fraction of the price.

Helpful?
Thank gillwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    580
    214
    76
    57
See reviews for
186
753
57
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed at this hotel as I was going to a gig at the MEN Arena - got a good price for the room so was pleased. Lovely hotel a little out of the way, away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, yet only a pleasant 10 minute walk to the centre. We walked home from the MEN which took about 15 mins at a drunken pace! Hotel bar not excessively priced either, and nice location next to canal. Would definately stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilempire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We booked this lastminute and got a two nights for the price of one deal so i was perhaps more forgiving than if i had payed full price. Breakfast was and some table overlook the canal which is pleasant , the staff were also attentative. My only point of annoyance was being falsely charged for car parking but this was immediately corrected at check out once i told the desk staff. I wanted to point this mistake out as it seems a previous reviewer had a similar experience.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clarkey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed at the V&A for 3 nights recently and overall was very pleased with the accommodation and service. I was initially booked into room 313 which on first impression seemed quite small and claustrophobic - I soon discovered that it was due to very low hung ceilings. At 6ft I reckon I'm a pretty average height but had to stoop to avoid some of the beams in the room and had to crouch to use the shower. I reported this to reception an was moved without hassle/delay to a much more spacious room on the same floor.

Everything else about the V&A was top class. Staff very helpful and friendly. Location very good but would not walk back to hotel late at night alone. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergalB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

what a lovely hotel. stayed for one night to go to the take that concert. check in was a dream.........had the most fantastic room........the staff in the bar were fab, nothing was too much trouble. we ordered a taxi and it was there spot on the right time. excellent, would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judysmigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

This hotel is very nice and friendly. Check in was quite fast so we could check out on our room few minutes after we entered the hotel. I liked the room decor but the walls make the room quite dark. Beds were too soft to my taste but could manage those three nights. I think the location of this hotel is ideal - not too far to any place in Manchester. There is Tesco and Sainsburys on the way from Deansgate to the hotel so you can buy some late evening snack.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Stayed in this hotel for the Take That concerts, and like last time I had a lovely stay. I contacted the staff before my stay via email and all things where dealt with personally.

I arrived via taxi from picadilly station, and without asking my suitcase was taken out and put at the reception. Check in was quick, staff was wonderful yet again and the room was the same that I stayed in last time.

Breakfast was wonderful, only had a very little wait on sunday for which they apologized. Also went to the spa down the road wich is free for V&A guests and had a lovely swim there, I would recommend doing it.

The hotel is next to the Granada tv studio's and only a little walk from the centre. My room was quite spacious, the ceiling in the bathroom was a bit low though, I'm 1.74m(5.8 I think) and people taller then that might have trouble standing in the shower/bath.

Only downside was that my dinner on sunday was added to the bill even though it was included in the room rate, but that was taken off after I checked with reception. There is a weird smell in the corridor though but in the room it was fine.

Should you consider a stay in the V&A I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields and Deansgate areas and Palace Theatre. Very convenient to reach the Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing