We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite up to usual standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not quite up to usual standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed many times before and this was our second time in the newly refurbished business class rooms.
Efficient check in, lovely room as usual. Great view over the airport. Lovely breakfast.
The amenities are not the best. Whilst the hand cream and shampoo are fine, for someone with long hair, the conditioner doesn't condition very well and the moisturiser doesn't moisturise very well.
The business class lounge is lovely with a great selection of non-alcoholic drinks as well as a couple of beers available all day. The savoury evening canapés were lovely, mostly based around traditional English food but there were no desserts served.
The one very annoying issue we had was that not long after we arrived we were told that we should have had some fruit and water in our room and that some would arrive shortly. 3 reminders and 24 hours later during check out it still hadn't arrived.
Some staff on the business class reception would benefit from additional training as they seem unable to deal with any but the most basic requests and questions.
The restaurant and bar area downstairs seem to have lost their atmosphere since the refurb. They are too communal/open plan and have a slight cafe feel. We would probably eat a snack like meal there but certainly not a more formal meal which we used to when Phileas Fogg was there.
I'm sure we will continue to stay, but whilst some parts of the hotel have been improved by the refurb, others seem to have taken a step backwards.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Plane_Talking_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated.
Sorry to hear about the fruit & water issue. Please be sure that I will personally look into the current training plan to see what needs to be improved.
The new restaurant has three sections to cater for the various needs from all our guests. While the open plan feel is the first you notice, the two wings at the far end look completely different and particularly one of them was designed to offer a similar feel which could be found at the old Phileas Fogg.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,620
    1,720
    674
    250
    128
See reviews for
905
2,611
379
868
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent with really friendly staff. Food in the restaurant was really good and my 15 year old son reckoned the chicken dish he had was the nicest meal ever!!

The hotel had good facilities including a pool, gym, sauna, etc. We had a brief visit to the bar where there was a dj playing in the corner to around 10 people.

The hotel is connected to the airport via a skyway which is handy for getting to and from it in the Manchester weather.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Macabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for that lovely review! Hope the match ended well.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have stayed here many times and most say I always liked staying here. It has easy access to terminals and you walk inside (except for terminal 3). Now the hotel has had a refurbishment and it is still easy access to and from terminals and friendly staff. Was also happily surprised by the upgrade.

Having said that:
Minibar: Rooms now have electronic mini bar so if you pick up and look closer at something, you have already bought it. I prefer to be in charge if the mini bar not the minibar being in charge of me.
Pub: Replaced with a bar. This is not a British place anymore. Also internet does not work there.
Lounge: Close at 9 pm and have one kind of beer and the only snack is nuts.

Maybe I am the wrong target group, but if you are like me and do not like electronic mini bars, but like a British pub with football, go some place else. Hmmm, wonder if there are other airport hotels?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeos12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your honest feedback.
The minibars are the same as always but your comments have certainly been taken onboard.
The lounge serves a wide range of cold and hot canapes with a local flavour as of 5pm, complemented with wines, spirits, beer and non-alcoholic choices.
The bar does have a TV and shows all major sporting events, including football. If it was not on when you visited then something must have gone wrong, my apologies for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for one night as we had a connecting flight to catch from Manchester to London the next morning. We arrived early and without any problems whats so ever we were allowed to check in straight away. The room was excellent, facilities excellent (Swimming Pool/Sauna/Steam Room in the Gym - bottom level of the hotel, but note, Saturdays its quite busy in the pool with kids learning to swim and they took up the majority of the pool, it is in truth quite small), we had breakfast which is a buffet type breakfast in itself and the staff can’t do more for you in whatever you ask for (that evening I needed to print off our boarding passes for the flight the next day, no charge, I was allowed to use one of their PCs and within a couple of minutes boarding passes in hand. I cant speak more highly of this hotel. It ticks all the boxes. This is a superb hotel to stay in and relax before you board another flight or if you’ve done a long haul and have just returned then stay here for the night (or more if you wish, its that relaxing) just to get your bearing again.
We did have a small issue which we reported and as ever with this place it was sorted out immediately, professionally, and with such sincerity you actually felt embarrassed for bringing it up. The manager I spoke with was a Hugo Da Conceicoa (sorry if I’ve misspelt the surname) and he was great. 10/10.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Great to read all the positive comments and I shall certainly share them with Hugo.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose to stay at the Raddison before flying to Mexico from T2 because of its location, as we did not want to have to venture outdoors once we were in the hotel
Checking In was very quick and efficient and our request for a higher floor room saw us up on the 8th floor
The room very smart clean and comfortable with a view of the airport apron
After a good nights sleep we collected our boarding passes in T2 and returned to the hotel for a nice leisurely breakfast
The tunnel connecting T1 the railway station and T2 passes the entrance to the Raddison and it is a 2 minute stroll into T2

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve_brown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review! Hope you also had a good flight.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here following our holiday to Spain and before our trip back to Glasgow. We had two rooms on the Oriental floor and the beds were so comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. Very handy for the Airport

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jayok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Check in was OK apart from a twin room was booked was not a double as requested. This may have resulted in a different room being allocated than a requested high floor room and hence a floor above the service area which led to industrial noise from heavy machinery. The Internet was impossible to use as I could not log on and resulted in a perpetual "obtaining IP address". Light switches had a strange configuration where one side of the bed had a master control which had to be switched off to turn the lobby lights out but this also de-activated the other bedside light so this could not be turned on individually if needed during the night. Food in the restaurant was very good both in quality and value.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizz06g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.2 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
8.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Address: Chicago Avenue | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester
Radisson Manchester
Manchester Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing