We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The rooms are rather small and I would not recommend staying too long. A single person in double room was OK but I would think that it would be quite cosy with 2. That being said I stayed in a City double for one night and it was fine for waht I required. Great shower!

Room Tip: Minimum would be a City Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhythmStix784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay, if you found the city double rooms to be compact, we do have the option of a larger work zone room. If you wish to have a look at them during your next stay we would be delighted to show them to you. We look forward to looking after you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    611
    323
    117
    81
See reviews for
133
542
155
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just got back from a weekend in Manchester, booked the Days hotel through Laterooms for just over £50 for the night.
Hotel wasn't the most luxurious but it had everything you would need, hair dryer, iron, TV etc.
Five minute walk from Canal Street, 10 minute walk from City Centre and the massive multistory car park round the corner cost us just £4 for two days - fantastic value.
If Im in Manchester again I will stay at Days Hotel very happily.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToryP_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Fantastic comments, thank you very much. We are located very close to Manchester's night life and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us aswell as your night out in manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

we found this hotel very clean and very friendly
the rooms are very nice all u need is there for u
i usualy find it hard to sleep in hotels but this one
i was out like a light and did not wake up till the morning
the buffet breakfast was lovely but could be more of a choice
there is a car park right next to the hotel and cost us only 4 pounds
so if your looking for a lovely hotel look no further you have found it
staff 5 stars,fodt 5 stars bed 5 stars we coming back to manchester
and the first thing we will do is book this hotel,also if your looking for a nice meal we went
to the big red world buffet again 5 satrs

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

4 of us stayed over for 1 night on sat 3 march '12. Had a great stay, very clean and warm. Although room was a bit small this did not bother us as the smell of clean bedding totally won us over. Hotel quite a walk from centre but reception called us a cab which came in minutes and charged only £4 to centre. Breakfast - fantastic, staff more than nice! Definately use again!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMsandy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your great feedback, I am delighted we met your expectations and look forward to looking after you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

very poor night at this hotel. Noisy inconsiderate people on our floor, made worse by staff arguing with them, rather than removing them. Sound proofing very poor, could hear next door using the toilet. The room was clean, but run down, Very disappointed seeing as we paid £100 for 1 night. We only wanted a place to sleep, but that was impossible. also breakfast was very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffy_fionna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we do have a zero tolerance policy for internal noise within our hotel and am very surprised that this was not adhered to on the night you stayed. I would like to discuss your comments more fully if possible, I will therefore, email you on the address shown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Good, clean, friendly hotel in convenient location 10 mins walk from Piccadilly Railway station and town centre. Double room was bit small, but had all you needed ... comfy bed, excellent shower, tv, tea&coffee stuff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for leaving us your comments, it is always very pleasant to pass on good comments to the team. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here in March 12 on a £10 offer with the Mirror. So didn't expect too much, but were pleasantly surprised.

This chain is much better than Travelodge/Premierlodge accommodation, I would say it's similar to DeVere.

The room was quite small, but for a short stay this is acceptable. Our room had a double bed, with one side right up against the wall (due to the small room size). There was a fan, iron + ironing board, tea and coffee + biscuits, power shower + nice fluffy towels, hairdryer & small TV with limited channels.

There was the option of a 2 course dinner for £8.95, with an Italian theme. But selection wasnt that great and we didnt fancy it. You can also get a bacon barm + coffee/tea in the morning for £2.50 (I think ?).

The hotel is located just a few mins from canal street bars, with the main shopping centre no more than 10-15 mins walk away. We went to the Blue Parrot bar, just up from Yates - drinks were a bit more expensive but worth it to get a comfy chair in a not too overcrowded bar with some half decent music playing.

We have a 2nd visit planned in May on the £10 mirror offer and are looking forward now, following this stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPANDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for leaving us your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are offering weekly themed menus to run alongside our A La carte and bar menus, I have passed on your comments to the chef to ensure that choice is not limited on these menus, however, when you return to us, please have a look at our additional menus if you do not fancy the themed special offers.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to looking after you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing