We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay but...didnt like the bad language in the bar”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #46 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very good stay but...didnt like the bad language in the bar”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we went down to manchester for 1 night to see stiff little fingers at the hmv ritz .booked in very quickly ,room very clean but really small.we were only sleeping in there anyway so were not too bothered .food in bar was very good .breakfast was good .only problem was in the bar ,this hotel had a group of about 1o men who were drinking and useing very bad language ,there was 2 children on the next table with the parents .then the next day about 6 sunderland fans who had been down for the game were sitting drinking in the bar and again there was children about but it didnt stop the language .this put a downer on the bar for me .all in all a good hotel but the use of bad language needs to be stopped in the bar when children are around .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fingersSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for letting me know about the bad language that was used in the bar during your visit. I agree this must have been off putting and is not acceptable, our staff are trained to manage these type of situations, however, on this occassion it would appear that we haven't done so. Following your comments, I have re trained the staff on the bar to ensure they are reading these situations better, and dealing with them as they come up. Thank you for leaving us your comments. I do hope it thasn't put you off visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    624
    328
    120
    82
See reviews for
135
556
160
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

just got back from a nights stay in the days hotel
well located just off portland street good room very clean very good breakfast included
car park opposite cheap too at £4 for all saturday and sunday

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March. The hotel is ideally located for access to the city centre. It is a 10 minute walk from Piccadily Station and there is ample car parking close by. The standard rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. It can be noisy but then what city centre hotel isn't? The staff are very friendly and do everything they can to make you welcome. The conservatory bar and it's staff are excellent. We would stay again but probably in an executive room which are larger. Perfect hotel for a few nights in the city.

Room Tip: Chose an executive room overlooking the internal quadrangle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I will share them with the team. We look forward to looking after you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I would say this hotel is ideally located if you are visiting Manchester to see a friend/family member who is a student at the uni or you are intending to spend time in the Canal Street area which is about 5 minutes away. If you are visiting for shopping, city centre nightlife or the MEN then although it is only about a 15 minute walk from Piccadilly station, there are similarly priced hotels which would be closer. If you do stay here though expect an average, bland, "budget" hotel and you won't be disappointed. The staff were efficient, the whole hotel appeared clean and tidy and the room was a decent size with a clean bathroom. Positives of the room: there were plenty of plug sockets, a fan and an iron and ironing board. Negatives of the room: stained carpet, water temperature in the shower seemed to change itself at will, quite a dated look over all. Neither outstanding nor terrible, I'd describe our stay here as 'pleasant'.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I would appreciate more information about the room you stayed in, as it concerns me that you encounterd issues with carpet stainage and shower service. The majority of our rooms have been recently refurbished, therefore, more information would assist me to pin point the housekeeping issue. I will message you directly to discus further. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have to be honest and say that I would never have thought about staying in a Days Inn hotel, I thought they were just motoway hotel type places (sorry for my ignorance). So when I seen the £10 per night offer in a Sunday paper and noted the hotel locations I was pleasantly surprised.

I booked two nights for me & my husband to celebrate my Birthday & at a later date I booked another two nights for our son to come with us as he had never been to Manchester before; his room cost £49 per night which was really good value. I was a bit worried about our son been in a room on his own as he has Autism & a learning disability and normally shares with a room with us.

When we arrived we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome from Cheryl, I asked for rooms next to each other & we were given rooms accross the corridor from each other. We were on level 3, we over looked the conservatory bar but our sons room looked out on street level where students attending the university parked their bikes. Both rooms were city doubles, yes compact but comfortable and well designed with every thing we needed. I noticed the ironing board was very cleverly concealed between the bathroom & the bed (though I never used it). We love our cups of tea & coffee so it was nice to see quality tea & coffee & even nicer to see complimentary biscuits! I loved the colour scheme of the room & the lighting.

The hotel is only a short 5 min walk from Piccadilly rail station & the town centre, Manchester is a vibrant city, we managed to see the Annie Lennox exhibition at the Lowry, Imperial war museum north, Arndale Centre, Had a meal in the Print works, Canal street was lovely at night with it's twinkling lights on the trees, had a ride on a tram etc etc ....so much to see and do in Manchester! We will return as I missed having a look around Harvey Nicols & the Trafford centre! We enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation and stay at the Days Hotel Manchester again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnywunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for leaving us your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hotel was ok, car park good right next door. noise is a problem, both in hotel corridor and outside, no air con in room.

Room Tip: away from courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian190821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I would like to discuss your feedback about the noise you encountered in more detail, to assist with staff training, I will therefore, drop you a message directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The rooms are rather small and I would not recommend staying too long. A single person in double room was OK but I would think that it would be quite cosy with 2. That being said I stayed in a City double for one night and it was fine for waht I required. Great shower!

Room Tip: Minimum would be a City Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhythmStix784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay, if you found the city double rooms to be compact, we do have the option of a larger work zone room. If you wish to have a look at them during your next stay we would be delighted to show them to you. We look forward to looking after you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing