We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, central hotel”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #46 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
“Good value, central hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I went for a weekend away to manchester with my partner and stayed at the days hotel. The hotel is in a brilliant location. It is a 10 minute walk from picadilly train station but on this occasion we took the car and were able to park in a NCP across the road and paid only £9 Fri to Sun. Bars and restaurants in the oxford road and canal street areas are a 5 minute walk away. On the Saturday night we took a taxi to the northern quarter, (although walkable in flat shoes!), which cost £4. The rooms are a little on the small side but very clean and staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for you great comments and for taking the time to post them. We look forwerd to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    624
    328
    120
    82
See reviews for
135
556
160
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Potteries
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We chose this hotel because it is relatively near both the Manchester Apollo and Picadilly Station, and seemed to offer good value. The rooms are small, and have the feel of student accommodation, but they are clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was excellent. Best of all was the breakfast, which puts many so-called 4 star hotels to shame. As well as the staples, there was an excellent choice of poached fish and cooked meat. The staff were helpful and friendly, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate-and-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, I have passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed one night for a business to Manchester University, for that purpose the location is perfect. Rooms feel a bit like student accommodation but given the reasonable price I don't complain. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonytchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I choose the days hotel because i wanted to be near to the Apollo theater,its location was great 15 min walk to Apollo,or 30 seconds in mad taxi.
Also 15min walk to city center,just right, didn't want to be to close because of noise of enjoyment and merriment from late revelers.
The hotel is near the students quarters ,but we went when they were having a well earned break.
Also near the gay quarter.
Hotel was brilliant ,totally recomend it, 5 stars,every thing good,staff, food, rooms,great value for money.
Go stay there tell me if I'm wrong.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write down your lovely comments.
I will pass them on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here on a recent shopping trip having usually stay the Travelodge on Blackfriar Street, I decided to look elsewhere due to a recent bad stay so searched Hotels and found Days Inn. It had everything that we were looking for. The location is good but not quite city centre as stated but that is fine as it was walkable from the train station and only £5 for a taxi in the evening to the other side of town (needed when wearing large heels!) The staff were nice and welcoming, the hotel was clean and nicely decorated and the room had everything we needed. After the experience at Travelodge for more money it was a nice change. The food and restaurant looked nice but we ate out. I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabre218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for you great comments, we look forward to looking after you again on your next visit.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was stay in this hotel for one night.
I asked about quiet room so far from main street. My room had windows for main very busy street, I was try sleep but this was not possible. This room was clean, but didn't look like on the web side.
I never will be recommend this hotel !!! Staff was nice only when call to me with apology's when charge my credit card for near 220 £

Room Tip: Room was on the front hotel - room 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kubica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occassion, we do have rooms overfacing the internal courtyard, however, most are external facing. I don't have a lot of detail to investigate why your requests were not honoured on this occassion, usually special requests are catered for as much as possible. I can only assume on this occassion that we were not able to provide a room due to bookings that were already in situ. If I could ask you to contact me directly, I would be happy to discuss your stay with us in more detail. With regards to your room, 318 is a workzone room, they are larger that the city doubles, however, it is the city double that is pictured on the web site as we have more of them on site than the work zone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

one nights stay in days hotel sackville stree t manchester it was clean , comfortable, excellent staff, good food,value for money when I go to manchester to go shopping that is the only place I will stay

Room Tip: choose a higher floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing