We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Focault pendulum in the stairwell”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Capua (Ce)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Focault pendulum in the stairwell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I will say it in advance. The most amazing thing this hotel has is an active Focault pendulum located in the stairwell. This was really brilliant.
Apart from that, the hotel is located close to the University of Manchester and at a fair walking distance to the Picadilly city center, the shopping center and the Picadilly train station. It is the hotel where the Manchester Conference Center is located.
The breakfast was quite ok, with really delicious pain au choc. The fruit was not so tasty, but I'm coming from the South and used to much better fruit than in England :-) The receptionists were helpful and nice. The bar, where the dinner is served, is ok. The first night I had fish and chips and it was quite ok. The second night I had a steak sandwitch and I must say I didn't like the meat.
The room was very silent and the bed was very confortable. So, I was able to have great sleepings.
The only problem was the room size, really small. I must say that the light in the room was very weak and the heating was not adjustable. Some parts of the room (light) needed maintenance.
But all in all I would stay there again if I had to be at the Manchester Conference Center again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Angelo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do love our pendulum as it is quite a conversation starter.. I will pass your comments on to the Housekeeping Manager and the maintenance manager. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff at this hotel were exceptionally efficient and helpful, going out of their way to address an error I had made! My prepaid reservation was for the night before I arrived! The staff discussed my predicament and transferred my booking to the night of my arrival. I am eternally grateful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ed1967S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments,

We understand from time to time mistakes can happen and we will do everything in our power to ensure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as we possibly can. We want you to have a memorable, reassuring stay with us and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A great base for a break in Manchester. Staff made us feel very welcome. Alla, on reception always greeted us with a smile, and Faisal, in the restaurant, was wonderful! He made sure we enjoyed our meal, even though we had to wait a (very) long time for it. If it wasn't for him, we would have left and eaten out. Our room was spotless, but I found it very difficult getting into, and out of bed when it was pushed up against a wall. The double bed was very small and the quilt even smaller! My husband slept under the quilt and I slept under the bed runner. I'm not complaining... it was a good "base" while we visited the Christmas market and the staff at the hotel made up for minor negatives by their lovely attitude.

Room Tip: Ask for 2 single beds if there's 2 of you. The double beds are so small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending time to give us your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and i am sure our staff enjoyed having you stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that the bed wasnt exactly what you needed and i will be passing your comments onto our Housekeeing Manager very soon.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Conference Centre is a good venue and is in a great location, within walking distance from the train station.
The rooms are a tad shabby and could do with updating. Reminded me of student accommodation. Not too bad for the price paid though.
Dinner available was adequate and very cheap. Breakfast was done well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback, We are currently undergoing bedroom refurbishment and hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon and let us know what you think of the newly decorated and refurbished bedrooms.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel was spotless and the staff polite, friendly and helpful. Our room was small but had everything we needed. The buffet breakfast was all you could eat, delicious and worth the cost.
The bar area is ideal if you don't want to go out or good local pubs and bars are close by.
It''s about a 5 minute walk to the centre of Manchester and Piccadilly Station.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.
We were in Manchester for the Christmas Market and staying here made our weekend perfect :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Days Hotel.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we are glad you had such a great weekend and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Once again we appreciate your lovely comments,

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Got a Wowcher deal for this and it all looked more impressive in the ad than it was in reality. Hotel had no atmosphere, our rooms were meant to be doubles but were really glorified singles, double bed pushed against a wall and very little space, miserable lighting, service and cleanliness were fine but I expected something more high end for what was apparently originally £163.00 per night inc dinner (which was fish and chips or burger and chips, plus one drink). Paid £70.00 for a double room on the wowcher deal with the dinner and breakfast, could have got a cosy b and b for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do offer competitive rates for our rooms as we are a busy city centre hotel and especially when there are busy concerts or something big in the city we always have some of the best prices which cant be beaten.
The beds which we have in the room are recently new beds and are comfortable double beds, however in some of the bedrooms they are next to one of the walls to ensure we make the most of the space in them.

Once again thank you for your comments and i look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Well the room, was small in size, had just what you needed, bed, lovely bathroom. TV was rather outdated. Pixelated, even though we only had it as background noise. But the worse criticism was the breakfast. Cold/Warm buffet. Dirty crockery. Plates & Bowls. Had a better buffet breakfast at Toby Carvery.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast was not up to its usual standard. Its very rare that we have any negative feedback about our breakfast.

I do hope you will stay with us again as i am sure you will really enjoy the breakfast.

I will be passing your comments on to the restaurant manager for further investigation.

Once again thank you for your feedback and i hope to see you againg soon,

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing