We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrived late at night with a very tired toddler...”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #45 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 4 December 2013

arrived late at night with a very tired toddler. Receptionist struggled to understand english and couldn't identify my room booking. The fire alarm went off (false alarm) and it took about an hour from arrival before getting into our room. The double bed was two singles pushed together which wasn't great as we ended up having to put toddler to sleep between us to settle her given all the disruption earlier.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, i do understand how difficult it can be to travel with a baby late at night and please accept our apologies for the fire alarm going off, it is there for your health and safety.

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
There are newer reviews for The Pendulum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel has a good location for events in central Manchester. The service was friendly and the room was small but adequate for a one night stay. Our only problem was that around midnight the fire alarm went off, then just as we realised what it was it stopped again, trouble was over the next hour it happened another half dozen times. Apparently students had set it off but it did prevent us getting a good night's sleep. Breakfast as good and better value than most of the chain hotels and unusually for a buffet food was actually hot (although hot plates would have ensured it stayed that way longer)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank GaryW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the service you received as well as our facilities, however I would like to apologies for the noise caused by the fire alarm system during your stay and I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of Manchester. A short walk to the German Christmas markets. The food was quite good and not terribly expensive. The room was clean and well maintained. Nice staff. Excellent location near the gay village. Only downside was the television was a bit dodgy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarfdoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your stay with us at the Days Hotel Manchester I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of having our rooms refurbished.

We do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Okay hotel, breakfast is good if you get there early then the breakfast is much better tasting. Hotel rooms are good, except in my bathroom there was some hair I'm the shower which was slightly off putting. There was also fire alarms that kept going off between 2330-0030 which was really annoying because I had to be up early for a training course the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Arun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us regarding your stay at the days hotel in Manchester.

I am very sorry you encountered an issue during your stay with us. We usually receive good comments about our room’s cleanness, therefore, I am very concerned about your experience and I would therefore like to discuss this more thoroughly.

I will be passing your comments regarding your room onto the Housekeeping Manager.
Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel ok. For the money
When I booked was told breakfast was included but was charged for it when I checked out and I didn't even eat breakfast. It was removed from my bill after a bit of argument.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Cherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.


I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Lovely clean room but a bit small & lighting was dull. TV picture wasn't great & it was a gaff to log into the free wifi but staff very nice, breakfast lovely & overall I enjoyed my stay. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank SheilaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

We really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem

Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Well what can I say, if you want a hotel with noisy banging hotel room doors when people go out and in of there rooms both during the day and the night then pick this hotel. They really need to do something about the room doors, as I have never been to another hotel where it is so noisy when people go out and in of there rooms as the doors slam closed and you can hear them from several rooms along.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. We do strive to deliver excellent customer service at all times which it appears we did not achieve and we hope that you will allow us to redeem our reputation and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Also i will be passing your comments regarding your room onto the Housekeeping Manager.

If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £58 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing