We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel... don't expect a decent nights sleep though!!”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel... don't expect a decent nights sleep though!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here the weekend before Xmas due to attending a local concert. Location of the hotel was perfect, couldnt fault it. Approx a 10 minute walk into the city centre/Xmas markets and just around the corner from the train station. We stayed at the weekend so it only cost us £4 to park from early Saturday morning to Sunday afternoon. We arrived quite early but the hotel very kindly let us check in around 2 hours early. The staff were all very helpful and food for breakfast the following morning was very good.

Room was a good size, had everything we needed including a hairdryer, iron, ironing board. No issues at all with the room, spotlessly clean.

Unfortunately there were some Japanese tourists staying on the same floor who seemed keen to make as much noise as possible, shouting, knocking, slamming doors etc. We were disturbed not just by them, but by many other people on the same floor, at various times throughtout the night/early hours due to people slamming doors. I have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world and the Uk and have never, ever stayed in a hotel before where the doors were so loud. This really needs looking at. Neither of us slept that night due to the constant noise. Yes it was a saturday night but people seriously need to have consideration for others.

No issue with the hotel at all but wouldn't go back purely because of the noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boohoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to note that you somehow notice the cleanliness of our rooms. We pride ourselves on our superior service and facilities and it is very regrettable that we failed to accomplish our goal on this occasion. Your experience was certainly not reflective of the high standards we consistently uphold in our property. I am very sorry to hear that you have been disturbed during your stay by other guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments will be forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident that they will take necessary actions to improve this unsatisfactory experience.

If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose us for your future travel needs.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    611
    323
    118
    81
See reviews for
133
542
155
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst having a Christmas night out with friends on Canal Street, its a perfect location being 3 minutes walk from where we were having a drink. The rooms and bedding are a little old fashioned but it was only 50 pounds a night and this was all about location. The room was clean and quiet and I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This place has minimal frills and maximum return for money. Friendly cheerful staff who make an effort to make you feel welcome. Good basic food. Comfortable for the price. My only comment is the lighting - would be better with a warmer ambiance in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

I am very sorry about the noise caused by the student during your stay and please accept our apologies.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location of this hotel is near the Uni and only a few mins walk from Piccadilly Train Station. We drove and followed the directions to the car park just around the corner and it cost £10 for 24hrs parking but is only £2 for 24hrs at the weekend!

Reception staff were really friendly and welcoming on arrival. We were checked in really fast and efficiently.

The rooms can only be described as compact but are adequate for 1 or 2 if you want to just sleep in the room, if you like hanging out in the room and relaxing I don't think this is the place for you.

The double bed is against the wall, there is hanging space, bag stall, a desk, small TV, hair dryer. The bathroom has a sliding door, but the shower had good power. Even larger people especially as a couple might well find the room too small!

Breakfast was surprisingly good, a very good selection and the staff seemed to keep on top of the hot buffet so items were not cold/ dry e.t.c.

I think for a cheap and cheerful hotel convenient to Manchester city centre you should consider this hotel.

Would I recommend this hotel - Yes
Would I stay here again - for the right occasion Yes

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and we are pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.


We really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem

Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yokshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The room was very small, but adequate. I was going out for the evening, so just needed the bed and bathroom really. Would have appreciated better lighting. My main problem was that the room was cold. It had a small wall heater that kept cutting out, and a thin duvet. I was disturbed in the early hours a few times but this is during the Christmas period so unsurprising I suppose. It did mean, however that I was disturbed every hour until 3am and then couldn't get back to sleep....You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. I am very sorry about the noise caused by the other guest during your stay and please accept our apologies.

Also i will be passing your comments regarding your room onto the Housekeeping Manager.

If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was my second visit to the Days Hotel Manchester City. The hotel is well-situated, very close to Piccadilly Station, and also to both the City centre and the Canal Street area. Very nice hotel, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Katy_Enfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Jay Ghannem
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I arrived in Manchester Picadilly and my accommodation plans fell through last minute. I looked up local hotels and the Days Inn was very close to the station. I walked into the hotel and enquired about a room. Mayra, the receptionist was pleasant and very helpful and check-in was very easy. She also helped me plan my journey for the next day in Manchester and booked me a taxi for me to get to my destination the next morning. I was staying in room 504 and this was a cosy double room, but very clean and well presented. I got breakfast the next morning which had quite a variety served via a buffet. This was also fine. Overall my stay was very enjoyable and I found the staff to be very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and we are pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.


We really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing