We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Staff were helpful and friendly enough. Hotel was quite nice. Room had not been properly cleaned before we arrived and they forgot to service it whilst we were there too. Breakfast was pretty good. The newspaper I'd ordered failed to arrive. Room walls are very thin so in the morning I was woken up by slamming doors and noisy neighbours. Still, all in al it was ok and location was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank 969Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused.I am very sorry about the noise caused by the other guest during your stay.

I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Also i will be passing your comments regarding your room onto the Housekeeping Manager.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Compared with other hotels in Manchester this hotel is cheap. The staff were very attentive and the room small but adequately furnished. Bed quite firm. The food however was a disappointment, although cheap, so you get what you pay for. Nevertheless I did not eat the cooked breakfast which did not look appealing. An individual tea pot should be provided for breakfast. Overall the dining experience ( food not staff) let's Days down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank 639Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We have taken note of your valuable comments and these shall be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you again for for posting your comments.

Kind regards


Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed for a Saturday night, and we're initially a bit nervous due to some reviews. However, anything negative is unjustified. The service was great, the staff impressively friendly, and the room was fine. You get what you pay for and it was just right for the two of us. Considering its location it was very quiet and perfectly placed for Manchester centre. The breakfast was pretty good too.

Like I say, you get what you pay for and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Considering its location, we would recommend you ask for a Quiet Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see the fantastic score and you nice review of your stay with at The Days Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice and clean room and the bathroom was clean and fresh, the pressure in the shower was great. The location was also good, right in between picadilly and oxford station, took no time at all to get in to the city center. The breakfast was great, looked fresh and tasted good. The coffe was alright, a bit weak. The wi-fi connection was unfortunatley not so great, almost impossible to surf in the evening, it was a bit faster in the morning though. Overall a nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Micaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to ro review your stay with us. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the Days Hotels. I will pass on your comments regarding the WiFi as this is unusual.

We hope to see you again soon, kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerteventura, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Ok the good bits.. Room is clean and shower is decent . Bad bits mainly that the room is TINY. A small single with a double bed in. A couple cannot change on this room. Asked for a room change and none available . Bar area is very bland. Hotel used to be a hall of resisence and feels like that. I have organised a conference for 120 people and will not be returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, as you mentioned our Reception Team did try and upgrade your room but unfortunately that room type was fully booked at the time.
It is a shame you found our Conservatory Bar bland as we have made a lot of changes to this area to make it as welcoming as possible.

The hotel isn’t a converted Halls of Residence, we are a stand-alone property and endeavour to provide the highest customer service at all times.

We will contact you directly regarding the conference you organised to investigate separately.

Kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Currently staying here for our conference which we organised & brought over 100 delegates into the hotel for. Disgraceful service by all. Rooms literally not big enough to swing a cat!! Claustrophobic & converted student accommodation NOT appropriate for professionals spending a lot of money! Double room not big enough for one. Disgraceful place - avoid like the plague!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I do apologise that you did not feel the accommodation was large enough for your needs. We will contact you directly regarding your experience regarding service and the conference centre facilities so we can investigate in full.

The hotel is not converted student accommodation, we do have compact yet comfortable accommodation with all the amenities you would find in all hotels.

Kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff were very helpful, the room was compact but perfect, and very nice quality fittings, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast! There was a nice restaurant and bar which meant you didn't have to leave your hotel unless you wanted to! Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see the fantastic score and you nice review of your stay with at The Days Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing