We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Pasadena, California
1 review
“HORRIBLE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that gives you a nice, peaceful and relaxing time...FORGET IT!! The service is good and the accommodations OK but during the 5-days I was there on business I got hardly any sleep or peace or quiet. The guests are RUDE, LOUD and have no sense for time. I got woken up on every godly hours of the night. Either by drunken rudeness or extremely loud music or out disturbing and vial sounds. If you are looking for a College life experience then this is the hotel for you. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND IT TO MY WORSE ENEMY!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us regarding your stay with us at the Days Hotel Manchester. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We do always try to ensure all our guests are 100% happy when staying with us and will do our best to accommodate all your needs, as we are a busy city centre hotel we are in the heart of Manchester and it can be very busy at times so noise is expected from time to time, if reception are notified of any complaint we will do our best to rectify the matter in this case by offering to move you to an alternative room.

I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. We do strive to deliver excellent customer service at all times which it appears we did not achieve and we hope that you will allow us to redeem our reputation and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Please may I request you contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I arrived here yesterday on the 23rd March and am staying until the 26th...I arrived early at around midday, so I was expecting to wait until I could check in, however the gentleman on duty at the time, Gus, was extremely helpful, and as a room was available checked me in... Mentioning if I joined the hotel programme I would automatically received early and late check outs...Gus, also gave me extensive knowledge of places I wanted to visit here. I believe he is a credit to your brand, and as a first point of contact, excellent...
The room, 431, is small, but cosy, and quite...there is a flat screen TV, with a limited amount if channels, but channels you would normally watch...
Breakfast is good, I'm a vegetarian, and a special mention for the mushrooms, which are the best I've ever tasted....
All in all, a great location, minutes away from the train and bus station, and a 5 minute walk into the centre....

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnach
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice hotel wel situation few steps from the station. The room is very clean and confortable and the staff is very friendly.
Breakfirst is also terrible so I trully recommand this hotel. Only problem were noise from next room and I also saw a extra fee for late check out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am very sorry about the noise caused by the other guests during your stay and please accept our apologies.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very friendly and competent staff. The classic room was nice, clean and spacious enough. Hotel is at the city center with lots of amenities within working distance. Breakfast buffet was a delight. Did not like the smell of cigarette along the corridors even though no smoking signs were on all room doors. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Vivat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

stayed 1 night to visit palace theatre.only 10 minute walk to theatre and shopping area.very friendly and helpful staff.rooms fine with everything you need.great buffet breakfast.car park across road£2 per day Saturday and sunday

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving us such fantastic comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon.


Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem

Front o House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I visited the Days Hotel with my fiance two weeks ago, and I am so glad to have stayed at this gem! The hotel is ideally located close to Piccadiilly station and close to the city centre. We were greeted warmly by check in staff who provided very clear information whilst also taking an interest in the purpose of our stay which is a nice touch. It was also nice to receive a free drinks voucher which could be used at the hotel restaurant.

The room was extremely spacious and everything worked perfectly. Every facility imaginable was included which makes such a nice change.

Most commendable was the fact that the hotel had assigned a member of staff to reception area at night with a list of guests and their rooms, which ensured that only guests could return to the hotel. My Fiance and I felt extremely secure and admire the professionalism shown by all staff at all times.

Finally we were greeted to a 'help yourself' breakfast buffet which showed a wide variety of hot and cold breakfast items, all prepared a presented beautifully! We were definitely set for the day ahead!

When visiting Manchester again, I would not hesitate to book this hotel! Great service at a great value!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lathb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and we are pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is right beside Manchester Piccadilly which is very handy, especially as we were paying just a flying visit. It is central enough - just a short taxi ride to the centre for shopping etc. I'm sure there are buses too but we weren't there long enough to find out. The male receptionist (whose name I don't remember) was on both the afternoon we arrived and the morning we left and was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank AngieN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always nice to hear when a guest has really enjoyed their stay with us.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Kind Regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing