We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room small but clean and in good condition.Having asked to...”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
A TripAdvisor Member
“Room small but clean and in good condition.Having asked to...”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Room small but clean and in good condition.
Having asked to be checked in early due to an early flight, we were informed 2pm was the earliest,we arrived at hotel at 8am.
Big rip off was the small coffee shop in the lobby.They were charging 3 pounds for a small cup of coffee

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Thank you again for for posting your comments.

Kind Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    611
    323
    117
    81
See reviews for
133
542
155
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My review is based on staying here on a Saturday night.

Cons:
I paid over £100 for a tiny single room, only just big enough for a bed and very small shower room.
The TV only picked up a very limited number of channels.
I could clearly hear people talking in the corridor (or neighbouring rooms) at 1am they weren't being particularly loud.
I came in from an evening out at 11:30 and the staff seemed to let me in only very grudgingly, and when my key didn't work and they needed to provide a new one, there was no apology and they made me feel like it was my fault.

Pros:
Breakfast was good and fresh (8:30 seems a late time for it to start however, even on a Sunday) and the staff at breakfast were friendly.
The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water.

Overall, my biggest single impression of the hotel remains the size of the room. I will look for alternatives next time I travel to Manchester and will stay here only if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Smidders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and these shall be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

The rooms vary from one another and have been designed quite recently we make the most of the space which we have. I am concerned about your comments regarding the service from the night team. If you wish to discuss any of the issues you had during your stay in please email on jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk with a note of your contact details and I will make arrangements to contact you.

Thank you again for for posting your comments

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here and it was fine. The layout is a bit unusual but we got our bearings quickly. The service was quick and attentive, both on reception and at breakfast.
The room was a bit tired compared to other budget hotels I have used but the bed was comfortable and the facilities clean and functional.
It's close to Picadilly but not so close that it's noisy. We weren't disturbed by any noise in the hotel or from outside.
If you're fussy or planning a few nights away I would look elsewhere but for an overnight stay it's perfectly adequate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wickywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly hotel staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Excellent value in this lovely hotel, room was spotless and clean staff were friendly and the Breakfast was as good as any ... would recommend and definitely stay again .friends had a room which was a bit smaller than ours and the bed was up against the wall, maybe ask for a bigger room

Room Tip: friends had a room which was a bit smaller than ours and the bed was up against the wall, maybe ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanfroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review from which I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Days hotel Manchester city.

I will ensure that your kind words reach the team. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel very central, handy for A57 and multi-storey car park close by. Room clean and functional and fully equipped without being fancy. We had fixed price 3 course evening meal which was good value for money. Breakfast OK, hot food nothing startling. Staff very helpful and polite.
We used the hotel as an overnight stop to go to a concert and for this purpose it was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from which I was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I have passed them on to everyone concerned.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next in Manchester City. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. In particular you Reception Manager, John Barfield, couldn't have been more charming or helpful. Rooms were fairly basic, but clean, which is all that really matters. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.
Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and we are pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and we really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester


Kind regards

Jay Ghannem
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheslyn Hay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good job I was on my own because the double bed was against the wall so if the person sleeping on that side of the bed would have to climb over you to get out for a pee. Buffet bresakfast!!!!! when with all hotels provide warn plates. Here cold plates, warm food goes cold very quickly. Over cooked frazzled eggs. Come on CHEFS. Please provide fresh cooked eggs.
If I have to attend a conference here again I will stop somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments with us regarding your stay at the days hotel in Manchester.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to keep focused on what is important to you and I will be passing your comments on to the appropriate manager. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem

Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing