We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Friendly Staff, TINY rooms!”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London
1 review
“Good location, Friendly Staff, TINY rooms!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel was in a good central location and very clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However, we ordered a double or twin room for 2 people and the double room was tiny. By the time we unpacked, we had no space to sit down and relax! The double rooms would be more suited to single occupancy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, I will pass these comments to the team.

We regards to the bedroom they vary from one another and have been designed quite recently we make the most of the space which we have. Please let us know if you book to stay with us again and we will try to accomodate you in a larger room.

Kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    611
    323
    117
    81
See reviews for
133
542
155
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excluding the one issue I had the stay was good, the issue I had was on our floor there was a group of young boys who kept running about the corridors, shouting, slamming doors and the doors was the main issue slamming every few minutes. After phoning reception I thought thatll be that but nothing happened apparently someone was being sent to there room but nobody came so I tried again after another half hour of noise. again someone was going to be sent up and nobody came so I decided to go out earlier than planned. This was all at about 5-8pm. then after coming back at the early hours the boys continually slammed doors abd shouting all night with several phone calls to reception nothing happened. apart from that the hotel was alright.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank CertaCito92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, General Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate all comments. I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a restful stay with us. Our Nights Team and Duty Managers do monitor the corridors and ask guests to keep noise to a minimum.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to hotels in Manchester and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include Days Hotel Manchester City centre.

Kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good location. Good sized room with all the basic requirements, inc. tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast excellent. Staff very helpful. What more can I say? Great budget accommodation and very comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time write your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see the fantastic score and you nice review of your stay with at The Days Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, kind regards,

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

When checking in, we were greeted by a gentleman who started the checking in process. He answered the phone half way through, and we had to wait while he had a heated discussion with a customer over the phone - but to my shock put the phone down on this customer without saying a word. The room itself was fine, nice decor, a little on the small side, but for £65 per night, was good value for money. Unfortunately we were rudely awoken in the morning at 8am by some very very noisy housekeeping slamming things around in their trolleys, having very loud conversations amongst themselves. There was a young girl training on the desk at check out, and I wasn't asked how my stay was, and felt bad to complain to the trainee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay from which I was disappointed to learn that your check in and check out experience was not up to your expectations and I would like to apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Also i am very sorry about the noise caused by the housekeeping team members.

Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to keep focused on what is important to you and I will be passing your comments on to the appropriate manager. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location, a 3-4 minute walk from the Canal Street bars, and a 10 minute walk from the city centre.
The bar has a reasonable happy hour between 5-7pm.
The room we had contained everything we needed for a one night stay.
The room is pokey, and one side of the bed is against the wall, which makes it difficult for one person to get up during the night without waking up their partner or for one person to bang into the wall..
The bathroom was good and adequate.
Breakfast was about £7 for an all you can eat buffet style breakfast. This was excellent value for money and worth the investment.
The hotel is clean and practical, especially for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingKurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from which I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us to keep focused on what is important to you and I will be passing your comments on to the appropriate manager.
Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting the Manchester area.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Choose this Hotel for its proximity to Conference Centre (same building). For my one night stay the room was clean, functional and comfortable. The check-in was efficient and everything was explained. Fresh air on arrival in room due to window ajar smelled fresh, the bed linen was soft and white and the single bed provided a comfortable night’s sleep. The restaurant service was also functional, had to ask for water. Overall, a good experience that suited my one night requirement and would recommend for that purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jerryfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Day hotel Manchester City.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our team member to be extremely helpful throughout the hotel. I will share your review with the team members.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The room was clean and adequate for a business stay. The breakfast was good. I only stayed for 1 night but I would certainly stay again. The hotel is conveneiently situtaed for the railway station and road network. I walked into the city centre (about 10-15 minutes comfortabe walk) for an evening meal so I did not try the dinner that was on offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your comments.

We really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing