We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Location was ideal minutes from Canal Street. Stayed 2 nights room was clean and tidy but small. Breakfast was good with plenty choice. Only 1 lift working during our stay and that broke down the day we were leaving so we had to struggle with our luggage down stairs. All in all this hotel is good value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Scotshe

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay

We do apologise for any inconvenience that the lift may have caused. Maintenance work was being carried out and the lifts were up and running as quickly as possible

thank you again and hope to see you in the future

Best Wishes

John Barfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed one night on April 16th 2014 and have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was. Especially the shower room. The bed was comfortable, the temperature in the room was perfect (for me). The room was small but for my requirements I was pleased.

The reception staff on check in and check out where both friendly yet professional.

This was a business trip and should I need to travel to Manchester again I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to colleagues/friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twillia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Twillia81

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind comments. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recommendation to others.

It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to them.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future and once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Jalel Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was not what the hotel says it looks like. The room was so small and there was not enough space. The iron when I went to iron my shirt leaked all over my shirt so I had to wait till it dried before I could go out and enjoy the night out. The only good thing about the hotel is the staff which where helpful and didn't mess you around and didn't make you wait for ages. Also my nights sleep was awful as the only one pillow I got had hardly anything inside it so It was basically empty. Very disappointed on the experience and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear William R

Thank you for the positive comment regarding our staff. We strive to give the best customer service possible

In regards to the comment about the room, we have been looking into this and are currently replacing the pillows for a better grade and quality. We are also currently undergoing refurbishment in all the rooms

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and your feedback will help us improve our standards

Best Wishes

John Barfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Reasonable hotel with good service and a nice although small room. The food in the restaurant was an absolute disaster though. If you're going to stay here I wouldn't recommend eating in unless you want something that's been microwaved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Kyle W

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are very pleased by your comment about the good quality of our service.

However we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant. Our chefs work hard to create a variety of different menus and make the food from fresh each day. We will pass on your comment to our Head Chef, who will investigate this for you and improve on our products

Best Wishes

John barfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treharris
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The staff in the hotel was really helpful as we arrived a bit earlier than the checking in time and they let us to check in earlier. The room was clean but small. Breakfast very tasty. we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Milena �
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Milena

Thank you for taking the time to write your review which I have passed to the relevant departments.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future..

Thanks again.

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good location, 10 min walk to Piccadilly Gardens which has great transport links to everywhere around Manchester. 5 minutes walk to Piccadilly train station. Room was clean and tidy, housekeeping was done on a daily basis. Only suggestion (NOT complaint) is that the furnishings and bedding could be more modern as they were looking quite dated. Breakfast had a variety of choices, from traditional English breakfast to fruits, fish, cereal, yogurts and pastry. Very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Alina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Alina P

Thank you for taking the time to write down your lovely comments.
I will pass them on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester.


Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stopped in this hotel for 1 night. The room was OK, very small and very small batheroom. The room comes with a small fan included which was needed as it was very hot during the night even with the window open. Overall OK but would not go back unless I had to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Lou M

Thank you for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate all comments as they help us to focus on what is important to our guests. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include Days Hotel Manchester City centre.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing