We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

First time visit with my husband. Ever since we walked through the door weve felt welcome. Ben in the restaurant was incredibly friendly. He made the visit very pleasant for us. He should be praised on his professionalism. Would fully reccomend this to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay2972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jay2972

Thank you for your review and kind comments from which I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I was delighted that you our staff polite and professional.

It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to all the Team, especially to Ben.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel in the not too distant future and once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Room was beautiful. Staff were incredibly friendly. The waiter was named Ben and he was fantastic. Very professional and helpful. He should be commended for his customer skills. Would reccomend this to anyone a solid 10 out of 10 in every category.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Ben K

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind comments following your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us at the Days hotel Manchester city centre.
It is always pleasing for me when our Team Members have made a difference and I have passed your kind comments on to all the Team, especially to Ben.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future and once again thank you for your comments.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were welcomed by very friendly staff, who were helpful throughout our stay. The room was comfortable, well equipped and decorated. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choices. Gluten and wheat free bread was provided for my special diet. We were conveniently placed for central Manchester and the event that we were attending. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Chris W

Thank you for your review and kind comments from which I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I was delighted that you found our rooms comfortable, breakfast was excellent and our staff polite and professional. I have passed your kind comments on to all the Team as I know they will be pleased to have made a difference.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the overall appearance of the hotel, very dated and shabby! Both doubles we booked needed a major refurb, very dated, plaster falling off walls, bath rocked from side to side in one double room and the other rooms leaked on to the floor! Dirty bed clothes, bed was pretty much done! I don't expect much when you don't pay top end prices but I've never been so disappointed like this before. Breakfast was ok just what you'd expect from a buffet, dried up but good if you get the fresh refills. I don't think I'd stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kizzy_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Kizzy_91

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on our hotel. We are very disappointed to read your review and would like you to contact us in regards to this

Our hotel is undergoing a refurbishment at the moment, and quite surprised to see your comment about the cleanliness. This has been passed on to our Housekeeping manager who will do a full investigation.

Once again we thank you for leaving feedback and would like you to contact us so we can discuss this issue with in more depth

jalelg@days-mcc.co.uk

Best Wishes

John Barfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a really good location and is right on top of The Gay Village also with lots of pubs, niteclubs, cafes, newsagents and take-aways in a 5 minute walking radius. 10 minutes walk away is china town and also Picadilly gardens which is the heart of the city...
about £5 in a cab from the hotel to granada studios to see the Coronation street tour and also it is 8 minutes away (in a cab) from Man Uniteds Old Trafford stadium.
The Printworks is behind picadilly gardens and the hotel is also a 3/4 minute walk from picadilly station which gets u in and out of the airport in about 15 minutes.
Hotel was spotless.
Staff were nice and friendly.
only downside was tat our tea tasted of coffee on our first morning as if the pot wasnt cleaned right but was fine on our second morning.
And we were required to give a deposit upon check-in to cover any costs charged to our room. £25 if u use a card for the deposit or else £50 for a cash deposit. Most hotels do this now so very little complaints. Happy with our stay. Young Couple from Dublin

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Damian7

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind comments. I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I have passed all your kind comments on to our Team Members as I know that they will be pleased to have made a difference.

I have noted your constructive feedback regarding the tea tasted of coffee on your first morning and have passed this on to our Operations manager. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this room thinking it would be easy to get to local bars and restaurant and convenient for a one night stay... We were wrong! Couldn't be more out of the way. (Suppose it's ok if you know your way round Manchester). Pictures on the website were misleading, we thought we were getting a spacious bedroom with facilities that actually work but it was like living in a matchbox for a night. The iron leaked water everywhere, the tv only had 4 channels and it just wasn't worth what we paid. On the upside, it was clean. Would be alright for one person on a business trip for a night but definitely not for couples! Definitely somewhere more central and well known for our next stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShanPill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear ShanPill94

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay and thought the location was out of the way

Our location is a straight forward 10 minute walk from the City centre and just down the road from Canal street. Maps are available at reception and staff are more than happy to direct you to places you want to go

In regards to the iron in the room I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping manager who will do a full investigation as to why this occurred

Once again we thank you for taking the time to write a review

Kind Regards

John Barfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing