We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly very clean compact hotel”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent value for money. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are a little on the compact size but extremely clean. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugsysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Bugsysmum

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem

Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here over the May Bank Holiday Weekend on a Saturday night as we were attending a show at the nearby Palace Theatre. Hotel is less than 10 minute walk from the theatre as well as Manchester Oxford Road and Picadilly Train stations. Check in was straightforward and the staff were efficient and professional. Hotel had a complete refurb last year and all decor, furniture etc we're clean and modern. Reception area was relaxed and inviting and a coffee and snacks bar at the main entrance was a useful addition for a snack and good quality coffee as we had missed lunch. At reception we were asked if we wanted to book into the hotel restaurant for a meal and as it was pouring down outside we decided this would be a preferable option to trudging about outside in the rain trying to get an early meal before our show started.
Previous reviews I have read for this hotel mention the small size of the rooms. It's true they are not exactly massive, but the space available is utilized well and our room was perfectly adequate for two for an overnight stay. The small walk in shower worked extremely well and maintained a constant temperature. It was also very easy to use and didn't require a load of messing about with the controls before it worked.
Only tiny bad point was that our room was rather warm. We arrived on a wet muggy afternoon and the room temperature hit us as soon as we walked in. The desk fan that had been thoughtfully provided without us having to ask went some way to alleviating the closeness of the room and luckily the window opened relatively wide. This was a minor quibble and didn't spoil our stay in any way.
our meal in the Hub, the hotels restaurant, was absolutely fine. As we had booked in early we were the only patrons in there for most of our meal, so we received a very attentive and friendly service from the young man who was waiting on. The meal was well cooked, I opted for steak and my partner had a burger, and there was more than enough to fill us up before we headed to the theatre for pre show drinks.
Although the room was warm we slept well. The pillows on our bed were a little flat, and could've done with sturdier, fluffier ones but again, this didn't spoil our stay and we still slept comfortably. I've read previous reviews about noise and I fully expected banging doors and noise from other guests as well as outside noise from partying students whose halls of residence are next door. Despite the window being open all night, and despite it being a Saturday night on a bank holiday weekend, we didn't hear a thing. I guess it just depends on who else is staying there when you are. Most of our other guests were from the Royal College of Physicians who were having a conference at the hotel, so, if they were letting their hair down, we didn't hear them! I also noticed a hen party leaving the hotel for a night on the town so feared the worst later. Still no noise at any point during the night or early hours. Result!

Breakfast was included in our tariff and I could not fault the experience. Also served in the pleasant Hub restaurant, the hotel operates a convenient buffet style breakfast arrangement. There is plenty to choose from from traditional cooked English to toast, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice etc. Coffee and tea were practically on tap with multiple waiting on staff frequently offering top ups and asking if everything was ok. All cooked items were perfect, nothing had been left to dry out, and the area was scrupulously clean and tidy. The atmosphere was relaxed and we were in no hurry to dash off. I can see that occasionally the 8.30 am start on a Sunday for breakfast might be a bit late if people have to get off early, but personally as we only live 40 miles away and trains are frequent, it suited us fine as neither of us are great at eating first thing in the morning.
Would I stay here again? Wouldn't hesitate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seldomseenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear seldomseenkim

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was not expecting too much from a hotel in this price bracket, but was surprised by the standard of the decor and the food. I paid about £70 with breakfast (a pre-paid offer with no ability to cancel). The reception area was very modern and the single room, whilst compact was well fitted and decorated. I ate in the hotel restaurant and chose from the specials menu. I ordered a fish dish which was very good - both cooked well (not overcooked as many fish dishes can be) and flavoursome. The buffet breakfast was also of a good standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Jan H

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the food and the staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel, very friendly staff, great stay highly reccomended, breafast was hearty and well worth it, will stay in this hotel again, we stayed for one night to see Status Quo at the Apollo, the reception staff could not do enough for us,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenscott43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear kenscott43

Thank you for your lovely kind comments, we do have a great location being in the heart of Manchester city centre. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Jay Ghannem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Adel H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a one night stay to attend a concert at the Palace Theatre. At £91 with breakfast it wasn't that cheap but compared to most other Manchester City Centre hotels it wasn't too bad. The fact that breakfast was included sealed the deal for us. Location is good in that it is a mere 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Rail Station and around 10 minutes walk to the Palace Theatre. On arrival we initially walked past the entrance as it is so low key that we missed it. The main signage at the front entrance seemed to be for Manchester Conference Centre and the Days Hotel sign is small. Also the presence of a coffee franchise just inside the door confused us. Anyway we eventually made our way in and approached reception where we were dealt with by a very friendly, helpful receptionist. I did have a little trouble understanding her accent but she had a good command of English. I had paid up front so it was just a case of grab the room key and take in the usual information re. breakfast times etc. We had been allocated Room 330 on the 3rd floor and were really surprised when we entered our room to see that the window looked out onto a pedestrian area. There was a restrictor to prevent the window opening too far but it looked easy enough to by-pass meaning that we had to close the window overnight. This resulted in a fairly uncomfortable, stuffy nights sleep in our tiny room. I knew the room was going to be small and basic but even so it looked OK. It contained everything we needed, ie decent brew facilities, ample storage, wall mounted TV, iron and ironing board, fan etc. The bed was large enough but one side of it was butted up against a wall. Unluckily for me this was my side so any mid-night visits to the loo meant sliding down to the bottom and then crawling back in so as not to disturb the wife. The bedding was clean and the pillows, although thin, were comfortable enough and sleep came fairly easily despite the heat. The presence of the fan was understandable now although it was a little noisy to leave on all night. The bathroom was large enough with half the floor space being taken by an unusually large shower. What this meant was that the pedestal was housed in a small alcove which required some careful backwards maneouvering being as I am a big bloke. There is a soap dispenser over the sink and also in the shower. Loo roll was of fairly poor quality but adequate for our length of stay. All in all the room was OK if a little small. An unusaul addition was what at first we thought was a complimentary bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. It wasn't a freebie and could be purchased for £12.99, not a bad price for a City Centre hotel. Their was a lot of noise during the night as revellers returned at all hours in high spirits. Nobody was causing any trouble, just enjoying themselves and the sound really travelled. After we had been to see our show we returned for a night-cap to the attractive Conservatory Bar only to find it deserted except for a bored looking barman. We ordered a couple of drinks with a pint of Stella and a medium Pinot Grigiot coming in under £10. The information in the room seemed to indicate that snacks were available until midnight but when we asked the barman said the kitchen was closed. We only wanted a sharing platter of nuts and Bombay Mix etc. We ended up with a bag of crisps. There is a room service menu which is supposed to be available up until 7am. Not sure how this could be fulfilled if the kitchen was shut. Some other punters had appeared by then and one of them asked for a hot drink which again could not be provided even though there appeared to be machines on the bar. A bit disappointing really. Anyway we ordered a little one for me and another wine for the wife and retired for the night drinks in hand. Breakfast time arrived and we headed for the restaurant not really knowing what to expect. As it turned out everything was good with all the usual items available and presented well. Hot drinks are served at table and everything else is buffet style. The coffee was lukewarm at best which was a disappointment. Cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice, dried fruit, meusli were all available in addition to the cooked breakfast. The sausages were excellent and everything else was of fairly decent quality and was regularly replenished. The only thing missing was black pudding which always warrants an extra few points in my book but never mind. All in all a decent stay in a modern building in a good location at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor room window opened up to a pedestrian area. So not very secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Peter H ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.
Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests
Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very pleased with the hotel. Let me check in early as I was soaking wet, so I could dry off. The desk fan in my room broke and wasn't replaced as asked, but night staff corrected this swiftly! Room and staff excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Russell B

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your stay with us at the Days Hotel Manchester I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will ensure that your kind words reach the team. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.



Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#32 of 120 in Manchester
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing