We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dunblane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have been staying in this hotel on a weekly basis for the last 12 months or so. All that I can say is that they looked after me and made my visits feel like a home from home, with all staff being friendly and knowing who I was, by name.

the booking of rooms was simple in that i had my 6 month block booking, but was able to change this easily either by phone or email with a prompt reply to all my requests.

the rooms themselves are what you would expect for this standard of hotel and were always clean and well presented.Being in the City Centre were surprsingly quiet which ensured a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner court yard...very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Graeme R

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

We really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting Manchester on a budget, this is a great hotel. Cheap, clean, relatively comfortable. Don't expect a view or palatial suites for the price you pay, but it is as good if not better than many equally priced hotels. Another bonus is that it is 5 minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly station.

The layout is bizarre, with corridors stretching out in seemingly random directions. Room 309 is opposite room 329, for example, and it is handy to use the force when trying to locate the reasonably priced for a hotel, but not for Manchester, bar. Of course, once the very polite check-in staff have handed you your key, you're on your own, so be prepared to explore like a Jodi.

What lets the hotel down is breakfast, or rather, breakfast service. Like most hotels, a chunk of their profit comes from charging a bit too much for breakfast. However, with rooms at under £50, another tenner is not too bad. I was particularly interested, as it offered veggie alternatives if I wanted them. I'm not completely veggie, but I do often go for that option as otherwise I stuff myself silly when presented with a buffet.

On entering the buffet breakfast room, staff who clearly didn't want to be up that early ushered me to a table and I ordered, as you must, a couple of veggie sausages. After getting and eating the rest of my breakfast there was no sign of them. I got a coffee refill and reminded the waitress who apologised and said she'd look into it. Coffee, orange juice, small pain au chocolat, my plates cleared away, and 20 minutes later still no sausage. By this point I was full, and decided to go back to my room. When the breakfast menu says 'have it your way' it should add 'if we remember'.

But all in all, cheap, clean, polite, and in a good position. But skip breakfast; there are better, cheaper cafes down the road, inuding veggie ones!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Richard F

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and these shall be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you again for for posting your comments.


Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived after over a day of flying. Good bed and good location. Stayed here for two nights to recover from our flight and to catch up with friends before heading out of town for a wedding. Would stay here again if we are in town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gemma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, I'm glad you have a nice stay us and we look forward to welcoming to next time you ar visiting Manchester


Best Reagards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for one night - the staff were friendly and helpful (they helped us organise taxis etc). The location is good as it's only a short walk into town with bars and cages en route. There is also a nice bar within the hotel. Overall, a good stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RachelMabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear RachelMabb

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review from which I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting the Manchester area.

Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night as we were doing the Corrie Tour & wanted somewhere in City centre.A 5 minute walk from Piccadily Station & not too far from Arnfield Shopping centre,about 20 mins so well located. Room was very clean as were the communal loos. We had a twin room which was big enough with wi-fi (didnt use it!!) quite basic decoration but the biggest problem was the noise. A quiet room had been requested & we found we were at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road......not usually the quietest!!!!! Unfortunately it wasnt just the noise from outside......loud music & car alarms etc...but slamming doors & loud guests.....we think there was a hen party just down the corridor!!!! It was a shame as the staff were helpful,breakfast was fine,very clean & good location.

Room Tip: Request room at rear or side of hotel for peace,we were already on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudymacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Trudymacey

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the service you received as well as our facilities, however I would like to apologies for the noise caused during your stay and I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.


Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

friendly and helpful staff. great city centre location.Good value for money. the business conference facilities were excellent. lunch and refreshments served on time and the conference room was bright and airy with large patio windows opening on to the courtyard area with outside seating. great for getting some fresh air during long conferences.

Room Tip: great hospitality. friendly and helpful staff. great city centre location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear gamela a

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us from which I was very pleased to learn that you found our staff friendly and helpful and our conference facilities were excellent .

I hope that we can continue to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for your next visit in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night after taking my daughter to a concert, check in was simple & easy with very helpful staff who supplied us with maps & instructions on how to get to places. Our room was a compact double room, it was quite small but perfect for us & had everything we needed. The layout of the room is well designed, the bed was very comfortable & spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was plentiful, loads of choice, hot, well stocked & the sausages were lovely. Coffee & tea were served at your table & refilled regularly.
About 5-10 minute walk from Piccadilly station & about 20 mins to the arndale centre.
I would stay here again, my daughter is already planning our next girly weekend!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 433 which is room round the corner from the lift, which you can hear sometimes but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mandy H

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Manchester.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing