We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really confortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Aartselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not really confortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

They charge 10 £ for early check-in (before 14 h), while room is already available... Room is very hot; you can open the window only for 10 cm. No airco. The sound of slamming room doors all the time is terrible (it is impossible to close your room door silently). The room is not sound proof. Don't expect a silent evening or night. Poor choice of tv channels: only 10 and no international channels (no CNN, no euronews,...) Breakfast is ok (buffet) but coffee or tea is only served at your table and most of the time you have to wait long for your hot drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schrampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Schrampa1

I am very disappointed to read that your stay with us was so as you expected. I would like to extend my apologies for your stay, at the hotel we strive to deliver the best service possible to our guests and I am sorry that during your stay this was not the case.

Please be assured that I have taken all your comments on board and I will be discussing them with the team. If you would like to contact me directly I will be happy to discuss these matters further.

Kind Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel and used the conference facilities  over 5 days in Manchester. 

Having worked very closely with the staff the throughout, I would like thank the conference team: Jay, corrine and Ben for their flexibility,  attention and willingness to support a very dynamic booking.

I commend the multitasking, perseverance and patience of the reception team, especially mayra,  Lucia and a bulked out gentlemen whose name escapes me.  Very understanding of our requirements for printing and photocopying (an essential quality of mine).  Special mention to Lucia who is still a trainee, for addressing my requests with same grace and composure I would expect from a senior member of staff.

Finally, thanks to the support staff for making everything run smoothly and for working very hard behind the scenes.

I would like to commend the quality staff at the mcc.

Eric

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Eric0001 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed the breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting the Manchester area.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently attended a conference here and used the hotel's facilities. An easy ten minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly Railway Station, the hotel is clean and modern. It feels bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside! Very welcoming in that the first thing you encounter on entering is not the usual boring reception, but a cheerful coffee bar.

The conference facilities were very good and everything worked as it should. The piped music is a bit on the loud side. There are plenty of staff, all of whom seem keen to look after the guests and keep them happy. The catering deserves special praise, with pastries and cakes of the delicious home-made type, and hot meals cooked and presented very well. The salmon steaks were as good as they get. Even the fresh fruit served was very fresh and with plenty of choice.

Recommended as a very friendly and pleasant choice of conference venue, conveniently central to Manchester and national rail links.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quixwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Quixwood ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Days Hotel Manchester is well located close to Manchester Piccadilly Station, its district is fine - the immediate locale is a bit ugly, but it is close to the very pleasant Canal Street, the room was well designed and equipped without being huge or luxurious, and the service was good. There's a cafe at the hotel entrance which would be handy, tho we didn't try it nor any of the hotel's meals or other services or facilities. We'd probably stay at Days Hotel when returning to Manchester.

Room Tip: The hotel isn't on a main street so it doesn't suffer from heavy traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinMoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear GavinMoodie


Thank you so much for the positive feedback. It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will choose to visit us again in the not too distant future.

We will review your comments with our team and continue to strive for excellence.

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night 21st June. It is very close to Piccadilly train station, about a 10 min walk. Its on a very quiet street at the back of the Canal Street area. Reception staff very efficient. The room was very small but spotless. Had everything you needed. Bed very comfy had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good, staff helpful. This hotel good for a one/two night stay. Would defiantly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj01Rotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear mj01Rotherham

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Wishes

Front of House Manager
Jay Ghannem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrivals as a group of 18 in a hurry to get checked in, bags stored and back out into an unfamiliar city can be daunting, but with the help of the friendly staff on reception we were able to get on our with our day with minimal fuss. The rooms were clean,quiet and comfortable, good value for money. The highlight of my stay was the great service provided by the night staff, in particular Marlon and the night manager (who very gracefully allowed us to call him Moz). Any requests we made were dealt with efficiently and in a professional yet friendly manner. They were extremely accommodating and made some great recommendations for must sees on any future trips to the city. This level of custom service is rare and the 2 gentlemen I speak of are a credit to the hotel. I will most definitely be returning to Manchester and I will certainly stay at this hotel. Thank you - we will be back !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Tracey H

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all the comments which are left from all our guests and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel

Best Regards

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stopped here for one night when visiting nice and handy for the town all walking distance good clean and comfy hotel breakfast was good just enough to keep you going will be stopping here again when down here

Room Tip: We on 4th floor on front was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear windoc

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Days Hotel.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we are glad you had such a great stopping trip and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Once again we appreciate your lovely comments,

Kind Regards
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing