We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #46 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 11 July 2014

what a great member of staff you have at the hotel i have been working at the hotel over the past few days and had my lunch in the hotel and i must say what a asset a member of staff he is to your company his name is Ben. i do hope you can pass this on to him.

Thank you for making me feel so welcome.

Joanne Walker

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear joanne w

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Days Hotel Manchester Centre city

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and we are pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.


We really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
There are newer reviews for The Pendulum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I have been working at the day's inn for 4 days teaching I have been here many times and more often than not have ordered food from the bar I would like to say a big thankyou to Ben for sorting out food for me as the company used to do meal deals and unfortunately no longer do them which is a really shame Ben went above and beyond to sort out food so thankyou

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Lisa M

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.

Best Wishes

Front of House Manager
Jay Ghannem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ok hotel- rooms are tiny but rooms are clean. Stayed on my own in a double room as I was on business, but definitely too small for a couple. Expensive too- £70 a night midweek. No parking- so had to pay £10 per night in car park round the corner- they should try get a deal there as it added to the costs. Would not stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Mark G

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate all comments as they help us to focus on what is important to our guests. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon,

Kind regards,

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here when attending a conference. Room was clean and comfortable although hot but a fan was provided. Bathroom was good with plenty of hot water and decent water pressure in the shower. It was a bit noisy at night from people outside but then its a city centre hotel.

Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Conference facilities were fine and food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DevonWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with an online review following your recent stay with us here at the Days Hotel hotel Manchester city.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the food and the staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed overnight as she had an audition in Manchester. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and tidy as was the room.There were no frills attached but we didn't ask for any. The bar tender was very chatty and offered advice about the best places for me to visit whilst my daughter did her audition. The breakfast was great! Wide variety to suit all tastes and plenty of staff on hand. The thing we loved the most was the pendulum just beyond the main reception area; my daughter wanted to jump on it in a Miley Sirus style singing "I came in like wrecking ball!" She didn't but we did giggle at the idea! Would stay here again, it's very central and a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jeannette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Jeannette J

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. We strive to give the best customer service possible, and we are more than happy to pass on these comments to our staff.

Once again we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future

Best Wishe

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I spent one day and one night in this hotel in order to tour Manchester United Stadium.My dream came true to visit Old Trafford and the home of my favourite football/soccer team, AWESOME! Food was good, area excellent, my room was clean and pleasant. I would definitely stay in this hotel again, thank you!
Novelette

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialKaye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again for your next visit

Kind regards

Jay Ghannem
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel to attend the Color Run and will not be booking with them again.

We had called the hotel prior to booking to see if we would be able to check in earlier than the stated 2:00pm check-in and were told we would be able to check in from 12:00pm as some rooms would be available. So we were extremely annoyed when we turned up at half 12, and not in the cleanest of states as you can imagine after completing the color run, and told quite rudely that we couldn't check in until 12. There was no offer of even checking if there were any rooms available. We were told to "go away and come back at 2".

We went to the bar area instead to wait. We had to ask the staff to serve us as they were too busy chatting at the end of the bar and then moaned when we paid for our extremely overpriced drinks as they didn't have any change in the till! Sorry but we are paying customers and surely every business has a basic float made up of all change to prevent such things happening. We took our drinks out onto the terrace (patio area with broken chairs, cluttered with empty glasses and overlooked by all of the hotel rooms). The bar staff at no point in the hour and a half we were there attempted to clear up the empty glasses that were across all of the tables despite the bar being very quiet.

We went back to the check in desk at 2pm as told and got told by the new lady on reception after seeing that we were covered in paint that we could have checked in early and couldn't believe that the earlier woman hadn't allowed us to but there was no apology. She was nice enough though, just a shame she hadn't served us earlier.

We checked in to our room. The room was tiny. We are used to staying in London so are used to big cities having smaller than usual rooms but this was ridiculous! It was smaller than my box room at home and was definitely not big enough for two people. The room was hot and stuffy. Luckily we were provided with a small fan as the windows couldn't be opened further than a crack. Not that you could have the curtains open at any point as the room was completely overlooked by the rooms opposite and to the left as we were in the corner. Also looked over the patio area from the bar.

Woken as usual throughout the night by constant noise from the doors slamming and then at 6 in the morning by the cleaners slamming doors and talking and shouting.

The hotel is run down and could do with being given some love and attention and the staff could do with some customer service training.

The hotel is in a great location for reaching the nightlife of canal street but there are cheaper and nicer hotels around which I will be using in future.

Will not be recommending and will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysMCC, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear HenL87

Thank you for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate all comments as they help us to focus on what is important to our guests. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Wishes

Jay Ghannem
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £58 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing