We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic mistakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pendulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pendulum Hotel
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic mistakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Visited for Manchester Pride, some standards have dropped since last visit and there were clear basic errors.
The same receptionist spent so much time faffing about with papers that the other male receptionist had served three people and then a female came and served me, he was as bad last time I recall.
soap dish in the shower hanging off, clearly had already fallen off because you could see the original raw plugs yet rather than move the dish they drilled right next to the original plugs so needless to say there was no grip, further more drilling into the grout rather than the tile means there is no adherence for the plug and it was not sealed against the water.
a wall tile by the door to the room kept falling off stronger adhesive would have solved this in the first instance.
The breakfast was served in a cold room on cold plates, when I mentioned the cold to the waitress the reply was" well it is raining" I fail to see what this has to do with failing to put the heating on in the room well in advance of breakfast. Serving hot breakfast on cold plates so by the time your part way through the food has gone cold. I have mentioned this on the previous visits and filled in the evaluation card but clearly they failed to read or bother to act upon these things. It was hit and miss as to if you needed to ask of coffee with your breakfast or if it would be offered, one day it was offered immediately the next day I had to ask the next day it was offered and the final day I had to wait for the staff to finish discussing job opportunities and cv's with an Indian lady before I could get coffee. There are some carpets which need replacing as you clearly see where the join is now falling apart, the guttering by the coffee shop is growing plants and so water runs onto the speaker there. The speakers in reception near the lifts vibrate and hiss and desperately need replacing or the bass needs turning down to allow hearing the music properly.
The room cleanliness was good despite the soap dish and the cleaning staff efficient.
I have now stopped several times and standards are slipping more and more which is sad considering the standards it previously maintained.
Perhaps it is less about changing the name perhaps a change of management and systems are now required as they have taken their eye off the ball now.
It is not the most expensive hotel in its range but it is at risk of failing to warrant the price.

Room Tip: view the pictures and read room description as some of the rooms the bed is directly against the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the busy Pride Weekend celebrations. We are sorry that there were aspects of your stay that didn’t meet your expectations. We are listening very carefully and making many improvements to our hotel including new carpets to the public areas. We are pleased that your room was clean and our staff were efficient. We offer a range of room types to suit a range of budgets - some are advertised as compact doubles and others are more spacious with seating areas and additional facilities. We hope to extend a warm and friendly welcome to you the next time you are visiting Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    597
    319
    117
    77
See reviews for
130
530
154
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

booked on an offer which included a meal meal and drink with breakfast included. The room was small but very compact it had everything we couldnt fault it. Evn noticed an ironing board tucked away just before we left. Hotel staff lovely and helpful. Just a great over night stay especially on gay pride weekend too we slept like logs. defo go again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and delighted to read that you will definitely return to stay with us again. We note and appreciate the top marks given for sleep quality, rooms and service and look forward to extending another warm and friendly welcome in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

first time to this hotel and will def go back. the rooms had all you needed, staff very friendly and great location to city centre..... there were 10 of us at this hotel and not one of us had any negative thoughts,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKKKat1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and delighted to read that you and your group of 10 all enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that our location is extremely convenient and an ideal location in the heart of the city. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked the Pendulum through booking.com as we were traveling up for a concert and didn't fancy the late night drive back home. First impressions were that it was a nice clean and friendly hotel with very helpful staff. We booked into the compact room and it really was that..compact.
It has got to be one of the best nights sleep I have had in ages and the breakfast when we got up was fabulous. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a budget friendly stay in Manchester and won't hesitate in booking if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Compact rooms are good for business travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is pleasing and rewarding to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you had ‘one of the best night’s sleep in ages’. We offer a range of hotel room sizes, some compact and others offering additional space and comfy seating areas to relax. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the worst nights sleep I have ever had at a hotel. My room backed onto student accommodation and I had shouting and screaming from 3am, then there was a fight IN the hotel. I had no sleep from 3am until I got up at 8am. Dreadful.

Room Tip: Don't go at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are very sorry that you experienced disturbance from a small group of guests, which we immediately dealt with and had removed from the hotel. We fully appreciate the impact this may have had on your stay. May we ask you to email us at jalelg@pendulumhotel.co.uk with a note of your contact details, so that we can make our genuine apology to you and offer a timely resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

When we arrived we had issues finding the hotel as there was no signage, although later there was a small (A2) stand put up outside. There is a coffee stand inside reception which we thought was a stand alone coffee shop and ended up asking a member of staff where the hotel was - we were met with a puzzled look and a "er... you're in it". The website stated that there was a nearby car park priced £10 per day which we found ok, and check in was 2pm. We arrived at 12.30 and asked if we could check in, to be told it was £10 per room to check in before 2 (we booked 2 rooms). We knew we were early so decided we would leave our luggage in the car as we had to be somewhere for 1pm, and upon hearing this the £20 check in charge was waived. Bear in mind this charge if you know you'll need the room before official check in because I heard the same member of staff charge guests who were behind us in the queue.

Room ok, all the basic requirements were there including an iron and ironing board (not always found in hotel rooms) but it was clearly student accommodation. Fair enough if the price reflected this but £75 per room, per night is way more than this room is worth. This fee does not include breakfast, and we were told if we paid for breakfast at check-in it would be cheaper than on the day - although this would still be £32 for 4 people even at the 'cheap' price! (We went elsewhere so cannot review breakfast). The general attitude of the member of staff who checked us in was to try and get as much money as possible it would seem.

That evening we returned to the hotel after 12 and there was a security guard letting people in at the door which is standard practice. However, he was rude, did not make eye contact and spoke only in short, sharp sentences. For instance he shouted "keycards", then when we showed them he did not look up and said "room number. name" which he ticked off his list. Very rude service, and again for a hotel charging this price is unacceptable.

Given its' central location, and being next to actual student halls, there was a lot of outside noise throughout the night which was out of the control of the hotel. However, the doors are heavy and so do not close quietly, indeed they slam even if you try to close quietly. This is something the hotel could also address. Equally the attitude of the housekeeping staff wasn't great, brushing past us in the corridor huffing and sighing.

Overall if this came with a hostel or budget price tag there would be no complaints, but for £75 per room the lack of customer service was appalling. Totalling the cost of the car park (£20), early check in (£10), room (£75) and breakfast (£16 for two) the true cost of staying here would have been: £121. Something to think about before booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are sorry that our brand new signage was not in place for your stay – and hope it didn’t cause too much confusion. Whilst typical hotel rates in city centre would normally range in-between £95 to £120 for a compact double, we are pleased that you found our best value room sleeping 2 people for £75 was ok and offered all the requirements you needed including a handy iron & board. We do listen carefully and value all guest feedback, so we genuinely apologise if we failed to greet you with our normal friendly level of service. We will certainly share your feedback with all of our team. Full cooked breakfasts are an optional extra and priced at £8 offers value and convenience. Alternatively many eateries in the city centre also offer cooked breakfast or brunch options at a similar range of prices. Please be assured of our very best intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Like the Heading very basic, small hot and Noisy. The door's dont Shut very quiet so it was Impossible to get a Good nights sleep, people walking along the corridoors at 3am Talking and laughing like another Reviewer says the noise just goes on and on.. Not a good idea having the bed against the wall,if you need to get up in the night you either have to climb to the Bottom of the bed or Climb over the person next to you. now we have spoke about the con's the pro's are its in a good location 5-10mins walking from the train station, good for all main locations Canal street -China town- spinningfelids went to watch a cocktail show at St annes Square it is 'Dig it week' the Garden Show. so walking to all central places then its in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We place great value on listening carefully to all feedback and thank you for sharing yours. We agree that we are conveniently located in the heart of the city and apologise that you encountered some noisy guests in the early hours. We do have a range of different sized rooms available and it sounds like you would have been happier in a bigger room; City Doubles are described as cosy and compact, however our Standard Doubles do offer more space and our Classic Doubles have additional comfy seating areas. Our executive suite is the largest of our rooms - however all are well-appointed. Please be assured of our best intentions at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Property: The Pendulum Hotel
Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing