We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely awesome place”
Review of Monroes Hotel

Monroes Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monroes Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome place”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in jan,wonderful location and great bar atmosphere,from the moment i checked in i was made to feel welcome by Pam at the bar,my room was very clean and spacious,although there was building work quite close it didnt interfere with my break whatsoever.i would not hesitate to recomend this hotel 10/10 and many thanks to debbie,michael,pam and rita

Room Tip: I chose a double at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    13
    1
    10
See reviews for
4
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff are so helpful, Michael, debbie run a brilliant b&b, train station on the doorstep, central to Chinatown, piciadilly station across the rd, so close to everything, nightlife, no need for taxis, city center 5min walk, I,d stay again, thanks to the helpful staff

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christydillon192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We travelled as a group of 4 friends (1 female 3 male) who ended up staying "by chance" at Monroe's and even though we were 3 hours late for checking in and it was Christmas markets/football weekend the owners were patient enough to hold our room for us... and thank god they did!

Perfect location 5 minutes from Manchester Piccadilly station

Short walk (even in heels) to decent, friendly bars (by night) or a retail mecca (by day)

Full English breakfast (which was included in the price) served by the most entertaining waitress/chef who was the deal clincher in us definitely returning!

Refreshingly real staff and a clean, comfortable place to stay. Cracking value all round!

10/10 - see you again Monroe's!!

Room Tip: We shared a family room £20 a head for 4 people, included breakfast. Massive, clean room with comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I would like to call this place cheap and cheerful which I suppose it is and I feel I got value for my money compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel seems to be owned by a couple; one working in the bar, the other working in the hotel. The hotel is directly opposite Piccadilly train station and 2 min walk from the city centres shopping and restaurants.

On arrival we checked in at the bar and was given a nice friendly welcome by the member of staff.

We were then met by another member of staff who showed us to our room. The room was very basic with two single beds, a sink and television that had a very bad signal. The bathroom was just around the corner from our room which we didn't have a problem with as this was explained several times when we booked. The bathroom was clean, tidy and spacious with continuous hot water but the water pressure was shockingly weak which was a shame.

Whilst getting ready for an evening meal I needed to iron my clothes. I borrowed an iron from the hotel free of change and it came with a broken ironing board. It was fun attempting to iron at 45 degrees, something I have never done before.

The only main negative I have about the hotel is the signage... There are signs everywhere 'do not do this', 'do not do that', 'don't forget to' etc. Many of the signage contained spelling mistakes which is a pet hate of mine when aimed at customers.

I would stay here in the future but wouldn't pay anymore than what we paid as I felt it was only worth this. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a city break in Manchester but would defiantly recommend it to anyone who is wanting a cheap warm place to stay when out drinking with friends or in need of a last min bed for the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great place especially on a Wednesday or a Friday,great atmosphere ,music and Dancing.Stayed here with friends ,clean tidy ,nothing to much trouble.Good and handy for both City centre and Piccadilly Station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuartcocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

went there with a friend - had room number 4 - a twin room
bad points: it is a bit dated, the sink was dirty, the pillows were too hard for my taste, i could feel the springs in the bed and the trams and sirens were loud and the telly was knackered (but written apology on the wall)
but the plus points outweighed the bad, great location, near train station and gay village, overall the room was very clean, as was bathroom, dining room and kitchen, with clean bedding and 3 clean towels each, bar of soap each, enough tea bags milk and sugar for a week, the hoteliers were lovely, as was the breakfast
cant beat that for £20 each!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch. England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at Monroes Hotel last night, and were more than happy. We stayed in room 5 (on the 2nd floor) The rooms are basic but very clean. The bed linen is pristine and duvets lovely and cosy - there is even a kettle and supply of tea, coffee etc in the room - more than we have had at some more expensive hotels. The shared bathroom was also kept very clean. Yes, you do have the trams making a bit of noise outside, but we didn't notice this after a while, it didn't stop me getting a good nights sleep (usually I am a very light sleeper). The proximity to Piccadilly station is fantastic, less than a 2 minute walk. The full English breakfast was lovely and really set us up for the day. Overall a fantastic place to stay, we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netieburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#85 of 117 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#23 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#58 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monroes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroes Hotel

Property: Monroes Hotel
Address: 38 London Road, Manchester M1 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Monroes Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing