We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place and so near Manchester Arena”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #94 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
WETHERBY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Great Place and so near Manchester Arena”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed last night for a Kylie Concert, Everything was perfect, we had a double room opposite the Cathedral, (The only down side, The Bells at 9.30 am) but if your not suffering a hang over no problem, infact we found it quite enchanting.
The Room was clean and very comfortable and the Staff at Breakfast very cheerful and helpful. Made you feel at home.
We would definately stay here again, No more Novotel and long walk for us, it really is just a 5 minute walk to the Manchester Arena.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZYHUDSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    197
    188
    133
    210
See reviews for
82
279
100
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

stayed 1 evening fabulous hotel old traditional has character superb location for shopping and the m e n arena would defo stay again nice to have something diffrent then all the modern hotels these days will defo be staying again staff were really pleasant and the breakfast were lovely to c u again soon .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitre2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

A clean basic budget hotel with pleasant staff. Not too good if you have difficulty climbing stairs. The location is excellent, if you are a real ale drinker the Old Wellington pub is next door with a fine choice of ales and good meals. Close to everything that matters in Manchester. Don't expect luxury but the room was spotless and the breakfast filling

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolGreyPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

It is old. It is rickety. The water pressure isn't great and my old MFI stuff holds together about as well as theirs. Nothing matches; some rooms must be noisy; there is no lift ... we could have been in Paris. I liked it very much.

It's a question of what you want. I couldn't find much cheaper centrally and I've done the Everything Is Beige and Chrome and Sunken Spots and I hate it. Teenage daughter didn't like shared bathroom or capricious water-pressure (a fair point) and OMG the TV had, like, no remote!! But it was changed for one that did by the very courteous staff who were very helpful about local transport, directions etc.

Yes it needs doing up. But that will probably make it all anonymous (and beige) ... and double the price. We had a huge breakfast looking out over the cathedral and daughter fell for Yoyo and would have stuffed him in her bag (had it not been full of the stuff we'd been able to buy because we weren't staying somewhere more expensive ...)

Our room was on the top floor (quiet), clean, comfy. Perhaps they aren't all - and yes, the lino was old, the stairs steep and narrow, etc. It is an old one-off, with all the idiosyncrasies that entails. And no sunken spotlights in sight ... Liked it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevermoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Generally old fashioned, dirty, grubby hotel. The bath clearly hadn't even been rinsed, never mind scrubbed clean, because there was black hairs in the bath, which totally put us off even thinking about using the shower. The bathroom was horrible, dirty, the lino on the floor was peeling back in areas. Luckily for us, we actually had a bathroom, my friends who stayed on a different floor did not have an en suit bathroom which was not stated to them when she booked over the phone, and the shared bathroom was totally disgusting. There was no dressing tables in both of our rooms and we had no mirror but the small one in the bathroom, we had to request a mirror to which they brought up 2 full length mirrors, we actually couldn't believe this was happening! I have stayed in many hotels and I would say that this place is more like a B and B! We had to give our key in when we went out and have to go to reception to ask for it back when we returned from dinner etc, so clearly they are too cheap to even make copies of the keys!
The floor throughout the hotel was wonky and really creaky, like a house of horrors. There was a radiator in the bathroom which wasn't on, and there was no air con or any windows that could be opened, however there was a draft coming in, so maybe that is why they haven't bothered with air con.
The staff are rude, when we left the hotel in the morning, we didn't even get asked if we enjoyed our stay or if we had a good night.
I would not recommend this hotel and would never stay here again even if it was the last "hotel" on the planet! Oh and the TV in my room was about 10" but in my friends room it was about 40", what the hell is that all about?!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Having read several reviews of the Mitre, I was a bit dubious of where we were staying. However when we arrived it wasn't all that bad. We had a recently refurbed room, although the power in the shower wasn't great but it was clean enough. Quite a lot of noise at night though but it was a Saturday night. Nice flat screen TV with Ipod dock. Really good location for access to the city and good free breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kater123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed in a twin room which faced an alleyway and was extremley noisey at night time. The room was very basic, there was holes in the walls and ceiling. The beds were very uncomfortable the springs stuck into us while sleeping. The tv didnt work on our first night but after four trips to reception we eventually got it fixed. The bathroom was a disgrace, it was filthy dirty with rings of dirt around the bath. I wasnt brave enough to use it. There was no walk in shower and £20 deposit for a hair dryer. I found this hotel to be the worst i have ever stayed in. I also found that the staff were not vry helpful at all. The ONLY good side to this hotel is the location. It is 2 mins walk to the arndale shopping centre. I wouldnt if i were you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary656612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#72 of 118 in Manchester
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#78 of 118 in Manchester
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#36 of 118 in Manchester
1,093 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing